University of Chicago Library Orientation

The University of Chicago Map Collection is one of the largest university map libraries in North America. Its 475,000 maps, 10,000 air photos, 2000 books, and hundreds of gigabytes of spatial data constitute a rich source of information for scholars and other users.

The Library's music collections includes scores, sheet music, manuscript music and recordings.

The Library has videos and DVDs in all campus libraries, with the largest collections in Regenstein Library and the D'Angelo Law Library

The Library's video game collections are located at Crerar Library.

Reg Reads is a small collection of recently published popular fiction and non-fiction on the 1st Floor of Regenstein Library. Unlike other collections in the Library, Reg Reads is designed for recreational reading, not for coursework or research.

The microforms collection (microfilm, microfiche, microcard) is located on the East side of the 3rd Floor Reading Room. Machines are available to scan and save images from microforms.

The University of Chicago Library maintains a collection of separately published standardized printed instruments utilized in the fields of education and psychology. The collection includes more than 5,600 separately published tests, some dating back to the early twentieth century. Appointments are required.

The collection specializes in curriculum resources and professional development materials for K-12 teaching. The collection is comprised of materials in a variety of formats, including professional literature, teacher's manuals, DVDs, and online databases. It also contains Children's picture books and early reading materials.