Library Guides: University of Chicago Library Orientation: Starting Your Research

Starting Points

Below are resources we recommend for starting your research.

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Use the Library Catalog to locate books, recordings, films, etc. in the Library's print and online collections.
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Search peer-reviewed, annotated bibliographies created by scholars in different fields (including many UChicago faculty). You can browse by subject area or search by keyword. Find specific resources listed in the bibliographies by selecting "Find this resource" then "Find It!". Good for topics in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
Regularly updated annotated bibliographies. University of Chicago Library subscribes to many sections of Oxford Bibliographies Online such as African Studies, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Environmental Science, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Political Science, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, and Sociology.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Searches books with chapters written by different scholars discussing cutting-edge research being conducted in various fields. Helpful for identifying key works in different topics. Browse by topic, or search handbooks by keyword. Find specific resources by selecting "Find this resource". Please note that the Library doesn't subscribe to all Oxford Handbooks online, but may own a print copy. Search the Library Catalog and request specific chapters using Scan & Deliver.
Search all articles in all Handbooks regardless of whether or not the Library has purchased access to the electronic edition. If you need an article that is locked (abstract access only), try searching for the title of the handbook in the Library Catalog for a print copy.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years. Not good for current topics.
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 15,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management. Does not include humanities publicatons.
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.

Research Guides

Librarians at the University of Chicago Library have put together a collection of guides to assist with research in a wide array of majors and fields. These guides can direct you to the most pertinent and important journals, databases, primary sources, collections, study tools and more.

Subject Guides: These are organized to help you navigate and find sources for the major or field you are working in
Help Guides: These guides are designed to help you find specific types of sources (ebooks, articles, census data, newspapers etc.)

Ask a Librarian

Contact:

Email Us
773-702-4685 (Phone)
773-825-6777 (Text)

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Business, Help Guides, Humanities, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences