Skip to main content

Korean Studies

Gateway to Korean Studies Resources

Welcome

This library research guide provides information and access to materials in order to support library users pursuing research in Korean Studies. The guide will specifically assist y you in locating materials sorted by format (books, journals, newspapers, etc), finding collections abd databases relevant to your field (literature, history, film, etc) and learning and practicing Korean romanization  (McCune-Reischauer System). 

undefined

Redesigned image via Korean Studies Exhibition posters was created by the Digital Library Development Center

About the Korean collection at the University of Chicago

The Korean collection at the University of Chicago was established in 1988 and has grown significantly over the past 30 years. While the Collection covers all relevant subjects, we placed special emphasis on Korean History and Literature to reflect and support the research interests of faculty and graduate students.  We are specifically committed to the following areas: the Korean War, the division of the Korean peninsula, North Korea, Korean literature and movies, colonial Korea and women. In 1995, the University of Chicago library joined the Korean Collections Consortium of North America (KCCNA) which enabled us to develop our holdings in the subjects of welfare, industry, environment, politics, novels written in classical Chinese, Koreans in Chinese, and Koreans living in Chicago. The Korean collection is located on the 5th floor of the Joseph Regenstein Library, alongside the Chinese and Japanese collections. 

Location Information

  • Korean Reference Sources : 5th Floor East Asian Reading Room
  • Current Korean Periodicals: 5th Floor East Asian Reading Room
  • Print materials in Korean: 5th Floor Stacks
  • Korean DVDs and Videos: 2nd & 3rd Floor
  • Microfilms in Korean Studies: 3rd Floor
  • Korean Theses: 5th Floor East Asian Electronic Resources Room (JRL 521)
  • Full Text E-resources (Scroll down to Korean Studies)

Subject Specialist

Jee-Young Park's picture
Jee-Young Park
Contact:
Korean Studies Librarian
East Asian Collection
Joseph Regenstein Library JRL 526
773-702-0187

Purchase Request

The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs.

Use this form to submit a request.
It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.