Skip to main content

University of Chicago Library Orientation

Learn about Library collections, services, and resources that are essential for UChicago students.

Finding an Article from a Citation

Articles Plus is a Library database that cross-searches many of the Library's subscription databases for articles, book chapters, and more. If you have a citation, just enter the title/author of the article into the Articles Plus search box to see if Library has access to the full-text.

 

If you happen to find an article without a full-text link, use Find It!, a service to help you locate the text you need. Find It! will present several options for getting the text, including full-text online, Scan and Deliver, or interlibrary loan.

Articles Plus is also a great database to search for articles by topic! Just enter keywords to retrieve search results from the Library's many research databases.

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches scholarly literature from web pages, publisher web sites, professional societies and some article databases. However, to access the full-text of journal articles found using Google Scholar, be sure to set your preferences to add FindIt! at UChicago links.

To set your preferences manually:

  • Go to Google Scholar and click on Settings
  • Select "Library Links" in the left column
  • Search for University of Chicago and select "University of Chicago Library - Find it! @ UChicago"

Finding Articles on a Topic

Starting Points

Search the databases below for articles on a specific topic.

Expand Your Search

Move beyond basic searching by using subject-specific article databases.

Scan & Deliver

If you only need a chapter or two of a book, you can use our Scan and Deliver service to request a free scan to be sent to you.

 

Ask a Librarian

Ask a Librarian's picture
Ask a Librarian
Contact:
773-825-6777
Text messages only at this time
Subjects:Help Guides