Skip to Main Content

University of Chicago Library Orientation

Learn about Library collections, services, and resources that are essential for UChicago students.

Take a Study Break!

Reg ReadsPopular Fiction and Non-Fiction

Reg Reads is a new collection of recently published popular fiction and non-fiction on the 1st Floor of Regenstein Library. Reg Reads books may be checked out for 21 days with no renewals. You may check out as many books as you can read within that 21-day period.

Other Popular Reading

Other works of popular fiction and non-fiction may be available at the Library. We recommend searching the Library Catalog for specific authors or title, as browsing the bookstacks (especially for fiction) can be challenging and exclude our growing ebook collections.

Comics and Graphic Novels
The Library has an extensive collection of comics and graphic novels from around the world. For tips on finding these in our collections, check out our guide:

Children’s Books
The K-12 Curriculum Materials Collection on Regenstein’s 2nd Floor includes some picture and early reading books. The Library also has some YA books in our literature collections, most shelved under the call number PZ. Search the Library Catalog for specific titles or authors.

Video Games
You can check out classic video games from the John Crerar Library. The Media Arts, Data, and Design (MADD) Center will check out game consoles, controllers and accessories. 

Feature Films and Documentaries
Films are available on BlueRay, DVD, VHS and academic streaming platforms. Our guide provides tips on locating films in the catalog, lending policies, and equipment. 

Music
The Library’s recording collection has over 72,000 sound recordings on CD, vinyl, and streaming. You can also find sheet music and scores in the Library’s 3rd floor bookstacks.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Photo
Kristy Lueshen
she/her
Contact:
Regenstein Library
JRL 362
773-834-2997