Social Work

An agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.

Provides a list of resources for doing research on Chicago - note the tabs on "Data & Statistics", "Maps/GIS", and "Neighborhoods" among others.

A project of the Sunlight Foundation. It is a searchable repository of publicly available criminal justice datasets and research.

This site had very helpful information when I was researching parole and probation processes. They also have helpful databases with contact information.
-M. Melgar

Great resource to get some facts/contact info for possible key informants.
-J. Diaz

Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.

Funded through a grant from the Bureau of Justice Statistics, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice.

State-level health and demographic data about adults with disabilities.

The collection consists of bound carbon copies of 142 papers read at the National Conferences of Social Work (1929-1932). Manuscripts represent material not published in the Proceedings of the National Conference of Social Work.

This two-part video takes viewers through the birth and growth of social work in the United States. Many of social work's early and recent leaders are featured. Together the stories tell of the values and forces that gave rise to the profession in public and private sectors. Individually, these stories recount the struggles and achievements of each leader to carry out social work's mission.

The Social Welfare History Archives collects, preserves, and makes available for use the archives of voluntary-sector social service and social reform organizations and the personal papers of individual leaders in the field. These materials serve as sources for original research on the history of social service and social reform, focused on, but not limited to, late nineteenth and twentieth century America. Among the range of social services and concerns represented in the archives are social casework and related counseling services, community organization, recreation, settlement houses, child welfare, aging, race relations, community planning, services to migrants and immigrants, public health and volunteerism. The archives also houses an extensive collection of published materials in the welfare field, including books, periodicals, pamphlets, reports, and newsletters.

A nonprofit project designed with the goal of better informing the public about the history of American social welfare. The Web site was designed and developed by John E. Hansan, Ph.D. An Advisory Committee composed of distinguished social welfare historians and scholars was recruited to assist Dr. Hansan. There are also a number of contributors who have volunteered articles and recollections that are posted on the site.

[Washington, D.C.] : U.S. Dept. of Housing and Urban Development, Office of Community Planning and Development

Office of Policy Development and Research (PD&R) U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development

State and local data. The Assets & Opportunity Initiative leverages the power of household financial security data, the experiences of asset-building practitioners and the influence of advocates and policymakers to raise awareness of asset-building issues and improve programs and policies that help low- and moderate-income families build financial security.

The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is a public policy center dedicated to promoting the economic security, health, and well-being of America’s low-income families and children. Information is provided at the state and national levels.

From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

The National Sexual Violence Resource Center Library includes the collections of the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape (PCAR), the National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC), and AEquitas: The Prosecutors' Resource on Violence Against Women.
The NSVRC maintains a research collection of over 38,000 articles, reports, curricula, brochures, posters, conference material, journals, and many other publications in print, audiovisual, and electronic formats. Much of the material is available online. And some of our print and audiovisual materials are available upon request through interlibrary loan.

This website is devoted to the study of urbanism at the University of Chicago. It includes course materials, research projects, and resources relevant to the built environment.