Social Work

Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews of the literature written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Brings together content from EBSCO databases, Project MUSE, SAGE Journals Online and other sources to facilitate discovery across a range of subject areas.

AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS) includes more than 580+ full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries. Atlas PLUS includes all of the titles in Atla’s original full-text product, AtlaSerials (Atlas), and 200+ additional full-text titles.

HathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain
UChicago users may login to download high quality PDF versions where available.

Full-text database of over 100 scholarly journals published by university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention’s (OJJDP’s) Model Programs Guide (MPG) contains information about evidence-based juvenile justice and youth prevention, intervention, and reentry programs. It is a resource for practitioners and communities about what works, what is promising, and what does not work in juvenile justice, delinquency prevention, and child protection and safety.

The Task Force works to improve the health of all Americans by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services such as screenings, counseling services, and preventive medications. All recommendations are published on the Task Force’s Web site and/or in a peer-reviewed journal.

Content is identified using a variety of methods, all follow the principles of evidence based medicine. TRIP works with the Department of Family Medicine at Laval University, Quebec, Canada to help identify and appraise sites using a directory that features over 100 critically appraised websites that mainly offer critically appraised topics (CATs) or original articles, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines (CPGs).

The National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP) is an evidence-based repository and review system designed to provide the public with reliable information on mental health and substance abuse interventions. All interventions in the registry have met NREPP's minimum requirements for review. The programs' effects on individual outcomes have been independently assessed and rated by certified NREPP reviewers.

A nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization. Collection topics of interest include Medicine & Health Sciences, Earth & Environmental Sciences, Computer & Information Sciences, Research Analysis & Science Policy and Biology & Life Sciences.

National and state-based research on the needs, concerns, and interests of midlife and older adults.

Dedicated to understanding Alzheimer's disease and related disorders. Access to the web site is free to all. The web site reports on the latest scientific findings, from basic research to clinical trials; creates and maintains public databases of essential research data and reagents, and produces discussion forums to promote debate, speed the dissemination of new ideas, and break down barriers across the numerous disciplines that can contribute to the global effort to cure Alzheimer's disease.

Published by the Committee on Ways and Means of the United States House of Representatives provides background material and data on the programs within the jurisdiction of the Committee on Ways and Means.

BioMed Central is an STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 220 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology and medicine and includes broad interest titles, such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine alongside specialist journals, such as Retrovirology and BMC Genomics. All original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.

ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research.

The New York Academy of Medicine maintains this database of "grey literature"-- reports and pamphlets from governmental agencies (most from the United States and Canada), institutes, foundations, and organizations. These documents can cover nearly all aspects of drugs, including selection, therapeutic use, cost/economics, special populations, and toxicology, and are not routinely indexed in other databases. Search by drug name or condition. Most materials are available free online, but some are held in hard-copy only in the Academy's library.

As an initiative of the U.S. Department of Education's Institute of Education Sciences (IES), the What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) was created in 2002 to be a central and trusted source of scientific evidence for what works in education.

The official regional planning organization for the northeastern Illinois counties of Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will.

National and state data published annually by the Annie E. Casey Foundation. Provides information and data trends on the conditions of children and families in the United States.

Offers detailed census data for every state in the country.

Civic apps about Chicago built with open data. A group of volunteers that create apps to improve transparency and citizen understanding of our government.

Funded through a grant from the Bureau of Justice Statistics, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice.

Census data selection and visualization tool from the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP).

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations that advance three broad goals:

Strengthen American democracy;
Foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans and
Secure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system.

Brookings is proud to be consistently ranked as the most influential, most quoted and most trusted think tank.

working at the federal and state levels on fiscal policy and public programs that affect low- and moderate-income families and individuals.

Nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to studying children, youth, and families through research. Major research areas include teenage pregnancy and childbearing; the effects of welfare and poverty on children; parenting, family structure, and family processes.

The Child Welfare Information Gateway serves as a resource for reliable national data on child maltreatment reports, investigations, victims, and perpetrators.

The Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE) improves the lives of people who use care services by sharing knowledge about what works. We are an independent charity working with adults, families and children's social care and social work services across the UK. We also work closely with related services such as health care and housing.

We gather and analyse knowledge about what works and translate that knowledge into practical resources, learning materials and services. Our work helps to improve the knowledge and skills of those working in care services. This includes managers, frontline staff, commissioners and trainers. People and their families who use these services also use our resources.

Founded in 1968 to understand the problems facing America’s cities and assess the programs of the War on Poverty, the Urban Institute brings decades of objective analysis and expertise to policy debates — in city halls and state houses, Congress and the White House, and emerging democracies around the world. Today, the Urban Institute’s research portfolio ranges from the social safety net to health and tax policies; the well-being of families and neighborhoods; and trends in work, earnings, and wealth building.