Library Guides: Tests & Measures: Home

Getting started

No database provides free, full-text copies of all tests and measurements.

The person who creates the test decides if, when, and how it will be published. Some publish their tests in books and journal articles. Others have sold the “rights” to their tests to a publishing company, and now the publisher distributes (sells) the test.

Finding test information & reviews of tests

These do NOT provide copies of tests. Instead, they give you basic information such as the test name, purpose, population, scoring system, validity, price, and publisher.

Essentials of Psychological Assessment series
& more less...
According to the publisher this series of books deliver practical information across many specialties in psychology. Each chapter features callout boxes highlighting key concepts, bulleted points, and extensive illustrative materials, as well as test questions that gauge and reinforce your grasp of the information covered.
The novice can utilize this series as a prioritized assembly of all the information and techniques that must be at one's fingertips to begin individual psychological diagnosis. Experienced clinicians can utilize this series to master the evolving instruments and to keep up-to-date on the tried-and-true measures.

Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment

Tests : A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education, and Business
Print reference source.
Test Critiques
Print reference sources.
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures.
Print reference source.

Finding tests & test information in Library databases

Sometimes you can find a complete test in these sources, but most times they just provide you with information about the test or a shortened version of the test.

PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of tests, primarily unpublished non-commercial test.
A repository for the full text of psychological tests and measures as well as a source of structured information about the tests.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Note the drop box option in "Advanced Search" to limit by "Tests and Measures." It indicates if a test is used in the methodology of a study. If the document includes the actual test in its entirety, the word “Appended” appears in the “Tests & Measures” field. For help using APA, view this instructional video.
Bibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. PsycINFO covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text: Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
A nursing database. Use the “Advanced Search” option; locate the search limit box “Publication Type” and select “Questionnaire/Scale” and “Research Instrument” from within that box.
Authoritative source of information for the professional literature of nursing, allied health, biomedicine, and healthcare. Provides references to journal articles, books, book chapters, pamphlets, audiovisuals, dissertations, educational software, selected conference proceedings, standards of professional practice, and more. Some full-text material is included.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
An education database. Use the “Advanced Search” option; locate the search limit box “Publication Type” and select “Tests/Questionnaires”.
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), U.S. Department of Education. Since 1966, ERIC has indexed journals, research reports, conference papers, curriculum guides and publications of organizations. Full-text of older ERIC documents (non-journal material) are often available on microfiche; note the Accession Number beginning with ED in the ERIC record. The ERIC microfiche is located on the Regenstein B-level.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A medical database. Use the “Advanced” search option and add appropriate MeSH terms such as: “Psychological tests”, “Psychometrics”, “Psychiatric status rating scales” or “Questionnaires”.
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
ETS TestLink This link opens in a new window
Many of the tests are available in the microfiche collection Tests in Microfiche, Regenstein Library, Microforms 3rd floor. Tips on locating tests on microfiche in Regenstein Library
A database from the Educational Testing Service (ETS) of tests and other measurement devices most of which were created by authors outside ETS. Many of the tests are available on microfiche in Regenstein Library.

Finding tests in books

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests available in compilation volumes.
Search for tests printed in books.
From the University of Texas at Arlington Library
To obtain any of these resources, you may:
1. Check our library to determine if it has the source volume;
2. Contact our library Interlibrary Loan department or other services available at your institution
Test Finder [from San Diego State University Library]
Search for tests printed in books.
Search our catalog to see if the U of C Library owns the book and if not you can request from Interlibrary Loan.
Measures for Clinical Practice and Research : a sourcebook
Print reference source.
4th edition
Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health
find print copy in the library (click on title to access ebook)
& more less...
[from the preface, page vii] To accomplish our goal of making this a clinically useful book, we have invited our chapter authors (who are primarily members of specialty clinical and clinical research programs at our hospital, Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston): (1) to identify the “gold-standard” scales they routinely use to assess patients in their own clinics, (2) to provide ready-to-copy versions of these scales (when copyrights per-
mit), and (3) to provide practical information about the clinical use of the scales (i.e., when to administer, how to score, how to interpret results, and how to use to
measure clinical change in patients).
Handbook of Psychiatric Measures
The accompanying CD-ROM contains actual tests and measures.
find in the library
Measures of personality and social pychological constructs / edited by Gregory J. Boyle, Donald H. Saklofske, Gerald Matthews

Searching in Google

You can limit the type of sites you are searching in Google

site:.gov - Searches only federal, state, and local government web sites
site:.edu - Searches only educational establishments
site:.org - The domain was originally intended for non-profit entities, but this restriction was not enforced and has been removed. The domain is commonly used by schools, open-source projects, and communities, but also by some for-profit entities.

Sample search: (assessment OR evaluation OR intervention OR questionnaire) AND (intimate partner violence OR domestic partner violence) AND site:.gov

Warning: always scrutinize for quality and reliability when searching in Google

Librarian

Rebecca Starkey

she / her

Send Email

Contact:

Director of Teaching and Academic Engagement

Subject Areas: Education, Library Science

Regenstein Library, Room 367

773-702-4484

Subjects: Education, Library Science, Social Sciences

Acknowledgements

Bernadette Lear, Librarian at Penn State Harrisburg Library, allowed the University of Chicago LIbrary to borrow elements of her PSYC 571: Tests and Measures Library Guide and use them in this Library Guide. Additional credit to the American Library Association, Association of College and Research Libraries’, Social Work Liaison's Toolkit : Tests and Measures.