Collection Overview
The Library has a rich collection of education materials, with emphasis on the areas of urban education, school reform, educational psychology, literacy, reading theory and practice, and the history of education.
Off-campus Access
Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.
If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. NSIT has created the ProxyIt bookmarklet for these situations.
Find out more on their web site.
Starting Points
The following databases are good places to start your research in education.
- Lens Search Find find books, journals, and other materials at the University of Chicago Library.
- Library Catalog A traditional catalog interface for searching the University of Chicago Library's collections.
- WorldCat Search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. Click on Find It! for interlibrary loan requests.
- ERIC
Funded by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC is the largest education database in the world. Along with indexing thousands of journals, ERIC also includes a substantial collection of other education materials such as reports, curricula, and conference papers (ERIC Documents). - Education Full-Text (1983-) Education Full Text covers English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks in the field of education. Coverage includes about 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERIC.
- Education Index Retrospective (1929-1983) Covering a century of research, this database provides cover-to-cover indexing for English-language periodicals and yearbooks in education. It includes cover-to-cover indexing of some 500 periodicals, including book reviews.
Services for Students and Faculty
Research Consultations
Rebecca is happy to meet with students and faculty about their specific research interests. Contact her directly to make an appointment.
Library Instruction for Courses
The Library can provide customized instruction sessions for college or graduate courses. These sessions can broadly highlight the online resources and collections available in education, or focus on specific topics. Instruction sessions can also focus on the evaluation of information sources, correct citation (including use of RefWorks), and other topics relating to library research. For more information, contact Rebecca Starkey.
New Aquisitions
The Library posts its new aquisitions list two weeks after the end of each month. Select the LC Classification "L" for books on education.
Purchase Requests
If you are interested in the Library purchasing an item for the collection, please fill our purchase request form or contact Rebecca Starkey with your suggestions.
Ask A Librarian |
Rebecca StarkeyLibrarian for Education
The Joseph Regenstein Library
Reference, First Floor
773-702-4484
Send Email
Subjects:
General Reference, Education, Teaching
Chat:
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait