The National Book Award winning history of how racist ideas were created, spread, and deeply rooted in American society. Some Americans insist that we're living in a post-racial society. But racist thought is not just alive and well in America--it is more sophisticated and more insidious than ever.
Packed with case examples, illustrations, and proven learning experiences from the authors and other social work practitioners, the book integrates the major theories and skills that direct social work practitioners need to understand and master.
This City Is Killing Me
While helping poor patients from the South and West sides of Chicago, Jonathan Foiles realized individual therapy could not take into account the importance unemployment, poverty, lack of affordable housing and other policy decisions that impact the well-beings of both individuals and communities.
The Violence of Hate presents a systematic introduction to issues related to the sociology and social psychology of hate and violence as they target people who are different in socially significant ways.
Brings together leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of psychology topics. Each Handbook offers introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an argument for how those debates might evolve.
Each essay is drawn from the core social and behavioral sciences disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science, psychology and sociology and contains a summary of what is presently known about the topic and identifies promising areas for future research.
Remote & On-Site Services
The Library is Ready to Help During COVID-19
Get the latest information about the current status of Library services. Learn more.
Listed below are good starting points for beginning your research. Other useful sections of this LibGuide:
Since 1980, provides bibliographic coverage of research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes including citations to dissertations and book reviews.
Search PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, PsycCRITIQUES, PsycEXTRA, PsycINFO, and PsycTESTS all at once.
Designed as a gateway to the American Psychological Association's databases and designed for locating scholarly literature from the early 1800s to the present. It covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations, conference presentations, technical reports, white papers, standards, policies, book reviews, and more.
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
Multidisciplinary coverage of the social sciences. Offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
A gray literature database. Gray literature is material written for professionals and disseminated outside of peer-reviewed journals. Documents include newsletters, magazines, newspapers, technical and annual reports, government reports, consumer brochures, and more.
Read the Fifth Edition, DSM-5. View the Online Assessment Measures and view the DSM-5 Coding Update in English or Spanish. Also featured in the DSM Library are the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, the DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and Guia de consulta de los criterios diagnsticos del DSM-5.
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-5