Library and Archival Resources in Chicago
- Gerber/Hart LibraryFounded in 1981, the Gerber/Hart Library is the Midwest's largest LGBT circulating library with over 14,000 volumes, 800 periodical titles, and 100 archival collections.
University of Chicago Links
Starting Points
The following databases are good places to start your research in LGBT studies.
- Lens SearchFind find books, journals, and other materials at the University of Chicago Library.
- Library CatalogA traditional catalog interface for searching the University of Chicago Library's collections.
- WorldCatSearch the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. Click on Find It! for interlibrary loan requests.
- LGBT Life with Full Text Resource covering literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Coverage includes traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as books, bibliographies and dissertations.
- Alternative Press Index Indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals.
- Alternative Press Index Archive Comprehensive guide to alternative sources of information published from 1969-1990.
- JSTOR Select subject areas relevant to your topic.
Reference Sources
Selected reference sources on LGBT issues in our collections, online and in print.
- Cassell's encyclopedia of queer myth, symbol, and spirit : gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender lore.
- Encyclopedia of contemporary LGBTQ literature of the United States.
- Encyclopedia of gay and lesbian popular culture.
- Encyclopedia of lesbian and gay histories and cultures.
- Gay and lesbian rights : a reference handbook
- Gay-2-zee : a dictionary of sex, subtext, and the sublime.
- Historical dictionary of the lesbian liberation movement : still the rage.
- Images in the dark : an encyclopedia of gay and lesbian film and video.
- LGBT : encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America
- The dictionary of homophobia : a global history of gay & lesbian experience.
- The gay and lesbian literary heritage : a reader's companion to the writers and their works, from antiquity to the present.
- The Greenwood encyclopedia of LGBT issues worldwide
- The queer encyclopedia of film & television.
- The queer encyclopedia of the visual arts.
- Who's who in gay and lesbian history
- Who's who in lesbian and gay writing.
Contact |
Subjects: Gender and Sexuality Studies Blog:: Scope Notes |
Library news
In addition to the Library's general news site, I send quarterly newsletters from the Library to specific groups on campus.

Loading...
