Library Guides: Social Work: Home

Books in the Libraries

Stamped from the Beginning

The National Book Award winning history of how racist ideas were created, spread, and deeply rooted in American society. Some Americans insist that we're living in a post-racial society. But racist thought is not just alive and well in America--it is more sophisticated and more insidious than ever.

Direct Social Work Practice

Packed with case examples, illustrations, and proven learning experiences from the authors and other social work practitioners, the book integrates the major theories and skills that direct social work practitioners need to understand and master.

This City Is Killing Me

While helping poor patients from the South and West sides of Chicago, Jonathan Foiles realized individual therapy could not take into account the importance unemployment, poverty, lack of affordable housing and other policy decisions that impact the well-beings of both individuals and communities.

The Violence of Hate

The Violence of Hate presents a systematic introduction to issues related to the sociology and social psychology of hate and violence as they target people who are different in socially significant ways.

Research Design in Social Work

This book outlines how social work students can undertake a research project from either a qualitative, quantitative or mixed methodological approach.

The New Jim Crow

The New Jim Crow challenges the civil rights community - and all of us - to place mass incarceration at the forefront of a new movement for racial justice in America.

Reference Sources

The references cited within each article can be a good starting point for identifying the significant literature on a topic.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Social Work This link opens in a new window
Regularly updated annotated bibliography addressing themes and topics in Social Work
Oxford Handbooks Online in Psychology This link opens in a new window
Brings together leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking on a range of psychology topics. Each Handbook offers introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship. The articles review the key issues and major debates, and provide an argument for how those debates might evolve.

Emerging Trends in the Social and Behavioral Sciences : an interdisciplinary, searchable, and linkable resource
& more less...
Each essay is drawn from the core social and behavioral sciences disciplines of anthropology, economics, political science, psychology and sociology and contains a summary of what is presently known about the topic and identifies promising areas for future research.

Getting Started

Listed below are good starting points for beginning your research. Other useful sections of this LibGuide:

Subject Specific Resources includes additional databases
Statistics links to resources for data and statistics
Evidence-Based Resources help finding EBP articles
Search Strategies -- help =with advanced searching

Journal Articles

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
social work, human services, and related areas
Since 1980, provides bibliographic coverage of research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Abstracts and indexes including citations to dissertations and book reviews.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is an interdisciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the contents of more than 29,000 journals in the physical sciences, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, life and health sciences, social sciences, psychology, business, and management.

Scopus also features cited references and can be searched for articles that cite a specific article.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
American Psychological Association (APA) database of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
Bibliographic database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. PsycINFO covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations.
APA Databases (APA PsycNET) - search all APA Databases via Ebsco This link opens in a new window
Search PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS, PsycCRITIQUES, PsycEXTRA, PsycINFO, and PsycTESTS all at once.
Designed as a gateway to the American Psychological Association's databases and designed for locating scholarly literature from the early 1800s to the present. It covers journals, books, chapters, dissertations, conference presentations, technical reports, white papers, standards, policies, book reviews, and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
biomedical
Provides access to citations and full text articles from the biomedical literature (medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, and the preclinical sciences). PubMed includes MEDLINE (mid 1960s-present), OLDMEDLINE (1950-1965), in-process citations (not yet indexed).
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology
Multidisciplinary coverage of the social sciences. Offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
multidisciplinary database
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
PEP: Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing This link opens in a new window
A searchable digital archive of classic psychoanalytic books and journals, including all 24 volumes of The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud.
PsycBOOKS This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of APA books, classic books, and entries from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.
PsycCritiques This link opens in a new window
Provides book, film and video reviews from a psychological perspective. Published by the American Psychological Association.

PsycEXTRA
& more less...
A gray literature database. Gray literature is material written for professionals and disseminated outside of peer-reviewed journals. Documents include newsletters, magazines, newspapers, technical and annual reports, government reports, consumer brochures, and more.

Subject Specialist

Holiday Vega

they/them

Contact:

Librarian for Health, Psychology, and Social Work

Subjects: Human Development, Nursing, Psychology, Social Work

Related Guides

Sociology
Data & Statistics
Tests & Measures
A guide to finding educational and psychological tests and measures.
Journal Rankings & Citation Trackers

Finding E-Journals

Search for titles of journals, magazines, and newspapers

(e.g. Social Service Review, Newsweek, or New York Times) NOT article titles.

DSM-5

DSM Library This link opens in a new window
Read the Fifth Edition, DSM-5. View the Online Assessment Measures and view the DSM-5 Coding Update in English or Spanish. Also featured in the DSM Library are the DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, the DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and Guia de consulta de los criterios diagnsticos del DSM-5.
Via PsychiatryOnline

Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-5
find in the Library