Library Guides: Jewish Studies: Books

Jewish Studies Books at UChicago

Jewish Studies materials at UChicago
Executes a catalog search for all materials tagged with the subject "Judaism," "Jew," or "Jewish."
Hebrew language materials at UChicago Library
Executes a catalog search for materials in Hebrew. To exclude ployglott materials click the "x"s in the "Language" box in the right column.
Hebrew language materials in Special Collections
To exclude ployglott materials click the "x"s in the "Language" box in the right column.
Yiddish materials at UChicago
Arranged from oldest to most recent. To exclude polyglott materials click the "x"s in the "Language" box in the right column.

Catalogs for Finding Books

University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.
Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog (KVK) This link opens in a new window
KVK is very helpful for locating books in Europe.
The KVK allows users to search the catalogues of multiple German, Swiss, and Austrian libraries. Other international libraries can be added as well.
Yiddish Book Center's Steven Spielberg Digital Yiddish Library This link opens in a new window
Read 11,000 Yiddish titles online or download them free of charge provided by Yiddish Book Center
ULI-Union List of Israel This link opens in a new window
Union List of Israel (ULI) contains more than 5 million bibliographic records from the catalogs of university libraries, college libraries and several other major libraries in Israel.
WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.

Collections of E-Books

Search for E-Books Using the Catalog.

See also the Library's guide How do I find e-books?

Some of the following collections contain free full-text access to titles out of copyright (Google Book Search and HathiTrust). Others are paid subscriptions (Intelex Past Masters and Oxford Scholarship Online).

The Bibliography of the Hebrew Book
& more less...
A bibliography of approximately 90% of books printed in the Hebrew Language between 1470 and 1960.

Early Arabic Printed Books This link opens in a new window
Early Arabic Printed Books from the British Library (1475-1900) is the first full-text searchable digital library of early printed books in Arabic script. Covering religious literature, law, science, mathematics, astrology, alchemy, medicine, geography, travel, history, chronicles, and literature, and including European translations of Arabic works and Arabic translations of European books, it exemplifies the long exchange of ideas and learning between Europe and the Arabic-speaking world.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions specially created for the product.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them.
HebrewBooks.org This link opens in a new window
Online access to the full text of over 60,000 classical Hebrew books.
Online access to the full text of over 42,000 classical Hebrew books.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain
UChicago users may login to download high quality PDF versions where available.
Intelex Past Masters This link opens in a new window
InteLex Corporations Past Masters series encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. The series includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics. InteLex acquires and develops definitive editions of the full corpora of the seminal figures in the history of the human sciences, including published and unpublished works, articles, essays, reviews, and correspondence.
From their website
JNUL Digitized Book Repository This link opens in a new window
The Jewish National and University Library's project to digitize rare and out-of-print monographs from its collection.
Kotar Library Online This link opens in a new window
Electronic academic books published in Israel
Database of Hebrew language Electronic Books.
Otzar HaHochma This link opens in a new window
Licensed for 1 user at a time. Please click "log out" on site when finished.
76,000+ digitized Judaica books encompassing all realms of Judaism from ancient times to the modern period.

Open Book Publishers
& more less...
Database of open access academic books in Humanities and Social Sciences

Sabin Americana Collection, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900s. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents, forming a collection of over 6 million pages from 29,000 works.

Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography.

Seforim Online
A collection of books in the public domain freely available in pdf format.

Twentieth Century Religious Thought This link opens in a new window
Twentieth Century Religious Thought is a multivolume, cross-searchable online collection that brings together the seminal works and archival materials related to worldwide religious thinkers, from the early 1900s until the turn of the 21st century.

Theses and Dissertations

ULI-Union List of Israel This link opens in a new window
Includes theses and dissertations written in Israel, many of them available electronically. Make an Interlibrary Loan request for those available only in print.
Union List of Israel (ULI) contains more than 5 million bibliographic records from the catalogs of university libraries, college libraries and several other major libraries in Israel.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
To find dissertations produced in Israel,go to Advanced search, select "University/institution location" from drop down menu and search for "Israel."
Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses @ the University of Chicago This link opens in a new window
Limits searches in ProQuest's Dissertation database to dissertations and theses written at the University of Chicago. Full text is available for most written from 1997 to the present, with some available for prior years. The University Library holds a copy of virtually all UofC dissertations. Consult the Library Catalog for holdings and location information.
Foreign Dissertations at the Center for Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
Locate doctoral dissertations from countries other than Canada and the United States held at the Center for Research Libraries.

WorldCat.org
Catalogs dissertations worldwide and you can search in Hebrew.
How do I find dissertations?
Resources for finding dissertations, such as old or foreign dissertations.

Book Reviews

Looking for book reviews? Try a title search in one of the following online indexes:

AJS Review

Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
Search a book title and click on the Book Reviews facet under Format in the left column.
Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations
ATLA Religion with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS) includes more than 580+ full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries. Atlas PLUS includes all of the titles in Atla’s original full-text product, AtlaSerials (Atlas), and 200+ additional full-text titles.
Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
IBR Online This link opens in a new window
Multilingual and interdisciplinary index to book reviews, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Jewish Review of Books
Marginalia
& more less...
The Marginalia Review of Books is an international, open access review of literature and culture in the nexus of history, theology, and religion.
How do I find reviews?
For help finding reviews
& more less...
A guide for finding reviews, including book reviews.

Subject Specialist

Anne Knafl

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 462

773-702-8442

Subjects: Humanities, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.