Skip to main content

Jewish Studies

An overview of scholarly resources in Jewish Studies

Quick Links

Getting Started

Consult the resources listed below to get started researching a course paper or thesis. There are many more resources listed elsewhere in this Resource Guide. Please contact Anne Knafl, the Subject Specialist featured in the right-hand column, to arrange for a individual consultation.

Tip: As you read, always check the notes and bibliography to find publications related to your topic.

Take a virtual tour of the Library and find more videos about using Library services on our Youtube channel, both linked below.

Learn More about a Topic

Consult a reference source, such as a Companion, Handbook or Encyclopedia, to gain broad knowledge about a topic and the major scholarly trends surrounding it.

Finding Books

The University of Chicago Library has a very strong collection of scholarly books. Try a basic keyword search on your topic to find books. Too many results? Try Advanced Search and search in Subject or Title.

Tip: Sort by "Date Descending" to see the most recent publications

Finding Articles

Individual journal articles are not indexed in the Library catalog, only the journal title. To find journal articles on your topic you will need to consult a separate database.

Tip: JSTOR is great for searching across multiple disciplines, but has limited content for individual areas. To find a broad range of articles within a specific area you will need to consult a subject specific database.

Finding Primary Sources

Consult the Primary Sources tab in the left hand column for a list of primary source resources in Religion. Can't find what you need? Browse our Database Finder and contact Anne using the link in the right hand column.

If you are looking for archival materials, consider the resources listed below.

Building Your Bibliography

Citation Management (Zotero, Endnote)

Use a citation management tool, such as Zotero or Endnote, to collect, organize and annotate your references and to create notes and bibliographies.

Tip: All citation managers have difficulties with non-Roman alphabets. I recommend using Zotero if you are working with Hebrew sources.

Subject Specialist

Anne Knafl's picture
Anne Knafl
Contact:
Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 462
773-702-8442