Library Guides: Jewish Studies: Journals & Articles

Search Ejournals

Find online access to journals, newspapers and magazines.

How do I Find Journal Articles?

There are several different approaches to finding journal articles, depending on your starting point.

1. If you are looking for a known item (you know the author, article title, journal title, date, volume, etc.):

Try Articles Plus. For instance, search for the title of the journal and click the "Find It" button to get access.
Search the Library Catalog for the journal title and use the "Find It" button

2. If you are exploring a topic, use an article index such as RAMBI. This approach is more comprehensive than going to JSTOR.

3. If you are looking for a particular journal online, search the Library's e-journal index.

Indexes for Finding Articles in Jewish Studies

RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
Selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.

When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders to the ILL Office for items that the Library does not own.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
America: History & Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present.
ATLA Religion with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS) includes more than 580+ full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries. Atlas PLUS includes all of the titles in Atla’s original full-text product, AtlaSerials (Atlas), and 200+ additional full-text titles.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search by historical era under Advanced Search
Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

(Description taken from EBSCO website.)
Index to Hebrew Periodicals This link opens in a new window
IHP is a bibliographic indexing project centered at the University of Haifa Library. It covers articles of Hebrew periodicals, collections, a few monographs, newspapers and articles in other languages dealing with the land of Israel.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
Index to Yiddish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Index to Yiddish Periodicals(IYP) is a bibliographical data base using Yiddish, which aims to record the materials published in the Yiddish press in Eastern Europe, from its beginnings (1862) until 1939 (in the Soviet Union: until 1948). This ongoing bibliographical project is carried out under the auspices of the Yiddish Department at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in cooperation with the Jewish National and University Library.

Off-Campus Access

View the 90 second video below to learn how to access library resources off-campus.

Citation Linking

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For University of Chicago settings for Google Scholar, click here.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
With citation linking. Uncheck the Science Index.
Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Subject Specialist

Anne Knafl

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 462

773-702-8442

Subjects: Humanities, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.