This is the "Home" page of the "How do I find e-books?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

How do I find e-books?  

A guide on how to find e-books for your research.
Last Updated: Jun 13, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/ebooks Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview

The Library provides access to e-books in a variety of ways. We subscribe to a number of major databases, purchase individual titles and collections, and digitize locally items from our own collections. Titles range from the earliest printed books to the most recent publications of the University of Chicago Press. Links to most e-books are included in the Library Catalog and Lens. Lens also provides links to books that are freely available in Google Books and HathiTrust. The Library’s e-book collections support teaching and research at the University. The Chicago Public Library has a large collection of popular titles.

 

Single User E-Books

Many e-books permit only one user at a time. If you are unable to access an e-book in our collections, try again later or ask a librarian for assistance.

In ebrary, a notation in the header will indicate whether a title is available to multiple users or can be viewed only by a limited number of users at once:

ebrary limited user notation

 

University of Chicago Press

University of Chicago Press books are available through several providers. Catalog records include links to the full text. The Press provides online access to the Chicago Manual of Style through its web site. Other current publications are included in ebrary. Earlier publications are selectively included in the Humanities E-Book Project, Google Books, and HathiTrust. The Library has also digitized some publications of the Press.

Dissertations

Most dissertations from American universities written since 1997 are available in ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Many earlier ones have also been digitized. UChicago dissertations written after Spring of 2009 are only available through ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Ask a Librarian
Contact Info
Phone: 773-702-4685
Email
Visit Us
Chat:
 

© The University of Chicago Library
1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip