A comprehensive dictionary that includes all strata of the Hebrew language, from the Biblical to current Israeli slang.
The dictionary was written and developed by a team of linguists and software developers headed by the renowned computational linguist, Prof. Yaacov Choueka, within the Center for Educational Technology, Israel's biggest firm for educational software and technology. ... In both printed form and computerized form, it is a friendly tool that is easy to use, yet it is comprehensive and includes all strata of the Hebrew language, from the Biblical to current Israeli slang. The printed edition consists of six large volumes; The computerized version packs all this information into a web site with a friendly interface, and moreover, supplements the dictionary with intelligent linguistic tools that can not only find and retrieve any of Hebrew's 70 million inflected forms, but supply upon the pressing of a button several outstanding functions.
From their Website
Containing nearly 50,000 entries and 33,000 subentries, the Comprehensive English-Yiddish Dictionary emphasizes Yiddish as a living language that is spoken in many places around the world. The late Mordkhe Schaechter collected and researched spoken and literary Yiddish in all its varieties, and this landmark dictionary reflects his vision for present-day and future Yiddish usage.
The Historical Dictionary Project has accumulated texts of all the extant Hebrew compositions from the time of the canonization of the Hebrew Bible until the end of the Geonic period, and large selections of Hebrew literature from the mid-18-th century until the founding of the State of Israel. The aim of a historical dictionary is to relate the history of the words of a language by answering questions such as: When did the word first enter the language, and is it still in use? What were the word’s original form and meaning and how did they change over time?
Good answers to such questions require a large database of texts of the different historical language strata, set in a concordance form, i.e. each word is linked to its relevant dictionary-entry.
1st and 2nd editions available in print through the catalog
Updated edition of this lauded work on Judaism features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. (Description by Gale)
From Europe and America to the Middle East, North Africa and other non-European Jewish settlement areas, the 'Encyclopedia of Jewish History and Culture' covers the recent history of the Jewish people from 1750 through the 1950s. Originally published in German as the "Enzyklopädie jüdischer Geschichte und Kultur" by J.B. Metzler Verlag (Stuttgart/Weimar) in 2011 the work includes approximately 800 entries that present the state of international research and reveal a complex portrait of Jewish life.
This list is just a sampling of the Library's dictionaries in the area of Jewish studies. To search for additional dictionaries in the Library, go to the library catalog and search by subject keyword for "Jews Dictionaries" or "Judaism Dictionaries."