Jewish Studies

The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research.

The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked Confidential Print were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad.

This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

Global Think Tanks indexes and links to more than 3.4 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a curated directory of more than 24,000 think tanks, including IGOs, NGOs, and research centers across the globe. Delivered on the Policy Commons Platform, Global Think Tanks currently provides full text coverage of more than 8,500 organizations and includes more than 55,000 rescued reports from over 500 inactive organizations.

Indexing and abstracting database which corresponds to Art Index (Z5931.A75), indexing more than 300 key, international arts publications. (1984-present): A good starting place for mostly English-language articles on topics from classical art through 21st-century performance artists.

IHP is a bibliographic indexing project centered at the University of Haifa Library. It covers articles of Hebrew periodicals, collections, a few monographs, newspapers and articles in other languages dealing with the land of Israel.

Database of Hebrew language Electronic Books.

Selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.

This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history.

The World Health Organization Statistical Information System (WHOSIS) is a guide to statistical information available at WHO, including core health indicators, mortality and health status, and disease statistics.

UNdata is a multi-disciplinary source providing official statistics produced by countries and compiled by the United Nations data system. The database also includes estimates and projections. Themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.

Historical Abstracts is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more - essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. This authoritative database provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.

(Description taken from EBSCO website.)

Regularly updated annotated bibliographies. University of Chicago Library subscribes to many sections of Oxford Bibliographies Online such as African Studies, Anthropology, Art History, Atlantic History, Buddhism, Childhood Studies, Chinese Studies, Cinema and Media Studies, Classics, Environmental Science, Geography, International Law, International Relations, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Medieval Studies, Military History, Music, Political Science, Renaissance and Reformation, Social Work, and Sociology.

Search all articles in all Handbooks regardless of whether or not the Library has purchased access to the electronic edition. If you need an article that is locked (abstract access only), try searching for the title of the handbook in the Library Catalog for a print copy.

The Global Arbitration Review (GAR) is a key e-resource for international arbitration news. The GAR database also contains a repository of primary sources such as arbitral awards, court judgments and filings, reports, rankings, and surveys. It also includes Lexology Getting the Deal Through (GTDT), profiles of arbitrators, a Know-How section with Q& A guides to Commercial Arbitration, Construction Arbitration, Challenging and Enforcing Arbitration Awards, Investment Treaty Arbitration and Litigation, the UCIA - Universal Citation in International Arbitration, and four annual regional arbitration reviews: The Arbitration Review of the Americas, The Asia Pacific Arbitration Review, The European Arbitration Review, and The Middle Eastern and African Arbitration Review.

Indexes materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, excluding book reviews. Citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essays, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, & bibliographies. Also includes citations to books and journal articles having to do with linguistics and language topics.
Video tutorial on searching writer's names as subjects

Contemporary world music will contain 50,000 tracks that delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku and more. This database is a complementary database to Smithsonian global sound for libraries - it includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world.

Covers thousands of newspapers that aren't available through other sources, including community newspapers and the Chicago Sun-Times

Associated Press Collections Online gives insight into major events, people and trends from the mid-1800s through the twentieth century from the Associated Press Corporate Archive. Collections may include: original wire copy, personal papers, AP style books, internal publications, videos and images.

This site contains a collection of Jewish newspapers published in various countries, languages, and time periods. Full-text search is available for all content published over the course of each newspapers publication.
(From their website)

Proquest Newsstand

Full text articles from recent years from over 2500 news sources worldwide. Includes the Chicago Tribune 1985- present, Washington Post 1987 -, the Times (London) 1992- and the New York Times 1980- present