Biblical Studies

Translations of ancient Near Eastern documents relevant to the study of the Hebrew Bible and ancient Israel. Click link in catalog record to access ebook.

The third edition of Ludwig Koehler and Walter Baumgartners Hebrew dictionary The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament is widely acclaimed as the most up-to-date dictionary for the Old Testament and related literature in classical Hebrew and Aramaic and is now available online. The study edition has proven to be a valuable resource for scholars and students. Combining scholarly thoroughness with easy accessibility, the dictionary meets the needs of a wide range of users. The enormous advances that have taken place in the field of Semitic linguistics since the days of the older dictionaries of Classical Hebrew are well documented and assessed, as well as the often detailed discussions in modern Bible commentaries of words where the meaning is particularly difficult. Full text search and possibility to find conjugated verb forms in the context of their roots is particularly helpful to the new student. Specialist users will find here a wealth of bibliographical information on Old Testament exegesis.

The dictionary contains the complete vocabulary of the Hebrew Bible, extended with variants from the Oriental and Samaritan textual traditions, the Ben Sira fragments, and the Dead Sea Scrolls.

Logeion was developed to provide simultaneous lookup of entries in many Greek and Latin dictionaries. Dictionaries include the Perseus Classical collection (Liddell and Scott's Greek-English Lexicon (1940); Liddell and Scott's Intermediate Greek Lexicon (1889); Autenrieth's Homeric Dictionary (1891); Lewis and Short's Latin-English Lexicon (1879); Lewis's Elementary Latin Dictionary (1890)) as well as The Diccionario Griego-Espaol Project, Du Cange, et al., Glossarium medi et infim latinitatis (1883-1887), Basiswoordenlijst Latijn (1975), and Pinksters Woordenboek Latijn/Nederlands (2011).

An increasingly comprehensive collection of all the surviving texts of Greek literature from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453.

The Assyrian Dictionary of the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago (CAD).

The Demotic Dictionary of the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago (CDD).

The Hittite Dictionary of the Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago (CHD).

Scholarly initiative of the Oriental Institute that aims at creating an etymological database of Afroasiatic languages. This is an open access scholarly initiative.

From the Association Assyrophile de France.

A new dictionary of the Aramaic language, to be called The Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon, has been in preparation by an international team of scholars since 1986, currently with headquarters at the Hebrew Union College in Cincinnati. This major scholarly reference work will cover all dialects and periods of ancient Aramaic, one of the principal languages of antiquity, with a literature of central importance for history and civilization, and especially for the Jewish and Christian religions. Publisher's Website

The Coptic Dictionary Online aims to make it easy to look up Coptic words in all dialects and supply freely accessible translations in English, French and German, via human and machine readable interfaces.

Chapel Hill, 1993

University of Wrzburg

Online edition includes the following dictionaries:
Etymological Dictionary of Latin
Etymological Dictionary of Greek
Etymological Dictionary of Slavic
Etymological Dictionary of Proto-Germanic forthcoming
Etymological Dictionary of Proto-Celtic
Etymological Dictionary of Old-Frisian
Etymological Dictionary of Armenian
Etymological Dictionary of Hittite
Etymological Dictionary of Luvian
Etymological Dictionary of Persian forthcoming
Etymological Dictionary of the Iranian Verb
Etymological Dictionary of Proto-Nostratic

The Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online (IEDO) reconstructs the lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European. It is a rich and voluminous online reference source for historical and general linguists. Dictionaries can be cross-searched, with an advance search for each individual dictionary enabling the user to perform more complex research queries. Each entry is accompanied by grammatical info, meaning(s), etymological commentary, reconstructions, cognates and often extensive bibliographical information. New content will be added on an annual basis.

Logeion was developed to provide simultaneous lookup of entries in many Greek and Latin dictionaries. Dictionaries include the Perseus Classical collection (Liddell and Scott's Greek-English Lexicon (1940); Liddell and Scott's Intermediate Greek Lexicon (1889); Autenrieth's Homeric Dictionary (1891); Lewis and Short's Latin-English Lexicon (1879); Lewis's Elementary Latin Dictionary (1890)) as well as The Diccionario Griego-Espaol Project, Du Cange, et al., Glossarium medi et infim latinitatis (1883-1887), Basiswoordenlijst Latijn (1975), and Pinksters Woordenboek Latijn/Nederlands (2011).

Entries are organised according to meaning, with a view to showing the developing senses of words and the relationships between those senses. Other contextual and explanatory information, all expressed in contemporary English, is included, such as the typical circumstances in which a word may be used.

Numerous Akkadian texts have been published since the publication of both Akkadian dictionaries (W. von Soden's Akkadisches Handwrterbuch [1958-1981, 3 volumes] and The Assyrian Dictionary of the University of Chicago [1956-2010, 20 volumes]). The Supplement to the Akkadian Dictionaries, funded by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft in the framework of the project "Etymological Dictionary of Akkadian" and published by Michael P. Streck and Nadezda Rudik, aims to collect this material and present it to the scientific community.