Classics

An illustrated dictionary provided by the Beazley Archive. Entries cover characters from Greek myth and history, art and architectural terms, and maps and place names. Try the merged database search.

This database offers subject or theme based collections of content within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. The books in these series survey scholarship on individual writers or other notable people, on schools of thought, and other topics. They serve as textbooks, as excellent starting places for research, and as scholarly works in their own right.

This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.

All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.

Timothy Darvill.
Covering the essential vocabulary for everyday archaeological work in the English language, this up-to-date dictionary is the most wide-ranging and comprehensive of its kind. There is coverage of principles, theories, techniques, artefacts, materials, people, places, monuments, equipment, and descriptive terms - from amphora to ziggurat, and Beaker Culture to molluscan analysis.
The dictionary focuses especially on Europe, the Old World, and the Americas, and covers legislation relating to the United Kingdom and the USA. The archaeology of a selection of key sites from around the world is also described. (From their Web site)

Particularly useful for illustrations of objects.

DIR is an on-line encyclopedia on the rulers of the Roman empire from Augustus (27 BC-AD 14) to Constantine XI Palaeologus (1449-1453). The encyclopedia consists of (1) an index of all the emperors who ruled during the empire's 1500 years, (2) a growing number of biographical essays on the individual emperors, (3) family trees ("stemmata") of important imperial dynasties, (4) an index of significant battles in the empire's history, (5) a growing number of capsule descriptions and maps of these battles, and (6) maps of the empire at different times. (From their Web site)

Online version of the Encyclopdia Britannica including authoritative information on people, places, events with articles, videos, and more.

The EAGLL offers a systematic and comprehensive treatment of all aspects of the history and study of Ancient Greek, comprising detailed descriptions of the language from Proto-Greek to koine. It addresses linguistic aspects from several perspectives, including history, structure, individual singularities, biographical references, schools of thought, technical meta-language, sociolinguistic issues, dialects, didactics, translation practices, generic issues, Greek in relation to other languages, etc., and on all levels of analysis including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, lexicon, semantics, stylistics, etc. It also includes all the necessary background information regarding the roots of Greek in Indo-European. As and when, excursions may be made to later stages of the language, e.g. Byzantine or even later.

Comprehensive collection of twenty-first century scholarship available on the entire ancient Mediterranean world. Our board of experienced and internationally diverse editors has collected over 5,000 original entries spanning the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE. Entries extend to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt, and represent an unprecedented level of coverage of the ancient world.
From their Website

The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture edited by Gordon Campbell (Oxford, 2007) is a comprehensive reference resource for the visual arts of the Classical period.

Brills Lexicon of Greek Grammarians of Antiquity (LGGA) serves as the first point of reference for information on the ancient grammarians for scholars of Greek and Latin antiquity, in particular for research into the history of philology, grammar and ancient scholarship.

IEMA, an entirely new supplement to the Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA), is being produced under the joint auspices of the UCLA Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies and Brepols Publishers; it will be made available at Brepolis, the Brepols site for online medieval encyclopedias, bibliographies, and databases. The chronological range of IEMA is 300-1500 CE, and it will cover all of Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. IEMA will complement and fill in gaps in the coverage of the present Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA).

The entire text of Metzler's Der neue Pauly, which was published in 18 volumes (13 on Antiquity, 5 on the Classical Tradition) and one index volume, is available here together with all volumes of Brill's New Pauly now in print, with regular updates when new translations become available. Advanced search functions, complimented by keyword and subject indices, enable the user to search and combine data efficiently from a vast corpus of over 27,000 entries and sub-entries. The guiding principle in developing the online version of the New Pauly was to supply its users with exactly the same information the book itself would provide, while improving their ability to search and, consequently, use the information.

Contains a series of additional reference works complementing the information of Brill's New Pauly. Taking a variety of approaches, each volume provides scholars quick access to in-depth knowledge on subjects from chronological lists of rulers of the ancient world, a biographical dictionary of classists who have made their mark on scholarship, to an historical atlas and encyclopedia-type works on the reception of myth and classical literature.

For almost half a century, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. It provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity. (Description from Oxford website.)

Brian M. Fagan, ed.
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology provides authoritative, stimulating entries on a range of subjects, including engaging biographies of the great figures in the field, extensive coverage of the methods used in archaeological research, together with essays that examine human evolution and the many general facets of culture.
Second edition, 2012

Edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth.
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization provides an authoritative survey of the Greek and Roman worlds in all their aspects. Drawing on the latest edition of the higly praised Oxford Classical Dictionary, the Companion offers articles on diverse fields such as, history and politics; ethics and morals; law and punishment; social and family life; language, literature, and art; religion and mythology; technology, science, and medicine. (From their Web site)

Edited by Alexander P. Kazhdan . With more than 5,000 entries by an international group of eminent historians, this is the standard research tool on 1,100 years of Byzantine history. Exhaustive in its coverage, entries on patriarchy and emperors coexist with entries on surgery, musical instruments, and the baking of bread, bringing to life this vastly important culture and empire, from the 4th century to the 15th. (From their Web site)

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean worldGreek, Hellenistic, and Romanfrom the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format. The nearly eleven hundred articles, written by leading scholars in the field, seek to convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture. Broad overviews of literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, and religion are complimented by articles on authors and their works, literary genres and periods, historical figures and events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, and myths. (From their Web site)

Oxford Handbooks in Archaeology bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in archaeology. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

Oxford Handbooks in Classics bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in classical studies. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.

The Encyclopedia is a six-volume illustrated (B&W photos) interdisciplinary reference work with about 1000 articles on these and many other history of law topics. Picture of 6 volumes of the Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal HistoryThe Encyclopedia specifically covers eight areas of scholarly research interest: ancient Greek law; ancient Roman law; Chinese law; English common law; Islamic law; medieval and post-medieval Roman law; South Asian, African, and Latin American law; and United States law. And, within each area, these major categories of lawcontracts, torts, civil procedure, criminal law, administrative law, and constitutional law.

Provides access to over 120 language and subject dictionaries, reference works, and biographical directories in a variety of disciplines published by OUP that can be searched individually or in one cross-searchable database.

From Perseus, but loaded locally under PhiloLogic.

The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is the English translation of Franco Montanari’s Vocabolario della Lingua Greca. With 140,000 entries, new entries are being added (online) on a regular basis.

Entries are organised according to meaning, with a view to showing the developing senses of words and the relationships between those senses. Other contextual and explanatory information, all expressed in contemporary English, is included, such as the typical circumstances in which a word may be used.

The database will continue to grow gradually and will comprise three kinds of dictionaries: dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages, dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words, and historical Latin dictionaries. A live link between the Library of Latin Texts and the Database of Latin Dictionaries is available. This link enables the user who has conducted a search on a word in a dictionary within DLD to export this word automatically to its sister-database and thereby identify actual occurrences of the particular word in CLCLT in its actual context. Likewise, a user can select a word found in a text of CLCLT and automatically find entries on the word in the constituent dictionaries of the DLD.

DGE online is the digital edition of the seven published volumes of the Diccionario Griego-Espaol, that cover the alphabetical section ? - ??????. Although still in progress, the DGE is currently becoming the largest bilingual dictionary of ancient Greek: it already includes about 60,000 entries and 370,000 quotations of ancient authors and texts.
From their Website.

The database represents the text of Hjalmar Frisk's "Griechisches etymologisches Woerterbuch" (Heidelberg 1960-1972).
Frisk's text is given practically unchanged (only a few obvious typos have been corrected), except for some rearrangement of the material. The Latin transcription has been added for easier alphabetisation and search.
Frisk does not always grammatically label the words. In the case of verbs and adjectives, these labels are systematically absent. For searching purposes, we have added the label "v." for the verbs.
From their Web site.

Online edition includes the following dictionaries:
Etymological Dictionary of Latin
Etymological Dictionary of Greek
Etymological Dictionary of Slavic
Etymological Dictionary of Proto-Germanic forthcoming
Etymological Dictionary of Proto-Celtic
Etymological Dictionary of Old-Frisian
Etymological Dictionary of Armenian
Etymological Dictionary of Hittite
Etymological Dictionary of Luvian
Etymological Dictionary of Persian forthcoming
Etymological Dictionary of the Iranian Verb
Etymological Dictionary of Proto-Nostratic

The Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online (IEDO) reconstructs the lexicon for the most important languages and language branches of Indo-European. It is a rich and voluminous online reference source for historical and general linguists. Dictionaries can be cross-searched, with an advance search for each individual dictionary enabling the user to perform more complex research queries. Each entry is accompanied by grammatical info, meaning(s), etymological commentary, reconstructions, cognates and often extensive bibliographical information. New content will be added on an annual basis.

Print: Call number: CS2349.L48 1987 RR4Cla
The Lexicon of Greek Personal Names was established in 1972 as a Major Research Project of the British Academy to collect and publish with documentation all known ancient Greek personal names (including non-Greek names recorded in Greek, and Greek names in Latin), drawn from all available sources (literature, inscriptions, graffiti, papyri, coins, vases and other artefacts), within the period from the earliest Greek written records down to, approximately, the sixth century A.D.

The LBG is the foremost lexicographical resource in Byzantine Studies mainly covering the period from the 4th to the 15th century A.D. taken from more than 3,000 texts. Seven fascicles have appeared to date, with one more scheduled to appear in 2016. When completed the dictionary will consist of more than 2,000 printed pages, containing approx. 80,000 lemmata.
From their website

= Dictionary of Renaissance Latin from prose sources / Rene? Hoven ; assisted by Laurent Grailet ; English translation by Coen Maas ; revised by Karin Renard-Jadoul
2nd ed. Brill 2006

Henry George Liddell & Robert Scott, A Greek-English Lexicon. Revised and augmented throughout by Sir Henry Stuart Jones with the assistance of Roderick McKenzie. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1940.

From Perseus, but loaded locally under PhiloLogic.

Logeion was developed to provide simultaneous lookup of entries in many Greek and Latin dictionaries. Dictionaries include the Perseus Classical collection (Liddell and Scott's Greek-English Lexicon (1940); Liddell and Scott's Intermediate Greek Lexicon (1889); Autenrieth's Homeric Dictionary (1891); Lewis and Short's Latin-English Lexicon (1879); Lewis's Elementary Latin Dictionary (1890)) as well as The Diccionario Griego-Espaol Project, Du Cange, et al., Glossarium medi et infim latinitatis (1883-1887), Basiswoordenlijst Latijn (1975), and Pinksters Woordenboek Latijn/Nederlands (2011).

By Franz Blatt (1903-1979) & Reimer Hemmingsen (1922-1998) from Hans Christophersen, in Denmark.

The project Poorly Attested Words in Ancient Greek (PAWAG) has the aim of setting up a database in the form of an electronic dictionary that gathers together words of Ancient Greek that are either only scantily attested (i.e. with one or few occurrences), inadequately (i.e.characterized by some sort of uncertainty) or in any case problematically, both from a formal and semantic point of view.

The project is open to international collaboration and the archive will be drawn up through progressive expansion both in the number of entries and their contents, with gradual correction and updating and elimination of any ghost-word.

The database is available free and offers a scientific tool for scholars in the research on classical world as well as a supplement to the existing dictionaries of ancient Greek (in which satisfactory attention can hardly be paid to the complex field of Poorly Attested Words), in order to make a contribution to future improvement of Greek lexicography.
From their website

The Suda is a massive 10th century Byzantine Greek historical encyclopedia of the ancient Mediterranean world, derived from the scholia to critical editions of canonical works and from compilations by yet earlier authors. The purpose of the Suda On Line is to open up this stronghold of information by means of a freely accessible, keyword-searchable, XML-encoded database with translations, annotations, bibliography, and automatically generated links to a number of other important electronic resources. (From their Web site.)

Kommission fr die Herausgabe des Thesaurus linguae Latinae :The TLL, when complete, will be the first comprehensive scholarly dictionary of ancient Latin from the earliest times down to AD 600.

From the University of Chicago Library.

From the Battle of Actium in 31 BC to the reign of Diocletian (284-305).

PMBZ Online is a comprehensive biographical dictionary for the Byzantine Empire in the early Medieval Period (641-1025 AD) documenting more than 21,000 persons. PMBZ Online is based on the print edition of the Prosopographie der mittelbyzantinischen Zeit which appeared in two parts 1998 and 2013. PMBZ Online documents all persons mentioned either by name or anonymously in the relevant Byzantine and non-Byzantine sources, and secondly all persons mentioned in the Byzantine sources both from Western Europe and from the Arabic and Slavonic areas, together with those from the Christian East. The individual articles offer the reader a summary of a person's biography (where possible) and state all sources pertaining to this person as well as relevant modern scholarship.

Comprehensive biographical database providing short biographical information on 3.6 million persons with a historical coverage. Digital facsimile articles from more than 2,300 reference works are also included for 1.3 persons.

Springing from the Classical Atlas Project and the Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World, Pleiades is a historical gazetteer and more. It associates names and locations in time and provides structured information about the quality and provenance of these entities. There is also a graph in Pleiades: names and locations are collected within places and these collections are associated with other geographically connected places. Pleiades also serves as a vocabulary for talking about the geography of the ancient world within Linked Data sets and is referenced by research projects such as Google Ancient Places and PELAGIOS.
From their Website

From Perseus, but loaded locally under PhiloLogic.

From Perseus, but loaded locally under PhiloLogic.

Abbreviationes, the first database of medieval Latin abbreviations, is designed for use in both learning and teaching of medieval Latin paleography. Abbreviationes is also a highly useful reference and research tool. It consists of a database (Main Dictionary) and a database application (Abbreviationes) a mature, robust, and reliable program, suitable for everyone from the novice to the expert. The database is immeasurably more effective than a printed dictionary in terms of speed and efficiency. Furthermore, the database currently comprises over 70,000 entries, containing a total of 80,098 references to manuscripts. Thanks to annual updates and enhancements, the Main Dictionary will continue to grow steadily. Abbreviationes is a standard reference work and reflects the state of contemporary scholarship. Examples and Instructions

The most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts in libraries and collections all over the world.

One million incipits covering Latin literature from its origins to the Renaissance

An inevitable research tool for all those scholars and libraries interested in the writers, texts and manuscripts of Antiquity, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance.

- 1,000,000 records from 3 major institutes and a number of individual collections
- approximately 25,000 new entries on-stream from 2004 onwards
- updates twice a year, in March and September
- a search screen that is identical for the online and the DVD publication
- a search screen providing guidance for searching by offering 10 search fields that enable precise searching
- multilingual search interface (English French German)
From their Website.

Regularly updated annotated bibliography addressing themes and topics in Classics.

The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

The dictionary was written and developed by a team of linguists and software developers headed by the renowned computational linguist, Prof. Yaacov Choueka, within the Center for Educational Technology, Israel's biggest firm for educational software and technology. ... In both printed form and computerized form, it is a friendly tool that is easy to use, yet it is comprehensive and includes all strata of the Hebrew language, from the Biblical to current Israeli slang. The printed edition consists of six large volumes; The computerized version packs all this information into a web site with a friendly interface, and moreover, supplements the dictionary with intelligent linguistic tools that can not only find and retrieve any of Hebrew's 70 million inflected forms, but supply upon the pressing of a button several outstanding functions.
From their Website

320,000 words and phrases, 520,000 translations