Library Guides: Biblical Studies: Books

Catalogs for Finding Books

Use the Library Catalog to find books and e-books at the Library. To find books beyond the Library, use WorldCat, which is especially useful for discovering which libraries own a particular title and for placing an interlibrary loan request.

WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.
Karlsruher Virtueller Katalog (KVK) This link opens in a new window
The KVK allows users to search the catalogues of multiple German, Swiss, and Austrian libraries. Other international libraries can be added as well.
University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.

Collections of e-books

Search for E-Books Using the Catalog.

See also the Library's guide How do I find e-books?

Some of the following collections contain free full-text access to titles out of copyright (Google Book Search and HathiTrust). Others are paid subscriptions (e.g., Oxford Scholarship Online).

Abzu: Guide to Resources for ANE/ETANA

Christian Classics Ethereal Library This link opens in a new window
Features the Christian Classics Ethereal Library, provided by Calvin College and maintained by Harry Plantinga. Includes an author index of the works available. Notes that the texts are in the public domain.

Institute for the Study of Ancient Cultures (OI): Catalog of Publications
Open Access, electronic copies of series published in Near East Studies
Tyndale University Reading Room Archives
Collections of open access books in Biblical Studies

Google Books This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain
UChicago users may login to download high quality PDF versions where available.
Open Library This link opens in a new window
User created catalog sponsored by the Open Content Alliance with the goal of creating one web page for every book ever published. Create a free account to check out a book.

Theses and Dissertations

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.

Research in Ministry (RIM)
Research in Ministry® (RIM®) indexes and abstracts projects and theses from over 100 Doctor of Ministry (DMin), Doctor of Missiology (DMiss) and Doctor of Educational Ministry (DEdMin) programs accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS). RIM is a searchable database with entries for authors, titles, thesis/project advisors, schools, and ATLA subject headings.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses @ the University of Chicago This link opens in a new window
Limits searches in ProQuest's Dissertation database to dissertations and theses written at the University of Chicago. Full text is available for most written from 1997 to the present, with some available for prior years. The University Library holds a copy of virtually all UofC dissertations. Consult the Library Catalog for holdings and location information.

How do I find dissertations?
Resources for finding dissertations, such as old or foreign dissertations.

Book Reviews

Looking for book reviews? Start with searching for the title of the book in ATLA Religion Index. Then, try other databases listed below.

ATLA Religion with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS) includes more than 580+ full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries. Atlas PLUS includes all of the titles in Atla’s original full-text product, AtlaSerials (Atlas), and 200+ additional full-text titles.
Book Review Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.
IBR Online This link opens in a new window
Multilingual and interdisciplinary index to book reviews, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

Marginalia
& more less...
The Marginalia Review of Books is an international, open access review of literature and culture in the nexus of history, theology, and religion.
How do I find reviews?
& more less...
A guide for finding reviews, including book reviews.

Faculty Recommended Books--Hebrew Bible

Professors Jeffrey Stackert and Simeon Chavel often use these classic works in their classes. Links to catalog records for print copies are below. All are in the public domain. Electronic versions can be found in Google Books and HathiTrust. Please contact the Subject Specialist, Anne K. Knafl (aknafl@uchicago.edu), for help locating print or electronic versions of these texts.

Baruch Spinoza, Theologico-Political Treatise
Carpenter & Harford-Battersby, Hextateuch
Hermann Gunkel, Legends of Genesis
Payne Smith, Compendious Syriac Dictionary
Robert Lowth, Lectures on the Sacred Poetry of the Hebrews
William Robertson-Smith, Lectures on the Religion of the Semites
Judaica at St. Louis University
A Bibliography created by James A. Redfield for graduate seminars in Jewish Studies.

Faculty Recommended Books--New Testament

Subject Specialist

Anne Knafl

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 462

773-702-8442

Subjects: Humanities, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion