Quick Links
- ATLA Religion with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
- All Subject Guides for UChicago LibraryNot finding what you need? Check out these other research guides.
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The SBL Handbook of Style by
The definitive source for how to write and publish in the field of biblical studies The long-awaited second edition of the essential style manual for writing and publishing in biblical studies and related fields includes key style changes, updated and expanded abbreviation and spelling-sample lists, a list of archaeological site names, material on qur'anic sources, detailed information on citing electronic sources, and expanded guidelines for the transliteration and transcription of seventeen ancient languages. Features: Expanded lists of abbreviations for use in ancient Near Eastern, biblical, and early Christian studies Information for transliterating seventeen ancient languages Exhaustive examples for citing print and electronic sources
ISBN: 9781589839656Publication Date: 2014-11-20
Getting Started
Consult the resources listed below to get started researching a course paper or thesis. There are many more resources listed elsewhere in this Resource Guide. Please contact Anne Knafl, the Subject Specialist featured in the right-hand column, to arrange for a research consultation.
Tip: As you read, always check the notes and bibliography to find publications related to your topic.
- Library Resources for Students in Bible, Reception, and Jewish StudiesZoom recording from 10/6/2023
- Biblical Studies Orientation 2023slides from "Library Resources for Students in Bible, Reception, and Jewish Studies"
Learn More about a Topic
Consult a reference source, such as a Companion, Handbook or Encyclopedia, to gain broad knowledge about a topic and the major scholarly trends surrounding it.
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- Context of Scripture Online This link opens in a new window
Old Testament Pseudepigrapha by ISBN: 9780385096300Publication Date: 1983-1985Expansions of the "Old Testament" and legends, wisdom and philosophical literature, prayers, psalms and odes, and fragments of lost Judeo-Hellenistic works.
Finding Books
The University of Chicago Library has a very strong collection of scholarly books. Try a basic keyword search on your topic to find books. Too many results? Try Advanced Search and search in Subject or Title.
Tip: Sort by "Date Descending" to see the most recent publications
- University of Chicago Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
- WorldCat (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
Finding Articles
Individual journal articles are not indexed in the Library catalog, only the journal title. To find journal articles on your topic you will need to consult a separate database.
Tip: JSTOR is great for searching across multiple disciplines, but has limited content for individual areas. To find a broad range of articles within a specific area you will need to consult a subject specific database.
- Articles Plus This link opens in a new window
- ATLA Religion with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
- New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Building Your Bibliography
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFor University of Chicago settings for Google Scholar, click here.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
- SBL HANDBOOK OF STYLE Explanations, Clarifications, and ExpansionsBlog with updates
- The SBL Handbook of Style by
The definitive source for how to write and publish in the field of biblical studies The long-awaited second edition of the essential style manual for writing and publishing in biblical studies and related fields includes key style changes, updated and expanded abbreviation and spelling-sample lists, a list of archaeological site names, material on qur'anic sources, detailed information on citing electronic sources, and expanded guidelines for the transliteration and transcription of seventeen ancient languages. Features: Expanded lists of abbreviations for use in ancient Near Eastern, biblical, and early Christian studies Information for transliterating seventeen ancient languages Exhaustive examples for citing print and electronic sources
ISBN: 9781589839656Publication Date: 2014-11-20
- Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new window
Citation Management (Zotero, Endnote)
Use a citation management tool, such as Zotero or Endnote, to collect, organize and annotate your references and to create notes and bibliographies.
Tip: Currently, Zotero is the only management tool that supports Hebrew unicode fonts.
- Citation Management(Zotero, EndNote Web)
Subject Specialist
Useful Information
Find It!
When searching databases, the 
button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..
Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".
Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.