Library Guides: Biblical Studies: Articles & Journals

How do I Find Journal Articles?

There are several different approaches to finding journal articles, depending on your starting point.

1. If you are looking for a known item (you know the author, article title, journal title, date, volume, etc.):

Try Articles Plus. For instance, search for the title of the journal and click the "Find It" button to get access.
Search the Library Catalog for the journal title and use the "Find It" button

2. If you are exploring a topic, use an article index such as ATLA Religion Database. This approach is more comprehensive than going to JSTOR.

3. If you are looking for a particular journal online, search the Library's e-journal index.

Resources for Finding Articles

When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send interlibrary loan orders to the ILL Office for items that the Library does not own.

ATLA Religion with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS) includes more than 580+ full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries. Atlas PLUS includes all of the titles in Atla’s original full-text product, AtlaSerials (Atlas), and 200+ additional full-text titles.
Index to Jewish Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This database provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
For University of Chicago settings for Google Scholar, click here.
L'Année philologique This link opens in a new window
Indexes all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, linguistics, archaeology, epigraphy and numismatics, history, philosophy, science, and technology.
New Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology. The database has become an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 38,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 13,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
Old Testament Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
Selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages.
Religious and Theological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides objective summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology. Lists a wide variety of periodical literature, including Christian, Jewish, and other World religions. Provides English language abstracts of articles in English,
Semantics of Ancient Hebrew Database This link opens in a new window
The project aims to provide a structured and critical survey of scholarly literature on the vocabulary of classical Hebrew. The project is in progress.

Online Journal Collections

Here are some collections of online journals, but if you're exploring a topic or a specific biblical passage, I suggest using a journal article index such as ATLA Religion Database, Old Testament Abstracts, or RAMBI.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. There are now over 8000 journals in the directory.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Coverage is from as early as 1665.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of over 100 scholarly journals published by university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new window

Important Journals In Bible

Most of these titles are available in a combination of print and electronic formats.

Vetus Testamentum This link opens in a new window

Browsing Bible Journals

Hebrew Bible journals in Browzine
Browse current issues of journals available through Browzine (does not include all the journals to which the Library subscribes).
Bible journals in UChicago catalog
A list of the journals tagged with the subject heading "Bible--periodicals" in our catalog
Journals in Biblical Studies
A list of all the journals with a BS (Biblical Studies) call number in the UChicago Library catalog.

Subject Specialist

Anne Knafl

she/her

Send Email

Contact:

Joseph Regenstein Library, Room 462

773-702-8442

Subjects: Humanities, Jewish Studies, Philosophy, Religion

Helpful Tools

Hebrew Bible Ancient Israel journals
A list of important HBAI journals and how to access their content. Created by Simeon Chavel and Jessica DeGrado.

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.