This guide provides upper level University of Chicago law students with the tools you need to succeed. Each page in this guide is designed to highlight a curated selection of resources to help aid your understanding of core legal topics. The topics selected correspond to core upper level classes offered at UChicago Law. For a comprehensive list of all resources offered through the D'Angelo Law Library, please visit our website.
As always, remember that D'Angelo Librarians are here to help you out in any way we can throughout your law school career. Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can help you in any way!
International Law Study Supplements
Principles of International Law, 3rd ed. by
This fully-updated third edition provides a comprehensive survey of public international law, with useful references throughout to current events, classic and contemporary cases and scholarship. It is designed as a stand-alone text or as a complement to all the major casebooks on the topic. The first part of the book addresses how international law is created, interpreted and enforced; the second part focuses on the interface of international law and national law; and the final part covers key subject matter areas: human rights, injury to aliens, the law of the sea, international environmental law, international criminal law, and the use of force.
Publication Date: 2018
Public International Law in a Nutshell, 6th ed. by
This Sixth Edition of Public International Law in a Nutshell is a concise yet accurate summary of the field of public international law, covering its basic sources, actors, and procedures, and key subject matter areas, such as human rights, the law of the sea, international environmental law, the law of war, and U.S. foreign relations law. This edition is fully updated to include recent treaties, institutions, and Supreme Court decisions. The book is intended to be helpful for students, scholars, and practitioners alike.
Publication Date: 2018
International Law Frameworks by
This fully updated, go-to treatise explores the historical evolution and contemporary operation of international law. Still direct and incisive, it offers an accessible and yet nuanced text for a variety of audiences, including university and law school students, practitioners, researchers, and others who want to know what international law is and what it does in the twenty-first century. The fifth edition weaves in-depth considerations of key cases, core disputes, and essential international agreements into a broad overview of all important aspects of the subject. Readers will find an authoritative discussion of traditional topics such as the sources of international law and the methods of international dispute resolution alongside consideration of pressing issues such as cross-border cyberattacks, climate change, and contemporary challenges to the international legal order. As a new feature, each chapter is followed by questions for discussion, in addition to up-to-date suggestions for further reading.
Publication Date: 2021
Examples and Explanations: International Law, 2nd ed. by
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
Publication Date: 2014
International Human Rights in a Nutshell, 5th ed. by
An updated and expanded edition of the widely used overview of international human rights law for students, practitioners, and professors. Provides a comprehensive overview of the international, regional and domestic human rights systems. Reviews recent developments in the field, including in the UN, European, OAS and African human rights systems and the adoption of new conventions such as those on forced disappearances and persons with disabilities. Includes chapters on the treatment of human rights treaties and norms within the U.S. legal system as well as on the role of non-governmental human rights organizations. Discover the history behind international human rights, including the institutional context from which they evolved. An unparalleled resource for beginning students as well as more experienced practitioners.
Publication Date: 2017
Black Letter Outline on International Human Rights by
Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by an experienced law school professor who is recognized national authorities in their subject area.
Publication Date: 2022
Principles of International Business Transactions by
The Fifth Edition of Principles of International Business Transactions provides a more comprehensive examination of the law relevant to the subject matter and detailed citations to caselaw and other supporting authorities. It can be used by courts and legal practitioners as a resource for research and analysis, as well as by students and professors as a supplement for any international business law course. It tracks the authors' popular problem-oriented coursebook, International Business Transactions. Coverage moves sequentially from structuring international sales transactions to international sales law and letters of credit to regulation of international trade to transfers of technology to foreign investment to international business dispute settlement.
Publication Date: 2022
Principles of International Trade Beyond Trump, Including the World Trade Organization, Technology Transfers, Import/Export/Customs Law, Free Trade, 3rd ed. by
International Trade Beyond Trump commences with coverage of global trade economics, issues, and patterns, focusing particularly on World Trade Organization (WTO) and trade agreements in the disruptive Trump tariff war era, including Trump blockage of WTO dispute settlement. Coverage of customs, imports and exports, foreign corrupt practices, and trade remedy responses to import competition follow. Technology transfers across borders and free trade during the Trump presidency are detailed. Trade policy alternatives beyond Trump are discussed and highlighted as Biden Impacts throughout this book. Principles of International Trade Beyond Trump can be used in connection with any international trade or international business transactions coursebook, or on its own. Key international trade documents, citations and links are included.
Publication Date: 2021
International Project Finance in a Nutshell, 3rd ed. by
The book provides a basic introduction to the legal and financial issues that arise at each stage of a project finance transaction. It contains a comprehensive overview of the concept of project finance and includes extensive coverage of the overall legal structure and the key clauses in both project and finance documents. It also has chapters on project preparation, procurement, sources of finance, financial and credit support issues, restructuring, and investment dispute settlement. The Third Edition includes new material on (1) recent guidelines in the environmental, social and human rights fields that impact project preparation and implementation; (2) the huge increase in Chinese financing of infrastructure as part of China's Belt and Road Initiative; (3) the impact of the discontinuation of the use of LIBOR as the benchmark for syndicated loan pricing; (4) new developments in the financing of renewable energy projects; (5) the general impact of the 2017 changes in US tax law on international project finance transactions; and (6) recent developments in the use of investor-state arbitration as a means to resolve investment disputes. The book and its appendices also feature useful checklists for risk analysis, due diligence, concession and loan agreement terms, credit support, methods of evaluating source of finance, tax and accounting issues, and sources of additional reference material on project finance.
Publication Date: 2020
International Trade Law, Including Beyond Trump, in a Nutshell, 8th ed. by
This Nutshell examines the economics and rules governing international trade, with special emphasis on global and U.S. trade agreements in the disruptive Trump tariff war era. After introductory chapters on trade transactions and cross-border enterprises, it analyzes the World Trade Organization (WTO) package of agreements, Trump blockage of WTO dispute settlement, regulation of imports (including customs law), and trade remedy responses to import competition. Export controls, foreign corrupt practices, preferential free trade and customs union agreements, technology transfers and a chapter on Beyond Trump and Trade follow. Trade policy alternatives are discussed and highlighted as Biden Impacts throughout this Nutshell.
Publication Date: 2021
International Investment Arbitration in a Nutshell by
Foreign direct investment ("FDI") is a key pillar of the world's global economy. International investment law comprises the rules regarding the protection of investors engaging in FDI activities. This book summarizes the current legal regime of international investment protection and the challenges that lie ahead of it. Its ambition is to provide a concise introduction to the key substantive and procedural standards of international investment protection.
Publication Date: 2019
The USMCA (NAFTA Re-Negotiated) and Its Business Implications in a Nutshell, 6th ed. by
No lawyer or business operating in North America can escape the significance of NAFTA and its successor, the USMCA agreement of 2018. This Nutshell introduces students, lawyers, government officials and business persons to the law and economics of North American free trade. It first examines the origins, operation and impact of NAFTA 1994. The changes made by the USMCA agreement of 2018, and their implications for business, are explored in detail. In preparing this Nutshell, we have attempted to address the interests not only of North Americans, but also persons located outside the region who are concerned about the externalities of North American free trade, intellectual property and foreign investment law.
Publication Date: 2020
Foreign Investment Law Including Investor-State Arbitrations in a Nutshell by
Home country investors merge or acquire existing businesses or establish new companies in host countries. Investors purchase stocks and bonds on foreign exchanges, and sometimes foreign sovereign debt. The number of transactions and sums involved are staggering. Unlike international trade law governed significantly by the World Trade Organization, no uniform body of foreign investment law exists. Hence foreign investment law is predominantly national, occasionally regional, in character. There are many intriguing variations on foreign investment law around the world. Foreign Investment Law including Investor-State Arbitrations in a Nutshell, 3d reviews the law, practice, regulation and dispute settlement of foreign investment. Following the Nutshell tradition, citations are minimized creating a book that reads easily. Students, academics, lawyers, government officials and people in business will find it useful. This Nutshell introduces foreign investment entry and operational control patterns, investment-related technology transfers, and expropriation issues. It also explores the multitude of bilateral investment treaties (BITs). Investment regimes under free trade agreements (FTAs) are considered, with special attention to the dynamic rules of NAFTA 1994 and its USMCA 2020 successor. Controversial foreign investor-host state arbitration awards and systems are closely examined. Investing in China, Europe and North America are presented as "case studies".
Publication Date: 2022
Free Trade Agreements, from GATT 1947 Through NAFTA Re-Negotiated 2018 by
Free trade agreements (FTAs) now dominate global trade. This dominance is likely to continue for many years on every continent. Already, well over half of all international trade takes place under FTAs. Free Trade Agreements 2d examines the origins of free trade agreements (FTAs) and customs unions (CUs) under Article 24 of the GATT. Article 24 permits but attempts to regulate their creation, an effort that failed early on. A sleeping giant for decades, FTAs were re-awakened by the path-breaking Canada-U.S. FTA of 1989. In 1994, NAFTA triggered an onslaught of diverse and complex FTAs around the globe, in time largely overwhelming the impact of the establishment of the World Trade Organization in 1995. The hostility of President Trump to existing trade agreements like the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP-12), the WTO, the EU, the U.S.-Korea FTA, and NAFTA caused the number of FTAs to increase. America's trade partners and competitors rushed to secure trade deals not involving the USA. TPP-11, the Japan-EU FTA, the expanded Mexico-EU FTA, the MERCOSUR-EU FTA, and the China-driven Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP 2020) in Asia provide excellent examples. President Trump ultimately accepted the re-negotiation of NAFTA, resulting in the United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement (USMCA), which took effect July 1, 2021. The completion of BREXIT in 2020 caused the UK to seek and obtain dozens of FTA agreements with EU FTA partners and independently with Australia and others. President Biden has shown little interest in new U.S. FTAs, not even with Britain. All of this, and more, is covered in this book. Designed for a global audience, students, professors, lawyers, government officials and people in business interested in the law, opportunities, and economics of free trade agreements will find it useful. Active links in the e-book and downloadable versions of this Concise Hornbook are provided throughout.
Publication Date: 2022
International Sales Law - CISG - in a Nutshell by
Knowing about the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG) means to know about the law relating to international import/export contracts applicable to more than ¾ of world trade. This book provides a valuable guide to the understanding of both the fundamentals of that law and how it is interpreted in various countries, thus making it a helpful tool not only for students but also for practitioners. The 3rd Edition is updated throughout with many new decision citations, including decisions rendered in 2022. This Edition also gives proper account of the interaction between the CISG and other recently amended instruments such as the ICC Incoterms (2020) and the ICC force majeure and hardship model clauses (2020).
Publication Date: 2022
International Business Transactions in a Nutshell, 11th ed. by
This work examines the law and practices relevant to the principal forms of international business and commercial transactions. It includes chapters on negotiating business transactions; the law governing international sales of goods; structuring international sales transactions; the function and substance of international commercial terms; the law governing the international transportation of goods; financing international business transactions, especially through letters of credit; electronic transactions and the protection of data privacy; technology transfers; the initiation, operation, and termination of, as well as the limitations imposed on, foreign investments; property takings, including the options for protecting against and remedies for such actions; the extraterritorial regulation of international business; anti-corruption law; and the resolution of international disputes, whether through litigation in domestic court or through international arbitration.
Publication Date: 2020
Other International Resources
CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) has published over 1,000 computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. See a reference librarian for your free CALI activation code!
International Arbitration
Morkin
International Finance
Dam
- Winter 2013 Exam - Student Answer 1
- Winter 2012 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 2011 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2010 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2008 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 2007 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Spring 2006 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 1999 Exam - Memo
International Human Rights
Eric Posner
Flores
Ginsburg
- Spring 2019 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2018 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2015 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2012 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2009 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Fall 2009 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
International Investment Law
Ginsburg
- Fall 2019 Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2015 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
Ginsburg and Chen
Public International Law
Abebe
- Winter 2016 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 2012 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 2010 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
Eric Posner
- Fall 2019 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Fall 2012 Exam - Student Answer 1
- Spring 2009 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2005 Exam - Student Answer 1
- Fall 2003 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
Ginsburg
- Fall 2021 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2020 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2016 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2014 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 2011 Exam
- Winter 2008 Exam - Memo
- Fall 2007 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
OConnell
Verdier
International Litigation
Wood
International Organizations
Abebe
International Taxation
Roin
- Winter 2015 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2013 Exam - Memo
- Spring 2012 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 2009 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 2007 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 2006 Exam - Memo
- Spring 2005 Exam - Student Answer 1
- Winter 2004 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 2003 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2002 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1
- Spring 2001 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Spring 2000 Exam - Memo
International Trade
Abebe
Chilton
Questions?
D'Angelo Comment Box
