This guide provides upper level University of Chicago law students with the tools you need to succeed. Each page in this guide is designed to highlight a curated selection of resources to help aid your understanding of core legal topics. The topics selected correspond to core upper level classes offered at UChicago Law. For a comprehensive list of all resources offered through the D'Angelo Law Library, please visit our website.
As always, remember that D'Angelo Librarians are here to help you out in any way we can throughout your law school career. Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can help you in any way!
Criminal Procedure Resources
Below, you will find a curated selection of the leading Criminal Procedure study supplements. To view the full range of supplements available through D'Angelo Law Library subscriptions, see below:
West Study Aids (Criminal Procedure) | Lexis Digital Library (Criminal Procedure) | Aspen Learning Library
Criminal Procedure-Adjudication by
This readable book walks step-by-step through the criminal adjudication process, from the post-arrest bail decision and the right to counsel through the post-trial direct appeal. It analyzes the main cases and statutes in each area, showing how the doctrine has developed and its current state. The book also places great emphasis on the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, working through their text in a clear, understandable way, explaining not only the law but the strategic issues that a lawyer might face. This is the ideal book for the student who wants both a broad overview of how the parts of the process fit together and enough detail to understand the thorny problems that are most likely to arise on an exam and in practice. This book works equally well as a stand-alone text or as a supplement to a traditional casebook.
Publication Date: 2016
Criminal Procedure, Constitutional Limitations in a Nutshell, 9th ed. by
This nutshell is intended for use by law students of constitutional criminal procedure. It is a succinct analysis of the constitutional standards of major current significance. This is not a text on criminal procedure, but rather about constitutional criminal procedure. It avoids describing the non-constitutional standards applied in each state and federally. The text provides the scope and highlights you need to excel in understanding this field. This will enable you to answer exam questions more quickly and accurately, and enhance your skills as an attorney.
Publication Date: 2019
Glannon Guide to Criminal Procedure, 5th ed. by
Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.
Publication Date: 2021
Glannon Guide to Criminal Procedure: Learning Criminal Procedure Through Multiple Choice Questions and Analysis, 4th ed. by
Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.
Publication Date: 2018
Understanding Criminal Procedure, Vol. 2: Adjudication, 4th ed. by
Understanding Criminal Procedure is primarily designed for law students and is organized and written so that both students and professors can use it with confidence to better prepare for courses and improve classroom dialogue. The two- volume format allows you to purchase one or both volumes based on the topics covered in your course. Already cited extensively in scholarly literature and judicial opinions, scholars, practicing lawyers and courts will also find the expanded content of this newest edition indispensable. Inside you'll find extensive coverage of the most important United States Supreme Court cases and discussion of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, federal statutes, and lower federal and state court cases. Overarching policy issues are considered extensively, and some of the hottest debates in the field are considered with high-quality and objective analysis. The user-friendly organization of the text helps you develop a comprehensive understanding of broad topics, or refine your focus with intuitive subsections that help you find answers to pressing questions more efficiently. Citations to important scholarship, both classic and recent, help you to expand and refine your research on specific topics with ease, and footnotes include cross-references within the text to help you easily move to different chapters and subsections to understand how topics are inter-related. This first volume, Investigation, is intended for use in introductory criminal procedure courses focusing primarily or exclusively on police investigative process and constitutional concerns. A chapter on the defendant's right to counsel at trial and appeal and other non-police-practice issues is included in both volumes to allow greater flexibility based on the design of particular courses. The second volume, Adjudication covers the criminal process after the police investigation ends and the adjudicative process commences. It is most useful in more
Publication Date: 2012
Advanced Criminal Procedure in a Nutshell, 3rd ed. by
Designed for use as supplemental reading in an advanced criminal procedure course on the post-investigation processing of a criminal case. Includes a clear, concise, and thorough narrative explanation of the issues involved in the prosecution and adjudication of a criminal case, from the decision to prosecute and pre-trial release through to sentencing, appeal and collateral attack. Ideal reference for students and practitioners.
Publication Date: 2016
Mastering Criminal Procedure, Vol. 1, 2nd ed. by
Mastering Criminal Procedure, Volume 1: The Investigative Stage provides a concise treatment of the relevant federal constitutional doctrines that guide and constrain interactions between the police and individuals in the investigation of criminal conduct. The book provides an overview of the criminal process and the constitutional sources of the criminal procedure rules, including different approaches to constitutional interpretation. The Second Edition updates the analysis with the latest Supreme Court decisions.
The focus is on the Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendments as they relate to the warrant requirement for searches, exceptions that allow warrantless searches, the seizure of evidence and individuals, and the interrogation of suspects. The book covers the primary topics that arise in the typical law school criminal procedure course, including when the warrant requirement applies, the process for obtaining a valid warrant, the operation of the exclusionary rule, the range of exceptions to the warrant requirement, and arrests and other seizures of individuals and resultant searches of the person.
The authors have experience as prosecutors and defense counsel, and have written extensively in the fields of criminal law, criminal procedure, and evidence.
This book is part of the Carolina Academic Press Mastering Series edited by Russell L. Weaver, University of Louisville School of Law.
Publication Date: 2014
Mastering Criminal Procedure, Vol. 2, 2nd ed. by
Mastering Criminal Procedure, Volume 2: The Adjudicatory Stage focuses on the process of a criminal case from the filing of charges against a defendant through the pre-trial and trial stages of the prosecution, and then post-conviction proceedings. The Second Edition provides updated treatment of the latest Supreme Court decisions along with a range of statutes and rules that govern the process by which a criminal charge is adjudicated.
A number of constitutional protections apply in a prosecution, including the right to a jury trial, confrontation of witnesses, the prohibition on excessive bail, and protection from double jeopardy. Many procedural rules are equally important to the judicial process, such as discovery rights, jurisdiction and venue, and post-conviction proceedings, including habeas corpus. This broad range of topics is explained clearly and succinctly to allow students to master the key concepts and rules related to the adjudication of a criminal prosecution.
The authors have experience as prosecutors and defense counsel, and have written extensively in the fields of criminal law, criminal procedure, and evidence.
This book is part of the Carolina Academic Press Mastering Series edited by Russell L. Weaver, University of Louisville School of Law.
Publication Date: 2014
Examples and Explanations for Criminal Procedure II: From Bail to Jail, 4th ed. by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Publication Date: 2018
Examples and Explanations for Criminal Procedure: The Constitution and the Police, 9th ed. by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Publication Date: 2019
Principles of Criminal Procedure, 7th ed. by
This book gives you everything you need to know about basic criminal procedure principles, presented in a no-nonsense fashion. It includes references to recent, relevant decisions handed down by the United States Supreme Court. In addition, Principles of Criminal Procedure contains helpful study devices such as "focal points" at the beginning of each chapter, and "points to remember" at the end of each section. This is the only study aid you will need to help you understand basic criminal procedure principles in U.S. law.
Publication Date: 2021
Black Letter Outline on Basic Criminal Procedure, 8th ed. by
Description Coming Soon!
Publication Date: 2021
Emanuel CrunchTime for Criminal Procedure, 9th ed. by
When it's exam time you need the right information in the right format to study efficiently and effectively. Emanuel® CrunchTime is the perfect tool for exam studying. With flowcharts and capsule summaries of major points of law and critical issues, as well as exam tips for identifying common traps and pitfalls, sample exam and essay questions with model answers - you will be prepared for your next big test. Here's why you will need Emanuel® CrunchTime to help you ace your exams: Perfect for the visual learner: The flow charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. Featured capsule summaries help you quickly review key concepts not just before the exam, but throughout the semester Exams Tips recap the most commonly tested issues and fact patterns.
Publication Date: 2017
Criminal Procedure, 6th ed. by
This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. All major themes are covered, with emphasis upon those basic issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. All Hornbook sections are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
Publication Date: 2016
Principles of Criminal Procedure: Investigation, 2nd ed. by
This book, for use in connection with a course focused upon crime detection and investigation, examines various investigative procedures, including search and seizure, network surveillance, entrapment, interrogation, lineup and photo identification, and grand jury investigation; describes the scope and administration of exclusionary rules relating to those procedures; and also discusses the right to counsel. All sections in the book are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' seven-volume Criminal Procedure treatise containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
Publication Date: 2009
CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) has published over 1,000 computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. See a reference librarian for your free CALI activation code!
Criminal Procedure I
Davidson
Epstein
- Spring 2014 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Spring 2013 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
Outlines: Undated / Undated (short)
Fairley
- Winter 2023 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2022 Exam
- Winter 2020 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2020 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
Outlines: 2020
Huq
- Spring 2018 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2014 Exam
- Fall 2013 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3 - Student Answer 4
Outlines: 2013 / 2013 / 2013 / 2014 / Undated / Undated / Undated / Undated (attack) / Undated (attack) / Undated (attack)
McAdams
- Winter 2021 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2019 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2016 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2013 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2010 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
O'Malley
Rappaport
- Spring 2022 Exam
- Spring 2021 Exam - Student Answer 1
- Spring 2019 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2019 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 2018 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 2017 Exam - Student Answer 1
- Spring 2016 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
Outlines: 2019 / 2019 (short)
Seidman
Criminal Procedure II
Fairley
Siegler
- Spring 2023 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2021 Exam
- Spring 2020 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3 - Student Answer 4
- Spring 2019 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2018 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2011 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3 - Student Answer 4
- Fall 2009 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
Criminal Procedure III
Mortara
Questions?
D'Angelo Comment Box
