It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Upper Level Success Portal: Secured Transactions
This guide will serve as a portal to research resources to assist upper level UChicago Law students with their coursework.
This guide provides upper level University of Chicago law students with the tools you need to succeed. Each page in this guide is designed to highlight a curated selection of resources to help aid your understanding of core legal topics. The topics selected correspond to core upper level classes offered at UChicago Law. For a comprehensive list of all resources offered through the D'Angelo Law Library, please visit our website.
As always, remember that D'Angelo Librarians are here to help you out in any way we can throughout your law school career. Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can help you in any way!
Gilbert Law Summaries on Secured Transactions, 13th ed. by Douglas J. WhaleyThe secured transactions outline discusses coverage of Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) Article 9 and the creation of a security interest, including attachment, security agreements, value, and the debtor's rights in the collateral. Also included are perfection, filing, priorities, bankruptcy proceedings and Article 9, default proceedings, and bulk transfers.
Publication Date: 2013
Emanuel Law Outlines: Secured Transactions, by Frederick M. Hart; Nathalie MartinThe most trusted name in law school outlines, Emanuel Law Outlines were developed while Steve Emanuel was a student at Harvard Law and were the first to approach each course from the point of view of the student. Invaluable for use throughout your course and again at exam time, Emanuel Law Outlines are well-correlated to all major casebooks to help you to create your own outlines. Sophisticated yet easy to understand, each guide includes both capsule and detailed explanations of critical issues, topics, and black letter law you must know to master the course. Quiz Yourself Q&As, Essay Q&As, and Exam Tips give you ample opportunity to test your knowledge throughout the semester and leading up to the exam. Every title in the series is frequently updated and reviewed against new developments and recent cases covered in the leading casebooks. Emanuel Law Outlines provide a comprehensive breakdown of the law, more sweeping than most, for your entire study process. For more than thirty years, Emanuel Law Outlines have been the most trusted name in law school outlines. Here s why: Developed by Steve Emanuel when he was a law school student at Harvard, Emanuel Law Outlines became popular with other law students and spawned an industry of reliable study aids. (Having passed the California bar as well, Steve Emanuel is now a member of the New York, Connecticut, Maryland, and Virginia bars.) Each Outline is valuable throughout the course and again at exam time. Outline chapters provide comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law covered in the course and major casebooks, written in a way you can easily understand. The Quiz Yourself Q&A in each chapter and the Essay Q&A at the end provide ample opportunity to test your knowledge throughout the semester. Exam Tips alert you to the issues that commonly pop up on exams and to the fact patterns commonly used to test those items. The Capsule Summary an excellent exam preparation tool provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the course. The comprehensive coverage is more sweeping than most outlines. Each Emanuel Law Outline is correlated to the leading casebooks. Every title is frequently updated and reviewed against new developments and recent cases covered in the leading casebooks. Tight uniformity of writing style and approach means that if you use one of these guides, you can be confident that the others will be of similar quality.
Publication Date: 2010
Examples and Explanations for Secured Transactions, 7th ed. by James BrookA favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Publication Date: 2019
Principles of Secured Transactions, 2nd ed. by James White; Robert Summers; Daniel Barnhizer; Wayne Barnes; Franklin SnyderSecured transactions in personal property are ubiquitous in modern business practice and make up a key part of modern commercial law. This volume, a streamlined version of the famous White & Summers Uniform Commercial Code practitioners text--the standard reference relied on by courts and business lawyers for nearly half a century--offers a succinct but in-depth introduction to Article 9 of the UCC. It is specifically designed to help students in the law school Secured Transactions course navigate through the Article 9 maze. This new edition incorporates the new amendments to Article 9 and related Code provisions, and updates the text in light of modern practice.
Publication Date: 2018
Black Letter Outline on Secured Transactions, 2nd ed. by Linda RuschThis text places the law of secured transactions within the context of debt collection. The book:Comprehensively explains the scope of UCC Article 9 including its exclusionsProvides an in-depth description of the Article 9 rules regarding attachment, perfection, and enforcement of security interests and agricultural liensContains many examples
Publication Date: 2012
Secured Transactions in a Nutshell, 5th ed. by Richard B. HagedornHagedorn's Secured Transactions in a Nutshell provides extensive coverage of the 1999 version of UCC Article 9, now enacted by all states. Coverage of the 1972 version of Article 9 and pre-code law is included to provide historical perspective. The text covers: The scope of Article 9 The security agreement and attachment of the security interest Relationship of the debtor and secured party prior to default Perfection of the security interest by filing and other means Multistate choice of law and perfection issues Priority of the secured party and others in and out of bankruptcy Default and enforcement of the security interest
Publication Date: 2007
Mastering Secured Transactions (UCC Article 9), 2nd ed. by Richard H. NowkaThis book is a comprehensive resource for studying the sections of Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code. It offers a clear and understandable discussion of the sections and concepts of Article 9 and includes abundant examples. It examines every aspect of a secured transaction, including the scope of Article 9, attachment and perfection of a security interest, priority among competing security interests, default, choice-of-law rules, and assignment of rights. The chapters follow the organization of Article 9, making it easy for the reader to focus on particular concepts or study the book from cover to cover. The majority of jurisdictions have adopted the 2010 Amendments to Article 9 and the book explains the amendments, in addition to providing explanations of the rules of pre-amendment Article 9.
This book is part of the Carolina Academic Press Mastering Series edited by Russell L. Weaver, University of Louisville School of Law.
Publication Date: 2013
Glannon Guide to Secured Transactions, 3rd ed. by Scott J. BurnhamLaw school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.
Publication Date: 2017
Understanding Secured Transactions, 5th ed. by William H. Lawrence; William H. Henning; R. Wilson FreyermuthThis Understanding treatise provides students with an analysis of the underlying rationales of Article 9 of the Uniform Commercial Code, the federal Bankruptcy Code as it relates to Article 9, and other relevant state and federal legislation. Familiarity with these rationales is critical for a true understanding of the law of secured transactions. The organization of this text is largely based upon the traditional five-part approach to the law of secured transactions: Scope of the article; Attachment of security interests; Perfection of security interests; Priorities among competing claimants (including extensive treatment of the effects of bankruptcy on security interests); and Enforcement of security interests. In addition, this treatise explains in practical terms the essential elements of different types of secured transactions, giving students a perspective that is crucial to their ability to understand how Article 9 functions in the real world. For example, it describes the structure and use of financing arrangements that are made possible through such techniques as asset-based securitization, mortgage warehouse lending, terminal and field warehousing, financing of accounts, factoring of accounts, and floor planning, as well as other methods of transacting business. The Fifth Edition was necessitated by a significant set of amendments to revised Article 9 promulgated by the sponsors in 2010. The amendments have been enacted in over half the states, with a deferred effective date of July 1, 2013. p> Entries in the Table of Contents include a descriptive word phrase, along with relevant section numbers of the UCC and the Bankruptcy Code. The Table of Contents does not cite all the provisions that might be relevant, but only the most fundamental provisions relating to the particular topic. This approach should aid students using the book as a supplemental text by enabling them to find the relevant discussion based on either