Library Guides: Upper Level Success Portal: Administrative Law

Administrative Law Resources

Below, you will find a curated selection of the leading Administrative Law study supplements. To view the full range of supplements available through D'Angelo Law Library subscriptions, see below:

West Study Aids (Administrative Law) | Lexis Digital Library (Administrative Law) | Aspen Learning Library

Administrative Law by Alfred Aman, Jr.; Landyn Rookard; William Mayton This treatise provides a comprehensively updated analysis of administrative law in the United States, placing special emphasis on topics undergoing significant evolution or transformation in the Supreme Court and federal courts of appeals. These include, for example, the latest developments in Congress's authority to delegate legislative authority to agencies, deference to agency legal interpretations, the so-called "major questions doctrine," modern due process issues, and the presidential appointments power. The fundamental purposes of this book are to assess and explain the current state of the core doctrines of administrative law, place the most important aspects of those doctrines in a historical context, and identify important trends that can help readers understand how the doctrines may continue to evolve. The book is intended to serve practitioners, scholars, and students of administrative law.
Publication Date: 2023
Emanuel CrunchTime for Administrative Law, 5th ed. by Jack M. Beerman Emanuel CrunchTime provides the right information, in the right format, at the right time to prepare for exams. Based on the trusted Emanuel Law Outlines developed by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime skillfully employs flow charts so you can walk step-by-step through the major principles and topics in the course in a pattern that can be used to analyze any exam question. Abundant tips and ample review features help you approach the final with confidence. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts, and you can test your knowledge by working through the many Short-Answer Q&A s. CrunchTime lets you practice your essay exam skills as well. Exams Tips based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested. CrunchTime study aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams. Developed for students by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime titles provide the trusted guidance of Emanuel Law Outlines in a tighter, briefer format for quick review at exam time. Flow Charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts. You can test your knowledge by working through the ample Short-Answer Q&A s, which are organized by topic. Exams Tips often based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested on exams for you. They explore fact patterns typically used to test those issues. CrunchTime allows you to practice your essay exam skills by answering questions asked on past exams. Flowcharts help you craft compelling essays, and you can compare your answers to the samples provided. CrunchTime aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams. Uniform in writing style and approach, you can be confident that any title in the series is of consistent quality. Every title is frequently updated and reviewed against new developments and recent cases covered in the leading casebooks.
Publication Date: 2020
Friedman's Administrative Law by Joel Wm Friedman Practice makes perfect! Friedman's Practice Series helps you develop the skills for spotting issues and preparing A+ answers for your next exam. Real laws school exams test your knowledge of the key concepts and rules with a collection of essay and multiple-choice questions. Set up to mirror actual exams, the series features long essay questions as well as some that are relatively short and medium-length, giving you great practice in the length and variation of questions on the final. Friedman's is one of the only series to fully emulate complete essay examinations - they are as close to actual exam-questions that you can find. And as Friedman's texts are compiled by professors who wrote the exams, you get sound advice as well as keen insight on what instructors look for in grading your answers. Friedman's Practice Series titles test your knowledge with real law school exams. Test your knowledge of key concepts and rules with comprehensive essay and multiple-choice questions. Practice questions of various length prepare you for any exam. Experience actual exams! Get sound advice from the professors who wrote the exams. Find insight into what professors look for when grading.
Publication Date: 2010
Principles of Administrative Law, 3rd ed. by Keith Werhan This book provides an accessible, yet sophisticated treatment of the essential principles of administrative law. Topics covered include a history of the American administrative state; theories of agency behavior; separation of powers and procedural due process, as they are implicated by the administrative process; the procedural framework of the Administrative Procedure Act; formal adjudicatory procedure; informal rulemaking procedure; and the availability, timing, and scope of judicial review. The book includes charts and diagrams that assist the reader in visualizing the major elements of the administrative process.
Publication Date: 2018
Mastering Administrative Law, 2nd ed. by Linda D. Jellum Mastering Administrative Law is designed as a supplement to law school courses in Administrative Law or as an introduction to the subject for lawyers trained in other legal systems. The book explicitly and in plain language identifies the functions of the various principles of administrative law. To facilitate the mastery of topics, this book includes a Roadmap at the beginning of each chapter that provides readers with an overview of the material that will be covered; Checkpoints at the end of each chapter that reiterate what has been learned; and a Master Checklist at the end of the book that reinforces what has been covered and helps readers identify any areas that need review or further study.
Publication Date: 2018
Administrative Law, 3rd ed. by Richard Pierce, Jr. This mini-treatise discusses and analyzes principal concepts of administrative law and process, including the political and legal nature of administrative law; legislative control of administrative discretion; executive control of administrative discretion; judicial control of agency discretion (threshold issues, procedural issues, substantive issues); and access to private and public information.
Publication Date: 2020
Administrative Law and Process in a Nutshell, 6th ed. by Ronald Levin; Jeffrey Lubbers This book offers a concise, knowledgeable guide to administrative law. In straightforward, readable prose, the authors not only summarize the dominant statutes and case law in the area, but also discuss informal administrative processes and the background realities of the regulatory state. Students can use the book as a complement to any major casebook, and practitioners will also find it an excellent brief introduction to this complex and important subject.
Publication Date: 2016
Black Letter Outline on Administrative Law by Russell L. Weaver; William David Araiza Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. This outline covers: Rulemaking, Adjudications, Choice of Procedures and Nonlegislative Rules, The Availability of Judicial Review, Inspections, Reports & Subpoenas, Agency Structure, Public Access to Agency Processes, and Attorney's Fees.
Publication Date: 2022
Understanding Administrative Law, 6th ed. by William F. Fox This Understanding treatise is designed to help the reader grasp the fundamental concepts of administrative law. Understanding Administrative Law concentrates on the process of administrative decisionmaking but also deals with the substantive law of agencies when appropriate. As students progress through the course and later enter practice, they will find that substance and procedure become more and more intertwined and, in many instances, become almost inextricable. An awareness that there is no bright line between substance and procedure, particularly in the context of an administrative agency, is especially helpful to a thorough understanding of the subject. A good deal of the material in this book consists of recommendations and processes to identify administrative problems and mechanisms for organizing a reader's thinking when the problem is identified. Understanding Administrative Law highlights the manner in which a client's problem moves through the typical agency and the manner in which a lawyer copes with the various problems and issues encountered in representing clients before administrative agencies. In addition, this book contains a significant amount of material on trends in administrative law such as deregulation and regulatory reform. The Fifth Edition includes comprehensive references to recent cases and law review articles for readers who wish additional depth in any of the topics covered.
Publication Date: 2012
Examples and Explanations for Administrative Law, 6th ed. by William F. Funk; Richard H. Seamon A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Publication Date: 2020

CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) has published over 1,000 computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. See a reference librarian for your free CALI activation code!

Administrative Law Lessons