This guide provides upper level University of Chicago law students with the tools you need to succeed. Each page in this guide is designed to highlight a curated selection of resources to help aid your understanding of core legal topics. The topics selected correspond to core upper level classes offered at UChicago Law. For a comprehensive list of all resources offered through the D'Angelo Law Library, please visit our website.
As always, remember that D'Angelo Librarians are here to help you out in any way we can throughout your law school career. Please do not hesitate to let us know if we can help you in any way!
Trusts and Estates Resources
Below, you will find a curated selection of the leading Trusts and Estates study supplements. To view the full range of supplements available through D'Angelo Law Library subscriptions, see below:
West Study Aids (Trusts and Estates) | Lexis Digital Library (Trusts and Estates) | Aspen Learning Library
Examples and Explanations for Wills, Trusts, and Estates, 7th ed. by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Publication Date: 2018
Friedman's Wills, Trusts, and Estates by
Practice makes perfect! Friedman's Practice Series helps you develop the skills for spotting issues and preparing A+ answers for your next exam. Real laws school exams test your knowledge of the key concepts and rules with a collection of essay and multiple-choice questions. Set up to mirror actual exams, the series features long essay questions as well as some that are relatively short and medium-length, giving you great practice in the length and variation of questions on the final. Friedman's is one of the only series to fully emulate complete essay examinations - they are as close to actual exam-questions that you can find. And as Friedman's texts are compiled by professors who wrote the exams, you get sound advice as well as keen insight on what instructors look for in grading your answers. Friedman's Practice Series titles test your knowledge with real law school exams. Test your knowledge of key concepts and rules with comprehensive essay and multiple-choice questions. Practice questions of various length prepare you for any exam. Experience actual exams! Get sound advice from the professors who wrote the exams. Find insight into what professors look for when grading.
Publication Date: 2010
Uniform Probate Code and Uniform Trust Code in a Nutshell, 7th ed. by
Authoritative coverage provides detailed explanation of the provisions, definitions, and concepts of the UPC and the UTC. UPC topics covered include, e.g., probate jurisdiction of the courts; intestate succession; wills and donative transfers; probate of wills; and administration of estates. UTC topics include, e.g., creation, validity, modification, and termination of trusts; discretionary and revocable trusts; creditor's claims and spendthrift trusts; duties, powers and liability of trustees; and rights of persons dealing with trustees.
Publication Date: 2021
Wills, Trusts, and Future Interests, 4th ed. by
Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area.
Publication Date: 2012
Trusts and Estates, 4th ed. by
The Fourth Edition of Concepts and Insights on Trusts and Estates makes complex doctrinal rules easier to understand by exploring the history and rationale behind those rules. The analysis is thorough, and focuses both on common law doctrines and statutory reforms--with an emphasis on the Uniform Probate Code and the Uniform Trust Code. Each substantive chapter closes with a set of exam-like problems designed to test understanding of the material included in the chapter. The authors also include thorough solutions to each of these problems. This is the only book in the field that combines thorough doctrinal analysis with more than 60 review problems, each with complete solutions.
Publication Date: 2021
Burr's Wills and Trusts in a Nutshell, 6th by
The sixth edition of this book updates laws affecting intestate succession, wills, guardianships, and trusts. It introduces wills and trust terminology to the lay audience and summarizes the law included in the Uniform Probate Code, Uniform Trust Code, Uniform Principal and Income Act, Uniform Guardianship and Protective Proceedings Act, Uniform Prudent Investor Act, and the Restatement of Trusts. To illustrate legal issues this book utilizes problems arising from celebrity peccadilloes and well-known deaths, such as those of Abraham Lincoln, Elvis Presley, Michael Jackson, Prince, and the mother/daughter team of Debbie Reynolds and Carrie Fisher. The book can be adopted to supplement a traditional wills and trusts class or as the sole text for a seminar. With clarified language, the book is also accessible to the general public interested in learning more about this complex topic.
Publication Date: 2022
Understanding Trusts and Estates, 6th ed. by
Now in a new edition thoroughly updated by Susan Gary, this text retains the style and clear language that have kept generations of students engaged as they explore this intriguing field. Examples, charts, cross-references among similar concepts, and frameworks for analyzing problem areas all combine to give students the tools to deepen their understanding. From an opening declaring this course isn't about dead people to a closing that endorses advice from Snoopy, the book demonstrates how trusts and estates doctrines affect real people.
Publication Date: 2018
Estates, Future Interests and Powers of Appointment in a Nutshell, 6th ed. by
This comprehensive guide provides an overview of the rules and principles of estates and future interests, including concurrent estates, marital estates (including the modern elective share), and powers of appointment. It includes new innovations from the Restatement 3d of Property, modernizing the law of future interests and dramatically changing the Rule Against Perpetuities. With respect to powers of appointment, the book incorporates the clarifications and modernizations of the law in the Restatement 3d of Property and the Uniform Powers of Appointment Act (2013, with subsequent amendments). The book also has exercises, with answers at the back. Valuable for students in first-year Property and upper-year courses in Trusts and Estates.
Publication Date: 2018
Principles of Wills, Trusts and Estates by
Softbound - New, softbound print book.
Publication Date: 2011
Wills, Trusts and Estates Including Taxation and Future Interests, 6th ed. by
A comprehensive one-volume treatise on the law of trusts and estates written by leading experts. Among the topics covered are intestate succession, wills, nonprobate mechanisms, trusts, fiduciary administration, and choice of law. The book includes the very latest hot topics including electronic wills, trust decanting, directed trusts, asset protection trusts, and planning for modern families. The book incorporates the most recent provisions of the Uniform Probate Code, the Uniform Trust Code, and the many other uniform laws relating to the donative transfer of wealth. The book also includes an overview of the federal transfer tax laws. An essential guide for students and practitioners.
Publication Date: 2021
CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) has published over 1,000 computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. See a reference librarian for your free CALI activation code!
Trusts and Estates: Decedents' Estates
Gallanis
- Winter 2023 Exam
- Spring 2022 Exam - Memo
- Winter 2021 Exam - Memo
- Winter 2020 Exam - Memo
- Winter 2019 Exam - Memo
- Fall 2017 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1
Helsinger
- Winter 2008 Exam
- Winter 2007 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 2006 Exam
- Winter 2005 Exam - Student Answer 1
- Winter 2004 Exam
- Spring 2002 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 2000 Exam - Memo
Helsinger and Huhnke
- Winter 2012 Exam - Student Answer 1
- Winter 2011 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2009 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
Kelly
Questions?
D'Angelo Comment Box
