Central source for official US docs.
* Code of Federal Regulations
* Compilation of Presidential Documents
* Congressional Bills
* Congressional Documents
* Congressional Hearings
* Congressional Record
* Congressional Reports
* Economic Indicators
* Federal Register
* Public and Private Laws
* United States Code
and much more
Provides indexing for Congressional reports, documents, hearings, prints and other Congressional papers from 1789. Full text availability varies. Full text of hearings available from 1817. Provides full texts of Congressional committee reports since 1990; of House and Senate Documents since 1995; of selected committee prints since 1995; of bills since 1989; and of the Congressional Record since 1985.
Provides full text of committee hearings since 1817, Congressional committee reports since 1990, House and Senate Documents since 1995, selected committee prints since 1995, bills since 1789, and the Congressional Record since 1985.
"Congressional watchdog." Audits govt agencies; tries to ensure federal funds are spent responsibly and as Congress intended. Archives go back several decades.
The GAO audits govt agencies as needed and generally tries to ensure that federal funds are spent responsibly and the for the purpose Congress intended. Their site has archived their reports back several decades; an Advanced Search is available once you have run a simple search.
Consists of curated and indexed declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present.
Provides online access to over 500,000 pages of previously classified government documents. Covering major international events from the Cold War to the Vietnam War and beyond. Page images are digitized; full text of documents can be searched.
Includes Messages and Papers of the Presidents, Public Papers of the Presidents (Hoover-Present), CFR Title 3 (Presidents), Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, Economic Report of the President, and more.
Documents such as Proclamations, Executive Orders, and similar documents that are published in the Federal Register and the Code of Federal Regulations, as required by law, are usually not included for the presidencies of Herbert Hoover through Gerald Ford (1929-1977), but are included beginning with the administration of Jimmy Carter (1977).
The Federal Register is published daily and consists of proposed and enacted Federal regulations. The Code of Federal Regulations is the yearly compilation of promulgated rules and is organized into 50 broad areas, known as Titles.