ECLAS focuses on publications of the European Union and has also an extensive collection of publications of international organisations such as the UN, OECD, World Bank, etc.
The catalogue contains a wealth of books and journals from commercial publishers in all EU languages. However, the largest part of our collections is in French, English and German.
One of the strengths of the ECLAS catalogue is the collection of articles on EU-related matters, selected by our staff from the most relevant journals.
Many of the journals and articles listed in ECLAS are available online in electronic format. To this purpose, the bibliographic records for these items contain hyperlinks that provide access to the full electronic documents.
The RAPID database contains all the Press Releases of the Commission since 1985, the great majority of them in at least two languages. It also contains Press Releases of some of the other European institutions, particularly the Council of the Union.
On the European integration process. The key post-war historical events and the European organisations are presented chronologically and thematically, and are illustrated by a wide range of archive documents, as well as interviews conducted by the CVCE with people who have been actively involved in European integration.
Paintings, music, films and books from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums. Europeana: think culture
Enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.
Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana. These objects include:
* Images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects
* Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers
* Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts
* Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts
Paintings, music, films and books from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums.
EurActiv has an original business model, based on five elements (corporate sponsoring, EurActor membership, advertising, EU projects, and content syndication). It is well funded and the content usage is free.
The EurActiv web portal is firmly established as the favourite online platform for Brussels and national professionals in EU policies. It brings together journalistic independence with transparency and practical efficiency, complementing the existing EU media and institutional websites.
Global foreign law database which contains cases, statutes, and other legal materials.
Global foreign law database which contains cases, statutes, and other legal materials in 13 languages for 134 countries. It is strongest for the law of the following countries: Spain, Brazil, Argentina, Venezuela, Portugal, Italy, the UK, Belgium, France, and the U.S.
Gives a detailed picture of a large number of statistical fields in the 27 Member States of the European Union, as well as in EFTA and candidate countries. The text of each chapter has been written by specialists in statistics and is accompanied by maps, figures and tables. A broad set of regional indicators are presented for the following 16 subjects: population, labour market, labour cost, education, health, European cities, gross domestic product, household accounts, structural business statistics, information society, tourism, land cover and land use, coastal regions, transport, science, technology and innovation, and last but not least, a study on trends in densely and thinly populated areas.
Covers data from international and intergovernmental organizations.
Covers data from U.S. federal and state governments, universities, private associations and organizations, independent research groups, as well as international and intergovernmental organizations.
Formerly from LexisNexis
The EIoP publishes scientific analyses of political, legal, economic, historical and sociological questions in relation to European integration considering the whole range of methodological and philosophy of science standpoints.
Collection Dates: 1951-2004
This collection is essentially a "government documents" collection for both the organization currently known as the European Union and for its precursors: European Coal and Steel Community; European Atomic Energy Community; European Economic Community; European Communities. This is an extensive collection of publications and documentation which these organizations intended to make publicly available. The collection does not include any personal papers of individuals.
Pages include the Jean Monnet Working Papers with the European Research Papers Archive (ERPA - a common access point for high quality papers in the area of European integration research), teaching materials in European Law and Institutions, the Law of Regional Economic Integration in the American Hemisphere and the Law of World Trade, the World Wide European Integration Events Calendar and the European Integration Current Contents (Table of Contents Awareness Service) pages. The European Journal of International Law and the European Foreign Policy Bulletin online are also part of the Academy of European Law online.
Collection Policy Statement
The University of Chicago Library is a depository of European Union official publications and has a large collection of E.U. documents. You may search our Library Catalog to see our holdings. In recent years there has been a shift towards electronic publishing of documents so please also consult the links listed within this guide. As always, please Ask A Librarian if you need any help.