Library Guides: Political Science: Elections & Government

Background Information and Data

CQ Voting & Elections Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides electoral statistics for Presidential, US House, and Gubernatorial elections, 1824+; Senate elections, 1908+; Presidential primary elections, 1912+; Senatorial primary elections, 1920+; House primary elections, 1968+; and Gubernatorial primary elections, 1919+. Data can be downloaded.
Thousands of election returns tables can be browsed and searched by office, year, and state. And hyperlinks within those tables lead to district profiles, census data, more refined data from that election cycle, and other information to enhance understanding. All data tables are fully downloadable with the optional dataset function.
CQ Congress Collection This link opens in a new window
Detailed profiles of members of Congress.
CQ Congress Collection is a dynamic research and reference tool allowing historical analysis of members of Congress, their legislative voting behavior, interest groups, and their interactions in crafting public policy.
CQ Vital Statistics on American Politics This link opens in a new window
Provides a variety of statistics on voting, turnout, party identification, etc.
Contains data with over 200 (downloadable and exportable) tables and charts covering the full spectrum of American Politics, including a variety of statistics on voting, turnout, party identification, etc.

ANES: American National Election Studies
& more less...
Provides data and statistics on elections, public opinion, and political participation in US elections from 1948. Datasets may be downloaded from the site.
Elections in Western Europe since 1815 : electoral results by constituencies
Reference book with actual data by constituencies on CD-ROM in Mansueto Library.
PARLINE Database
National level data for parliamentary elections for 186 countries.
& more less...
National level data for parliamentary elections for 186 countries, dating back as far as 1967. Maintained by the Inter-Parliamentary Union, which was established in 1889 as the international "focal point for world-wide parliamentary dialogue."
Voting America
& more less...
Provides cinematic & interactive maps, and analysis, of the Presidential elections in the US from 1840-2008
Voting and Registration Statistics
Census Bureau data.
& more less...
From the Current Population Statistics collected by the US Census Bureau. Some tables include data back to 1964.

Constitutions

Oxford Constitutions of the World This link opens in a new window
Contains fully-translated English-language versions of all the world's constitutions (both national and sub-national), accompanied by individual commentaries, supplementary materials, including foundation documents, historical constitutions, and amendment Acts/laws.

Constitution Annotated
Comprehensive overview of how the U.S. Constitution has been interpreted over time. Includes discussions of the Supreme Court’s latest opinions.

Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Elections - Data Files

Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections website provides basic statistics and graphics on nationwide state-level and county-level election returns for U.S. President (1789-present), State Governors (1990-present), and U.S. Senators (1990-present).

Dave Leip makes available for site-license purchase data files providing general election results for specific election years for specific offices for specific geographies. The UChicago Library has acquired data files from this source for UChicago faculty, students, and staff when comparable coverage is not available from other currently-held resources.

By accessing the Dave Leip data files, you are agreeing to follow the appropriate-use guidelines on Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) (Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections website).

Political Science

Background Information and Data

Constitutions

Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Elections - Data Files

Data Files available to UChicago users: