Official UN source for PDF files. Mostly recent documents but some historical as well.
Official UN source for PDF files. Mostly recent documents but some historical as well. Covers all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. Older UN documents are, however, added to the system on a daily basis. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. The system does not contain press releases, UN sales publications, the United Nations Treaty Series or information brochures issued by the Department of Public Information.
The United Nations Law Collection includes multilateral and bilateral treaties, international court cases; the United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.), Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, the League of Nations Treaty Series (L.N.T.S.); International Court of Justice (ICJ) Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders; Reports of International Arbitral Awards (R.I.A.A.); ICJ, ILC, and UNCITRAL yearbooks; reports of proceedings of UN conferences; the Treaty Handbook.
The Court is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It was established by the United Nations Charter, signed in 1945 at San Francisco, and began work in 1946 in the Peace Palace, The Hague. The Court, which is composed of 15 judges, has a dual role: in accordance with international law, settling legal disputes between States submitted to it by them and giving advisory opinions on legal matters referred to it by duly authorized United Nations organs and specialized agencies.
Since its inception in 1949, the work product (documentation, reports, texts and instruments etc) of the International Law Commission has accumulated into an extensive body of research into a wide range of aspects of public international law.
Most of the International Law Commission’s publications are digitized – its yearbooks, reports, and other documentation, from the very first session in 1949 to present. Some limited publication (“L”) documents are not available in electronic format. Searches for documents with the A/CN.4 UN document symbol in the ODS system indicate that the ODS system has not incorporated most of these documents, although they are available at the ILC’s website.
The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) produces an extensive range of publications on a variety of topics related to human rights, which provides information of interest to Governments, national institutions, civil society, the general public and the media. The goal of OHCHR's publications programme is to increase knowledge and raise awareness about human rights and fundamental freedoms and to publicize ways of promoting and protecting them worldwide. OHCHR publications also aim to encourage debate on human rights issues under discussion at the United Nations.
- Catalog of documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. - Voting records for resolutions which were adopted - either without a vote or by roll-call or recorded vote - by the General Assembly beginning with its 1st session (1946-) and the Security Council beginning with its 1st year (1946-). - Index to Speeches. Links to full-text usually provided.
UNCTAD’s publications and statistics enables interested researchers access to the knowledge generated by the organization through its intergovernmental and expert meetings, as well as its analyses and research.
Official and unofficial UN rule of law tools and materials including UN norms and standards, resolutions, reports, guidance materials, training materials, and programming materials, lessons learned and evaluations, and more.
A promotional and educational tool for practitioners and the general public. It seeks to inform users about the UN’s work in the field of rule of law, and its efforts to coordinate and strengthen system-wide approaches in this field. It is the central UN rule of law web-based resource, serving as a gateway to the rest of the UN’s related sites, and making information more widely accessible about UN rule of law issues and activities, and the various tools, documents and materials on the subject. The website is also an avenue for users to access other web resources on or related to rule of law, developed by the UN or external organizations.
Index to Proceedings of the Trusteeship Council - at D'Angelo Law Library - at Regenstein Library (11th session (June to 24 July 1952 and 20 Nov. to 3 Dec. 1952) - Ceased with 61st session (1994))
If you are looking for a particular document and can't find it in any of the databases you might also try searching by title in one of our Library Catalogs or if you have the UN Document Symbol we probably have it on microfiche.