Library Guides: Political Science: Data & Statistics

Related Guide

How do I find data or statistics?
by Elizabeth Foster Updated Jul 24, 2024 893 views this year

Key National and International Data Sources

This list is not intended to be comprehensive, just to provide a sense of the kinds of data we can help you find.

American Political Science Review Dataverse
Studies published in APSR are required to have accompanying replication data deposited in Dataverse.

ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
Best starting point for raw data.
ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and includes many large time-series datasets. International in scope.

General Social Survey (NORC)
The GSS contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings.
ANES: American National Election Studies
& more less...
Provides data and statistics on elections, public opinion, and political participation in US elections from 1948. Datasets may be downloaded from the site.

World Development Indicators Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance databases. Contains over 500 timeseries indicators under the headings: world view, environment, economy, states and markets and global links. Data are at the country level only and are updated annually. Includes the World Development Indicators and Global Development Finance databases.
OECD Data Explorer This link opens in a new window
Harmonized datasets on economic, national accounts, health and more for countries that are members of the OECD. Selected data for non-member countries is included in some series.
Human Development Reports This link opens in a new window
UN data on key social, economic, and governmental metrics.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition This link opens in a new window
Compilation of over 37,000 statistical series from over 1,000 sources. All tables include citations to data sources and descriptions of data anomalies. Each major section includes a signed essay that puts the statistics in historical context.

US Government Data Sources

FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data) This link opens in a new window
Federal Reserve data. Create a free account to save files.
Produced by the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. It includes U.S. data on interest rates, exchange rates, CPI, GDP, PPI, etc.

Bureau of Labor Statistics
National Center for Education Statistics
& more less...
Information on education in the United States.

Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Elections - Data Files

Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections website provides basic statistics and graphics on nationwide state-level and county-level election returns for U.S. President (1789-present), State Governors (1990-present), and U.S. Senators (1990-present).

Dave Leip makes available for site-license purchase data files providing general election results for specific election years for specific offices for specific geographies. The UChicago Library has acquired data files from this source for UChicago faculty, students, and staff when comparable coverage is not available from other currently-held resources.

By accessing the Dave Leip data files, you are agreeing to follow the appropriate-use guidelines on Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) (Dave Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections website).

Data Files available to UChicago users:

United States Census

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Census data from 1790 to 2010.
Social Explorer is a detailed reference tool for current and historical Census data from 1790 to the present. Data may be generated by browsing maps or building reports.

Guide to Census Data
Additional detailed information on the Economic Census.

Foreign Censuses

Many foreign censuses are available through the catalog, using subject searches as shown here. Not all years or countries may be held in our libraries or even available.

Turkey -- Census, 1985
Argentina -- Population -- Statistics
Urban population -- Japan -- Statistics

International Statistical Agencies
The US Census Bureau maintains an online directory of statistical agencies in countries around the world. Data availability varies from country to country and English-language availability is limited.
National Statistical Offices and Central Banks Web Archive
Archive of country statistical office and central bank websites that often contain ephemeral statistical data on topics such as economic conditions, population, education, housing, environmental conditions, transportation, health, social services, vital statistics, and more.