Library Guides: Classics: Journals

Serial Guide: Classics, Ancient Near East, Medieval Latin & Byzantine Studies

Locate print and electronic serials (periodicals, annuals, series, etc.).

Call numbers, links, and holdings are for the University of Chicago Library.

Punctuation and spacing must match entries exactly since this is string searching. Uppercase OR, and NOT serve as Boolean operators. To anchor a match at the beginning of an entry a caret must precede the word (e.g., ^classical finds only titles that begin with "Classical"). To find a word anywhere in an entry surround the word with the @ sign (e.g., @RAC@ finds only RAC, not RACF, VeteraChr, etc.).

Locate Online Journals

The Serial Guide above provides links to online journals. See also the Library help guides How to Find Articles and How to Find Journals.

UChicago E-Journals This link opens in a new window
The Electronic Journals Database provides access to the majority of the electronic journal titles available through the University of Chicago Library. Browse by journal title or conduct a title keyword or ISSN search.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. All issues of each journal are included in full-text except for the most recent 2-to-5 years.
Digizeitschriften - Deutsche digitale Zeitschriftenarchiv This link opens in a new window
DigiZeitschriften provides full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals published in Germany or neighboring countries since the late 1700s. The journals are in German, English, or other European languages and date back to their first volumes. Fields most prominently represented are mathematics (one- fourth of all titles), literature, history, the arts, economics, and law. Other fields covered include education, geology, librarianship, music, religion, sciences, and sociology.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Coverage is from as early as 1665.
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Gathers the volumes of Google-scanned journals into one record.
HathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain
UChicago users may login to download high quality PDF versions where available.
Torrossa This link opens in a new window
Full-text database of Italian e-journals and monographs, focused on Italian Studies and the fields of Archaeology and Classical Studies.
Collection de l'cole franaise d'Athnes en ligne This link opens in a new window
CEFAEL provides online access to the publications of the School, including the monographic materials as well.
Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek (EZB) This link opens in a new window
Links to thousands of online German periodicals, many open access. Look for the green radio button.
Open Access Journals in Ancient Studies (AWOL) This link opens in a new window
Chuck Jones's list of open access journals. All eJournals mentioned in AWOL or added to the Abzu database will be added to this list as they appear.

Greek Journals (Open Access)

Perse: Portail de revues en sciences humaines et sociales This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of French scholarly journals from the first issue until roughly 3-5 years before present. Free resource.
Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
Listings of currently published journals, newsletters, and annuals, as well as discontinued publications. Indicates whether periodicals are online. Includes information about which databases index the content.

Abbreviations of Journals, Standard Reference Works, and Corpora

General

Serial Guide: Classics, Ancient Near East, Medieval Latin & Byzantine Studies This link opens in a new window
Includes multiple abbreviations for journals

Dictionary of Bibliographic Abbreviations Found in the Scholarship of Classical Studies and Related Disciplines (2003)
Print available: PA99.W44 2003 RR4Cla and RR4
& more less...
Compiled by J. S. Wellington (2003). This work is useful not only for tracking down abbreviations, but also for discovering alternate titles or title changes. This work is useful not only for tracking down abbreviations, but also for discovering alternate titles or title changes.
List of Abbreviations of Editions and Works of Reference for Alphabetic Greek Epigraphy (GrEpiAbbr)
& more less...
Preamble THIS LIST WAS PREPARED BY A COMMITTEE* WORKING FROM LATE 2017 TO SPRING 2020 AND EMBODIES A COMPROMISE BETWEEN FOUR PRINCIPLES : – to change accepted conventions as little as possible; – to create a system as coherent as possible ; – to prefer abbreviations to acronyms (IGF, for instance, means little to a non-specialist ; so we propose IG France). Wherever it is possible and not too much in violation of long-accepted conventions we have tried to generalise the abbreviation « I. xxx » (on the model of « P. xxx » for papyri). – to be, on the model of the papyrologists’ checklist, as clear as possible, and not just for epigraphists but rather for everbody interested in antiquity in the broadest sense: Latinists, Roman historians, philologists, papyrologists, legal scholars, archaeologists, etc. These four principles, however, are mutually incompatible, after almost 200 years of learned publications which have followed very different traditions and models. We have accordingly attempted a compromise, proposing certain rules and aiming for the most general consensus possible. This compromise between existing practices and rules for the future has meant that the commission cannot always adopt unchanged some of the abbreviations proposed by editors of epigraphic collections themselves. We hope that they will put up with these proposals for change in their particular areas, geographical or thematic, if they bear in mind the changes which they will find acceptable or natural in other fields. In a list containing more than five hundred abbreviations, all users will inevitably encounter a few not completely to their liking.
From website

L'Année philologique This link opens in a new window
Indexes all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, linguistics, archaeology, epigraphy and numismatics, history, philosophy, science, and technology.

"Instructions for Contributors," American Journal of Archaeology

Checklist of Editions of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca and Tablets This link opens in a new window
ed. J.F. Oates, R.S. Bagnall, S.J. Clackson, A.A. OBrien, J.D. Sosin, T.G. Wilfong and K.A. Worp. The current print version is the 5th, BASP Suppl. 9 (2001). [Oxbow]. Z6604.C47 2001 RR4Cla
The Web version is kept current by J.F. Oates and J.D. Sosin.
Oxford Classical Dictionary This link opens in a new window
For almost half a century, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been regarded as the unrivalled one-volume reference work on all aspects of the Graeco-Roman world. It provides both scholars and non-specialists with a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all their questions about the classical world. Written by the very best of classical scholars from all over the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity. (Description from Oxford website.)
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium This link opens in a new window
Edited by Alexander P. Kazhdan . With more than 5,000 entries by an international group of eminent historians, this is the standard research tool on 1,100 years of Byzantine history. Exhaustive in its coverage, entries on patriarchy and emperors coexist with entries on surgery, musical instruments, and the baking of bread, bringing to life this vastly important culture and empire, from the 4th century to the 15th. (From their Web site)

Lexikon zur byzantinischen Gräzität. Verzeichnis der Abkürzungen
PA1125.L494 2001 RR4Cla

Epigraphy and Papyrology

Table des abréviations in Guide de l’épigraphiste (4th ed.)

Supplementum Epigrahicum Graecum This link opens in a new window
The Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online includes the printed SEG volumes 1-54. Future volumes will be added to the online edition.

Abbreviations in CLAROS: Concordance of Greek Inscriptions

Checklist of Editions of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic Papyri, Ostraca and Tablets This link opens in a new window
ed. J.F. Oates, R.S. Bagnall, S.J. Clackson, A.A. OBrien, J.D. Sosin, T.G. Wilfong and K.A. Worp. The current print version is the 5th, BASP Suppl. 9 (2001). [Oxbow]. Z6604.C47 2001 RR4Cla
The Web version is kept current by J.F. Oates and J.D. Sosin.

ChecklistDem. Check-list of Demotic Text Editions and Re-editions
Out of print. Order ILL
& more less...
by S.P. Vleeming and A.A. den Brinker. Leiden 1993. (Uitgaven Vanwege de Stichting "Het Leids Papyrologisch Instituut" 14).
ChecklistArab. Checklist of Arabic Documents
& more less...
ed. P.M. Sijpesteijn, J.F. Oates and A. Kaplony.
Blanchard, Sigles et abréviations dans les papyrus documentaires grecs: recherches de paléographie
Z113.8.B5 1974 RR4Cla and PA25.L841 no.30 Gen

Biblical and Ancient Near East

Abréviations des périodiques et collections en usage à l’Ifao, by Bernard Mathieu. 7th ed This link opens in a new window
This edition online only; earlier editions at Z3015.M38 2003 RR4 Religion/ANE

Abbreviations for Assyriology (CDLI)
Reallexikon der Assyriologie
DS69.1.R3 RR4 Religion/ANE
SBL Handbook of Style: for Biblical Studies and Related Disciplines 2014
Print: PN147.S26 2014 RR4 Religion/ANE

Serial Guide: Classics, Ancient Near East, Medieval Latin & Byzantine Studies This link opens in a new window

Subject Specialist

Catherine Mardikes

Send Email

Contact:

Bibliographer for Classics, the Ancient Near East, & General Humanities and interim Linguistics
Joseph Regenstein Library,
Room 471
Office: 773-702-2783
Cell: 773-820-2842

Subjects: Ancient Near East, Classics, General Humanities, Humanities, Linguistics, Medieval and Byzantine Studies

Help Guides

Useful Information

Find It!
When searching databases, the button, when present, can be used to locate an item in the Library Catalog, to gain access to the full-text of an article, or to send an interlibrary loan order..

Proxy It!
Get access to library resources from off campus with ⇒ ProxyIt! ⇐. For Chrome, Firefox or Safari, drag the link to your bookmarks tool bar. For Internet Explorer, right-click on the link and select "Add to Favorites...".

Purchase Request
The Library welcomes suggestions for the acquisition of materials which support the University's teaching and research programs. Use this form to submit a request. It will be routed to the appropriate subject specialist for consideration.


Abbreviations:	(e.g., AJSL or @RAC@)
Titles:	(e.g., Rivista di archeologia cristiana)
Call Number:	(e.g., PA1.G79)
Subject Label:	(e.g., Cla, ANE, or Med)
Start Date:	(e.g., 1829 or 1800-1850)
End Date:	(e.g., 1999 or 1995-2004)
Online:	(Select an Option)