Classics

Indexes all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, linguistics, archaeology, epigraphy and numismatics, history, philosophy, science, and technology.

Zentraler Online-Katalog des Deutschen Archologischen Instituts. ZENON indexes books and articles based on the subject catalogues of the offices of the German Archaeological Institute.
Guide to Zenon DAI is available from the Clark Art Institute.

All the bibliographic information listed in the section entitled "Bibliographische Beilage" of the journal Gnomon. Gnomon Online is especially good for German dissertations.
The CD-ROM version discontinued in 2008.

Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists. TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online. Most comprehensive from 1992 on.

BIAB provides bibliographic information about articles and books on the archaeology of Britain and Ireland, producing two updates each year - adding over 1,000 references per annum. From the Council for British Archaeology. Print volumes can be found in Mansueto at DA20.B822.

Searches records of articles from 1984-present, but most complete from 1990 on. Print volumes (1962-) can be found in the Stacks at DG11.B85.

Ancient Medicine Newsletter, which collects bibliographic information on the study of ancient medicine.

The Byzantinische Bibliographie Online includes the bibliographic sections of the Byzantinische Zeitschrift from volume 98 (2005) up to the present day. The entries are organized systematically by subject area and enriched by short discussions and references to relevant review articles.
Users can either browse the bibliography by subject category (down to the fourth level) and organize the results by title, author, publication year, and relevance, or do a search by (key) word, author, publication type, publication year, publisher, ISSN, and ISBN, and combinations thereof.
From their Website

Cumulative bibliography of articles and monographs cited twice annually in Byzantinische Zeitschrift. For most current citations go to BZ at PA1003.B9

Claros is an electronic database containing the successive publications of epigraphical Greek texts re-edited during the last 125 years (and before). Users of CLAROS can consult the data relative to the edition of Greek inscriptions (name and date of publication, and the editor's name; but not the epigraphic text itself). More interestingly, users can retrieve the concordance among inscriptions, that is, the different editions of the same inscription. In addition to the bibliographical reference to the main editions of an epigraphical text, CLAROS contains the reference to numerous corpora of translations of the same Greek texts. They offer a searchable list of abbreviations as well. From Diccionario Griego-Espaol.

Full coverage from 1974 on. The CDDA compiles a subject bibliography database called DRANT (DRoits ANTiques "Ancient Law") which specializes in the legal, political, economic and social institutions of the ancient Mediterranean world. The DRANT database covers not only the institutions of Ancient Greece and Rome, but also Persia, the Near East and Egypt. While the focus of the database is legal institutions, the listings include numerous references to other topics which are bound to be of interest to a legal historian: papyrology, epigraphy, numismatics, archeology, the history of religions, etc. The references in the database are compiled by surveying all the specialist literature: books, articles in some 420 French and foreign journals, articles in anthologies, conference proceedings, critical reviews, etc. The CDDA analyses approximately 4000 articles and books per year, and includes on average 2000 for the database. To date, the database contains over 56,000 references. (From theDRANT website)

FoLIVM (Fons Litterarum Iuris Veterum & Medii aevi) Lehrstuhl fr Brgerliches Recht, Rmisches Recht und Antike Rechtsgeschichte.

See Search Tips and Otehr Information.

Bibliographic database of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. Updated quarterly. 1975-present.

The present database attempts to collect the basic information on all ancient literary texts, as opposed to documents. At present, it includes items, dating from the fourth century B.C. to A.D. 800 and incorporating authors from Homer (8th cent. B.C.) to Romanus Melodus and Gregorius the Great (6th cent. A.D.), including 3671 texts of which the author can no longer be identified (to find an empty field, type "=" (without the quotes) in the field authorname).

Bibliography of Aegean Prehistory and Related Areas. 1957 to present. Print volumes can be found at Z7023.L5N46 RR4Cla. Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. The primary geographic nexus of Nestor is the Aegean, including all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey. Nestor includes publications concerning the central and western Mediterranean, southeastern Europe, the eastern Mediterranean, western Asia, and other regions of archaeological research, if the specific bibliographic items contain Aegean artifacts, imitations, or influences, or make reference to Aegean comparanda.
(From the Nestor website)

"Literature Database for the Middle Ages - Listing over one million titles."

The Subject Catalogue of the Roman-Germanic Commission (RGK) in Frankfurt. 1992 to present.

The Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online includes the printed SEG volumes 1-54. Future volumes will be added to the online edition.

Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations

An international and interdisciplinary bibliography of academic periodical literature mainly from the Humanities, Social Sciences and Arts. Indexes from about 11,500 journals covering the years 1983 to the present.

Part of Nineteenth Century Index. Indexes the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences from 1665 to 1995, including many European titles. Includes links to some full-text articles. Dates of full-text coverage vary by title.

Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900. Includes the Science Citation Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science is especially useful for its citation linking.

Indexing and abstracting database which corresponds to Art Index (Z5931.A75), indexing more than 300 key, international arts publications. (1984-present): A good starting place for mostly English-language articles on topics from classical art through 21st-century performance artists.

AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS) includes more than 580+ full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries. Atlas PLUS includes all of the titles in Atla’s original full-text product, AtlaSerials (Atlas), and 200+ additional full-text titles.

The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is a database created by the J. Paul Getty Trust's Art History Information Program (AHIP) in conjunction with the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique (INIST) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique. It contains abstracts and indexes of current publications in the history of art, including scholarly journals, conferences, book, exhibition reviews, and exhibition catalogues. The records consist of bibliographic citations, abstracts, and indexing; abstracts may be in English or in French, index terms (descriptors) are in both English and French.

Von 1998 bis 2002 wurde die wissenschaftliche Literatur zur Archologie des eurasischen Kulturraums erfasst und verschlagwortet. Ziel ist die Verffentlichung eines elektronischen Sachkataloges.

Records works of art (manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, etc.) from early apostolic times to A.D. 1400 with emphasis on art of the western world. Includes bibliography, references to reproductions, and some links to images. Apostolic times - A.D. 1400. (Formerly Index of Christian art.

Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. Contains records for articles from periodicals, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogues, etc. published world-wide.

Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Also covers various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.

Indexes materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, excluding book reviews. Citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essays, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, & bibliographies. Also includes citations to books and journal articles having to do with linguistics and language topics.
Video tutorial on searching writer's names as subjects

The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature. It includes the volumes of the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB) for 1947 to 2001 with abstracts, combined with Bibliographie Altgypten (BA) for 1822 to 1946, the Aigyptos database with keywords, and many thousands of more recently added records. It provides coverage of Egyptological literature from 1822 to the present and is updated nearly every day.

Contains citations and abstracts covering scholarly research in the field of philosophy. Covers all major articles from anthologies and books in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French as well as 480 journals from 38 countries.

PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. We also accept articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies

Regularly updated annotated bibliography addressing themes and topics in Classics.

Indexes all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, linguistics, archaeology, epigraphy and numismatics, history, philosophy, science, and technology.

Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations

Multilingual and interdisciplinary index to book reviews, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature. It includes the volumes of the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB) for 1947 to 2001 with abstracts, combined with Bibliographie Altgypten (BA) for 1822 to 1946, the Aigyptos database with keywords, and many thousands of more recently added records. It provides coverage of Egyptological literature from 1822 to the present and is updated nearly every day.