Quick Links
- Articles Plus Search for articles, books, reviews, and more drawn from hundreds of databases and over 40,000 journals
- Academic Search Complete Humanities and social sciences.
- Scopus Sciences and social sciences.
- JSTOR All subject areas. Best for older issues.
- Web of Science All subjects, but especially strong for sciences.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar includes citations for academic journals in all subjects. To access the University's online journals, you must go to Scholar Settings, and search for "University of Chicago Libraries" under Library Links.
More information here
Finding Articles
If you are looking for articles on a specific topic, or by a specific author, you will have to use a tool called an index. Most indexes are available online as databases.
Article databases may be interdisciplinary (indexing a wide variety of publications in all fields) or may focus on a specific range of publications (by subject, type of publication, or year of publication). Below are a few places to find databases for your topic.
- Quick Links
The box on the left lists interdisciplinary databases which are good to start your resarch with. -
For most research topics, it is best to use one of the Library's subject databases. The tab above provides a list of key article databases arranged by subject.
-
Research Guides by Subject
The Library has extensive help guides which highlight resources and services for each field. Research guides provide far comprehensive descriptions for each database, as well as extensive lists of reliable resources available over the web. -
Database Finder
The Database Finder includes all of the Library's databases, as well as selected resources that are available freely on the web. You can locate electronic resources by title or search by subject. Use the Advanced Search, limiting to "Articles and Indexes", for the best results.
- Ask a Librarian
The Library's reference librarians and subject specialists/bibliographers can suggest the best databases to use for your research, and can provide helpful search tips and techniques.
Off-campus Access
Almost all Library databases can be accessed from off-campus. The easiest way to do this is to use links from the Library website. You will then be prompted for your CNetID and password to authenticate yourself as an authorized user.
If you find sources through Google Scholar or other search engines, you may not automatically get access to Library resources. IT Services has created the ProxyIt bookmarklet for these situations.
Find out more on their web site.
Ask a Librarian |


Loading...
