Classics

Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.

WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.

UChicago faculty, students and staff can now borrow books and other circulating materials from the libraries of Ivy League universities and MIT.

Indexes articles, book reviews, monographs, and single volumes from sets. The catalog of the Institute for the Study of Ancient Cultures Research Archives at the University of Chicago contains entries for ancient Near East materials cataloged since 1987 with complete analytics (essays, articles and book reviews) for materials cataloged since 1990. The catalog also includes earlier materials, but not comprehensively.

The KVK allows users to search the catalogues of multiple German, Swiss, and Austrian libraries. Other international libraries can be added as well.

Indice SBN is the union catalogue of the Italian libraries that have joined the National Library Service. The National Library Service (SBN) is the Italian library network created by Ministry for Cultural and Environmental Assett with the cooperation of the Regions and Universities. Libraries participating in the SBN project are more than 1000 among which the National Central Libraries in Rome and Florence, as well as state, city, university and academic libraries. Indice SBN provides access to bibliographic records which are periodically downloaded from the SBN Modern Books and Periodicals, Older Books and Music databases At the moment the union catalog contains 9.000.000 locations and 4.500.000 bibliographic descriptions.

The combined catalogs
of French academic libraries. See also the
Bibliothèque Nationale de
France.

Indexes all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, linguistics, archaeology, epigraphy and numismatics, history, philosophy, science, and technology.

Zentraler Online-Katalog des Deutschen Archologischen Instituts. ZENON indexes books and articles based on the subject catalogues of the offices of the German Archaeological Institute.
Guide to Zenon DAI is available from the Clark Art Institute.

All the bibliographic information listed in the section entitled "Bibliographische Beilage" of the journal Gnomon. Gnomon Online is especially good for German dissertations.
The CD-ROM version discontinued in 2008.

BIAB provides bibliographic information about articles and books on the archaeology of Britain and Ireland, producing two updates each year - adding over 1,000 references per annum. From the Council for British Archaeology. Print volumes can be found in Mansueto at DA20.B822.

Ancient Medicine Newsletter, which collects bibliographic information on the study of ancient medicine.

Cumulative bibliography of articles and monographs cited twice annually in Byzantinische Zeitschrift. For most current citations go to BZ at PA1003.B9

Claros is an electronic database containing the successive publications of epigraphical Greek texts re-edited during the last 125 years (and before). Users of CLAROS can consult the data relative to the edition of Greek inscriptions (name and date of publication, and the editor's name; but not the epigraphic text itself). More interestingly, users can retrieve the concordance among inscriptions, that is, the different editions of the same inscription. In addition to the bibliographical reference to the main editions of an epigraphical text, CLAROS contains the reference to numerous corpora of translations of the same Greek texts. They offer a searchable list of abbreviations as well. From Diccionario Griego-Espaol.

FoLIVM (Fons Litterarum Iuris Veterum & Medii aevi) Lehrstuhl fr Brgerliches Recht, Rmisches Recht und Antike Rechtsgeschichte.

See Search Tips and Otehr Information.

Bibliographic database of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. Updated quarterly. 1975-present.

The present database attempts to collect the basic information on all ancient literary texts, as opposed to documents. At present, it includes items, dating from the fourth century B.C. to A.D. 800 and incorporating authors from Homer (8th cent. B.C.) to Romanus Melodus and Gregorius the Great (6th cent. A.D.), including 3671 texts of which the author can no longer be identified (to find an empty field, type "=" (without the quotes) in the field authorname).

Bibliography of Aegean Prehistory and Related Areas. 1957 to present. Print volumes can be found at Z7023.L5N46 RR4Cla. Nestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. The primary geographic nexus of Nestor is the Aegean, including all of Greece, Albania, and Cyprus, the southern area of Bulgaria, and the western and southern areas of Turkey. Nestor includes publications concerning the central and western Mediterranean, southeastern Europe, the eastern Mediterranean, western Asia, and other regions of archaeological research, if the specific bibliographic items contain Aegean artifacts, imitations, or influences, or make reference to Aegean comparanda.
(From the Nestor website)

The Subject Catalogue of the Roman-Germanic Commission (RGK) in Frankfurt. 1992 to present.

"Literature Database for the Middle Ages - Listing over one million titles."

Full coverage from 1974 on. The CDDA compiles a subject bibliography database called DRANT (DRoits ANTiques "Ancient Law") which specializes in the legal, political, economic and social institutions of the ancient Mediterranean world. The DRANT database covers not only the institutions of Ancient Greece and Rome, but also Persia, the Near East and Egypt. While the focus of the database is legal institutions, the listings include numerous references to other topics which are bound to be of interest to a legal historian: papyrology, epigraphy, numismatics, archeology, the history of religions, etc. The references in the database are compiled by surveying all the specialist literature: books, articles in some 420 French and foreign journals, articles in anthologies, conference proceedings, critical reviews, etc. The CDDA analyses approximately 4000 articles and books per year, and includes on average 2000 for the database. To date, the database contains over 56,000 references. (From theDRANT website)

The Byzantinische Bibliographie Online includes the bibliographic sections of the Byzantinische Zeitschrift from volume 98 (2005) up to the present day. The entries are organized systematically by subject area and enriched by short discussions and references to relevant review articles.
Users can either browse the bibliography by subject category (down to the fourth level) and organize the results by title, author, publication year, and relevance, or do a search by (key) word, author, publication type, publication year, publisher, ISSN, and ISBN, and combinations thereof.
From their Website

The Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online includes the printed SEG volumes 1-54. Future volumes will be added to the online edition.

Indexing and abstracting database which corresponds to Art Index (Z5931.A75), indexing more than 300 key, international arts publications. (1984-present): A good starting place for mostly English-language articles on topics from classical art through 21st-century performance artists.

AtlaSerials PLUS (Atlas PLUS) includes more than 580+ full-text journals in many diverse areas of religion and theology, with full-text content in more than 20 languages from more than 35 different countries. Atlas PLUS includes all of the titles in Atla’s original full-text product, AtlaSerials (Atlas), and 200+ additional full-text titles.

The Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) is a database created by the J. Paul Getty Trust's Art History Information Program (AHIP) in conjunction with the Institut de l'Information Scientifique et Technique (INIST) of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique. It contains abstracts and indexes of current publications in the history of art, including scholarly journals, conferences, book, exhibition reviews, and exhibition catalogues. The records consist of bibliographic citations, abstracts, and indexing; abstracts may be in English or in French, index terms (descriptors) are in both English and French.

Von 1998 bis 2002 wurde die wissenschaftliche Literatur zur Archologie des eurasischen Kulturraums erfasst und verschlagwortet. Ziel ist die Verffentlichung eines elektronischen Sachkataloges.

Records works of art (manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, etc.) from early apostolic times to A.D. 1400 with emphasis on art of the western world. Includes bibliography, references to reproductions, and some links to images. Apostolic times - A.D. 1400. (Formerly Index of Christian art.

Interdisciplinary bibliography of the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. Contains records for articles from periodicals, conference proceedings, exhibition catalogues, etc. published world-wide.

Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics. Also covers various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical, and geographical linguistics.

Indexes materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore, excluding book reviews. Citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide, as well as books, essays, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, & bibliographies. Also includes citations to books and journal articles having to do with linguistics and language topics.
Video tutorial on searching writer's names as subjects

The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature. It includes the volumes of the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB) for 1947 to 2001 with abstracts, combined with Bibliographie Altgypten (BA) for 1822 to 1946, the Aigyptos database with keywords, and many thousands of more recently added records. It provides coverage of Egyptological literature from 1822 to the present and is updated nearly every day.

Contains citations and abstracts covering scholarly research in the field of philosophy. Covers all major articles from anthologies and books in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French as well as 480 journals from 38 countries.

PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophy articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. We also accept articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies

The aim of the AMAR project is to digitize 500 archaeological site reports describing archaeological excavations both in Iraq and in the immediately surrounding areas (Turkey, Syria, Iran and the Gulf). This will include both out-of-copyright as well as in-copyright and in-print materials. This online collection is intended to provide basic sources of information to our colleagues in Iraq, and also other archaeologists working in the Middle East. The electronic files are only to be distributed from the AMAR Web site. Individuals, libraries, institutions, and others may download one complimentary copy for their own personal use. Publisher's website

Contains ebooks from BAR Publishing (British Archaeological Reports) from 1974-2021.

This database offers subject or theme based collections of content within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. The books in these series survey scholarship on individual writers or other notable people, on schools of thought, and other topics. They serve as textbooks, as excellent starting places for research, and as scholarly works in their own right.

This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.

All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.

Diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries. Opens the door to some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books. All works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, fall within the scope of the project, together with all pre-1701 works in European languages printed further afield.
We have access to Collections 1-6, and 12,
Collection 15: Revolution and Reformation: Science and Religion in the Early Modern Period
Collection 17: Statecraft and Law in Early Modern France
Collection 18: History & Chronicles from the Bibliothèque de l’Arsenal
Collection 19: Voyages & Imagination Travel
Collection 20: French Spiritual Life: Religious renewal in early modern France
Collection 21: Peace and Governance
Collection 23: Education, Society and Cultural Life

ETANA is a cooperative venture of a consortium of scholarly societies and universities to develop and maintain a comprehensive Internet site for the study of the ancient Near East (ANE). As part of the project, the consortium is digitizing many of the earliest publications of the discipline. These core texts are available in PHF format.

Paintings, music, films and books from Europe's galleries, libraries, archives and museums.

Gallica is a digital library of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France. Contains numerous electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science.

Search the full text of books to find ones that interest you and learn where to borrow or buy them.

HathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain
UChicago users may login to download high quality PDF versions where available.

Offers electronic texts selected from the current output of American university presses, as well as those from a specially selected backlist of titles. American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) project.

MoML VI: FCIL is a legal history digital product containing treatises on international law, comparative law, civil and European law, and the history of law since Roman times. These legal treatises were published from 1600-1926 and are in English, French, German, Spanish, and other Western European languages. MoML VI contains classic works on international law by Gentili, Grotius, Vattel and others. It covers Ancient Law, Roman Law, Jewish Law, and Islamic Law. It also includes monographs covering the law of Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, and other foreign jurisdictions

User created catalog sponsored by the Open Content Alliance with the goal of creating one web page for every book ever published. Create a free account to check out a book.

Propylaeum-DOK - Digital Repository Classical Studies is the full-text server of the Virtual Library of Classical Studies and is made available by the University Library of Heidelberg. It offers members of the academic community worldwide the opportunity to publish their texts in electronic format on the internet at no charge. All kinds of publications (like monographs, articles, lectures) in the fields of Classical Studies can be stored on "Propylaeum-DOK". The standard of these publications should not fall below that of traditional printed ones. The documents will be stored and their long-term availability guaranteed by using standardized addresses (URN) and metadata (OAIPMH). They are accessible through the German union catalogues and search engines, too.
From their Webiste

Regularly updated annotated bibliography addressing themes and topics in Classics.

Includes citations for materials from the first U.S. dissertation (1861) to those accepted as recently as last semester. Starting in 1997 full-text is often available. If full-text is not available information about ordering the document is provided.

Locate doctoral dissertations from countries other than Canada and the United States held at the Center for Research Libraries.

Provides bibliographic and full text access to over 8,000 Italian theses and dissertations, from the bachelors level to doctoral dissertations.

Llimited in content, but provides access to the full text of some French dissertations.

Indexes all aspects of classical studies, including authors and texts, literature, linguistics, archaeology, epigraphy and numismatics, history, philosophy, science, and technology.

Articles Plus allows simultaneous searching of a broad range of articles, books, book reviews, and other collections, including:
Hundreds of the Librarys article databases
Over 40,000 journals and periodicals
The University of Chicago Library catalog
Digitized collections of documents and images from many organizations

Multilingual and interdisciplinary index to book reviews, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

The Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB) holds the largest available collection of references in Egyptological literature. It includes the volumes of the Annual Egyptological Bibliography (AEB) for 1947 to 2001 with abstracts, combined with Bibliographie Altgypten (BA) for 1822 to 1946, the Aigyptos database with keywords, and many thousands of more recently added records. It provides coverage of Egyptological literature from 1822 to the present and is updated nearly every day.