Library Guides: 1L Success Portal: Torts

Torts Secondary Sources

Below, you will find a curated selection of the leading Torts study supplements. To view the full range of supplements available through D'Angelo Law Library subscriptions, see below:

West Study Aids (Torts) | Lexis Digital Library (Torts) | Aspen Learning Library

Understanding Torts, 6th ed. by John L. Diamond; Lawrence C. Levine; Anita Bernstein This Understanding treatise is the perfect complement to first-year tort courses and is suitable for use with any tort casebook. Concise and authoritative, Understanding Torts features: Comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of intentional torts, privileges, negligence, cause-in-fact, proximate cause, defenses, joint and several liability, damages, strict liability, products liability, economic torts, malicious prosecution, abuse of process, defamation and invasion of privacy. Judicious use of footnotes to provide full, but not overwhelming, primary and secondary support for textual propositions. Clear organization and writing to enhance understanding of basic concepts and major cases covered in a torts course. In-depth analysis of topics that generate the greatest confusion and controversy. Professors and adjunct professors may request complimentary examination copies of LexisNexis law school publications to consider for class adoption or recommendation. Please identify the book(s) you wish to receive, provide your institutional contact information, and submit your request here.
Publication Date: 2020
The Law of Torts, 2nd ed. (Hornbook Series) by Dan Dobbs; Paul Hayden; Ellen Bublick This single-volume hornbook provides a comprehensive overview of tort and injury law. The book covers all of the major topics in tort law. Topics include liability for physical injuries, as well as emotional, dignitary, and economic harms. This newly-updated edition includes citations to hundreds of cases and statutes decided over the last decade, as well as references to the Restatement (Third) of Torts.
Publication Date: 2016
Torts, 5th ed. (CrunchTime Series) by Steven L. Emanuel Emanuel CrunchTime provides the right information, in the right format, at the right time to prepare for exams. Based on the trusted Emanuel Law Outlines developed by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime skillfully employs flow charts so you can walk step-by-step through the major principles and topics in the course in a pattern that can be used to analyze any exam question. Abundant tips and ample review features help you approach the final with confidence. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts, and you can test your knowledge by working through the many Short-Answer Q&A s. CrunchTime lets you practice your essay exam skills as well. Exams Tips based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested. CrunchTime study aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams. Developed for students by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime titles provide the trusted guidance of Emanuel Law Outlines in a tighter, briefer format for quick review at exam time. Flow Charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts. You can test your knowledge by working through the ample Short-Answer Q&A s, which are organized by topic. Exams Tips often based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested on exams for you. They explore fact patterns typically used to test those issues. CrunchTime allows you to practice your essay exam skills by answering questions asked on past exams. Flowcharts help you craft compelling essays, and you can compare your answers to the samples provided. CrunchTime aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams. Uniform in writing style and approach, you can be confident that any title in the series is of consistent quality. Every title is frequently updated and reviewed against new developments and recent cases covered in the leading casebooks.
Publication Date: 2015
Friedman's Torts, 2nd ed. by Joel Wm. Friedman Practice makes perfect! Friedman's Practice Series helps you develop the skills for spotting issues and preparing A+ answers for your next exam. Real laws school exams test your knowledge of the key concepts and rules with a collection of essay and multiple-choice questions. Set up to mirror actual exams, the series features long essay questions as well as some that are relatively short and medium-length, giving you great practice in the length and variation of questions on the final. Friedman's is one of the only series to fully emulate complete essay examinations - they are as close to actual exam-questions that you can find. And as Friedman's texts are compiled by professors who wrote the exams, you get sound advice as well as keen insight on what instructors look for in grading your answers. Friedman's Practice Series titles test your knowledge with real law school exams. Test your knowledge of key concepts and rules with comprehensive essay and multiple-choice questions. Practice questions of various length prepare you for any exam. Experience actual exams! Get sound advice from the professors who wrote the exams. Find insight into what professors look for when grading.
Publication Date: 2009
Examples and Explanations for the Law of Torts, 6th ed. by Joseph W. Glannon A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
Publication Date: 2020
Glannon Guide to Torts by Richard L. Hasen The proven Glannon Guide is a user-friendly study aid to use throughout the semester as a great supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Topics are broken down into manageable pieces and are explained in a conversational tone. Chapters are interspersed with hypotheticals like those posed in the classroom that include analysis of answers to ensure thorough understanding. Additionally, The Closer questions pose sophisticated hypotheticals at the end of each chapter to present cumulative review of earlier topics. More like classroom experiences, the Glannon Guide provides you with straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick. The user-friendly Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. The material is broken into small, manageable pieces to help you master concepts. Multiple-choice questions are interspersed throughout each chapter (not lumped at the end) to mirror the flow of a classroom lecture. Correct and incorrect answers are carefully explained; you learn why they do or do not work. You can rely on authority; the series was created by Joseph W. Glannon Harvard-educated, best-selling author of, among other legal texts, Examples & Explanations; Civil Procedure, now in its sixth edition. The Closer poses a sophisticated problem question at the end of each chapter to test your comprehension. A final Closing Closer provides you practice opportunity as well as a cumulative review of all the concepts from earlier chapters. You can check your understanding each step of the way. More like classroom experiences, these Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes the material stick.
Publication Date: 2020
Black Letter Outline on Torts by Edward Kionka Softbound - New, softbound print book.
Publication Date: 2013
Torts in a Nutshell, 7th ed. by Edward Kionka A clear, concise, current, and authoritative explanation of all of the most important U.S. tort law doctrines, including those covered in first-year torts courses in law schools. Coverage includes tort law origins and objectives; causation; strict liability; negligence liability and defenses; intentional tort liability and defenses; special liability rules (premises liability, products liability, employers, etc.); damages; tort and contract; immunities; wrongful death and survival; defamation; privacy; misrepresentation.
Publication Date: 2020
Inside Torts: What Matters and Why by J. P. Ogilvy Inside Torts: What Matters and Why is a concise, clearly-written, and student-friendly guide to the principal topics covered in most first-year torts courses. It is designed to provide the fundamentals while, at the same time, identifying some of complexities of modern tort law. The goal of the book is to demystify the doctrine without oversimplifying it. Overviews briefly introduce the topics of each chapter. The detailed tables of contents provide a starting point for the student to begin his or her own course outline. FAQs identify common misconceptions and sort them out, and numerous Sidebars offer additional insights, study tips, and practice pointers. Chapter summaries and bolded key terms facilitate study and review by reminding students of the key concepts that are needed to perform well on examinations. Connections at the end of each chapter illustrate the interconnections between the topics, encouraging students to integrate their knowledge of torts. Key Features: Basic coverage of the main topics of torts. Overviews provide a brief introduction to each chapter. Detailed table of contents to each chapter. FAQs with complete answers to address common mistakes and misconceptions. Bold-faced legal terms and definitions to build legal vocabulary. Sidebars that offer additional insights into the complexities of tort law. Chapter summaries provide a quick review of the essential doctrine. Connections section at the end of each chapter relates concepts to other chapters.
Publication Date: 2016
Torts Stories by Robert L. Rabin; Stephen D. Sugarman This publication provides a student with an understanding of ten leading torts cases, focusing on how the litigation was shaped by lawyers, judges and socioeconomic factors, and why the cases have attained landmark status. It is suitable for adoption as a supplement in a first-year torts course, or as a text for an advanced seminar.
Publication Date: 2003
Principles of Tort Law, 4th ed. (Concise Hornbook Series) by Marshall Shapo This edition provides a wealth of new material drawn from summaries of and quotations from scholarly books and articles and case law. The subjects of this new material are rich in their range of topics. They include: * The "precautionary principle" * Summaries on tort rationales that range from references to Kantian philosophy and a riff on Harry Potter * The relation of tort law to public law * Varied materials on consent * The duty question, including a summary of a recent Supreme Court case and scholarship in the area * Material on privacy ranging from Prosser's classification system to LGBT plaintiffs * The roles of race and gender in calculations of damages * A criticism of "tort reform" efforts * Case law on the "baseball rule" with respect to spectator injuries. * Matters of topical "headline" interest include smartphones as distractions and certain aspects of publication of photos on the Internet. * Celebrities mentioned in items under different categories are Joan Rivers, Jesse Ventura, and Jim Boeheim.
Publication Date: 2016
Mastering Tort Law, 2nd ed. by Russell L. Weaver; Edward. C. Martin; Andrew R. Klein; Paul J. Zwier; John H. Bauman Mastering Tort Law is a succinct, practical guide to the intricacies of tort law. Functional in approach, it describes and illustrates basic tort doctrine, and provides students with insight into more advanced tort theories. In an attempt to facilitate student learning, the book includes a roadmap at the beginning of each chapter and a checklist at the end.
Publication Date: 2016

The American Law of Torts by Stuart M. Speiser; Charles F. Krause; Alfred W. Gans American Law of Torts helps you perform more detailed, reliable, and complete research across the full spectrum of tort law. American Law of Torts discusses specific tort theories and practice areas, including: negligence/per se, premises liability, products liability, business and commercial torts, intentional torts, defamation, invasion of privacy, unlawful prosecution, medical malpractice, nuisance and interference with civil rights.
The Law of Torts (Dobbs' Law of Torts) by Dan B. Dobbs; Paul T. Hayden; Ellen M. Bublick Dobbs' Law of Torts provides authoritative, comprehensive, and up-to-date discussion and analysis of the legal principles and rules governing tort law. The authors address changes in tort law and offer thousands of citations to cases decided or writings. Updated annually, the text covers the range of both traditional and current issues within the law.

CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) has published over 1,000 computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. See a reference librarian for your free CALI activation code!

Torts Lessons