Civil Procedure Resources
Below, you will find a curated selection of the leading Civil Procedure study supplements. To view the full range of supplements available through D'Angelo Law Library subscriptions, see below:
West Study Aids (Civil Procedure) | Lexis Digital Library (Civil Procedure) | Aspen Learning Library
Black Letter Outline on Civil Procedure, 12th ed. by
This outline summarizes the black-letter rules of civil procedure. It covers general considerations, litigating step-by-step, authority to adjudicate, complex litigation, governing law, and former adjudication. It allows students to understand how their course materials fit together, doing so by conveying a conception of civil procedure-the relationships among the ideas and the law that constitute the subject. This book is carefully designed and written as a study aid in preparing for classes and as a review aid in studying for examinations, containing all the many special features that characterize the highly successful Black Letter Series of books, such as a glossary and sample examination questions and answers.
Publication Date: 2021
Principles of Civil Procedure, 6th ed. by
This Concise Hornbook covers the main points of civil procedure that any student needs to understand, and covers them briefly but thoroughly enough to be understandable. It focuses on the material covered in a typical law school course on civil procedure, tied to no one casebook. It breaks down the subject of civil procedure along the standard lines: a brief orientation; then a lengthier overview of the stages of litigation, followed by a close inspection of the major procedural problems (governing law, authority to adjudicate, former adjudication, and complex litigation); and finally some reflections in conclusion. It discusses specific problems and illustrations, with the aid of generously sprinkled diagrams and special text boxes. Special attention was given to fitting the civil procedure course's main points together to form the big picture, with each topic ending in a section on the "big idea" (separation of powers, vertical federalism, horizontal federalism, full faith and credit, or procedural due process) that the student is supposed to take from the topic.
Publication Date: 2021
Civil Procedure, 7th ed. (CrunchTime Series) by
Emanuel CrunchTime provides the right information, in the right format, at the right time to prepare for exams. Based on the trusted Emanuel Law Outlines developed by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime skillfully employs flow charts so you can walk step-by-step through the major principles and topics in the course in a pattern that can be used to analyze any exam question. Abundant tips and ample review features help you approach the final with confidence. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts, and you can test your knowledge by working through the many Short-Answer Q&A s. CrunchTime lets you practice your essay exam skills as well. Exams Tips based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested. CrunchTime study aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams. Developed for students by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime titles provide the trusted guidance of Emanuel Law Outlines in a tighter, briefer format for quick review at exam time. Flow Charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts. You can test your knowledge by working through the ample Short-Answer Q&A s, which are organized by topic. Exams Tips often based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested on exams for you. They explore fact patterns typically used to test those issues. CrunchTime allows you to practice your essay exam skills by answering questions asked on past exams. Flowcharts help you craft compelling essays, and you can compare your answers to the samples provided. CrunchTime aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams. Uniform in writing style and approach, you can be confident that any title in the series is of consistent quality. Every title is frequently updated and reviewed against new developments and recent cases covered in the leading casebooks.
Publication Date: 2018
Friedman's Civil Procedure, 2nd ed. by
Practice makes perfect! Friedman's Practice Series helps you develop the skills for spotting issues and preparing A+ answers for your next exam. Real laws school exams test your knowledge of the key concepts and rules with a collection of essay and multiple-choice questions. Set up to mirror actual exams, the series features long essay questions as well as some that are relatively short and medium-length, giving you great practice in the length and variation of questions on the final. Friedman's is one of the only series to fully emulate complete essay examinations - they are as close to actual exam-questions that you can find. And as Friedman's texts are compiled by professors who wrote the exams, you get sound advice as well as keen insight on what instructors look for in grading your answers. Friedman's Practice Series titles test your knowledge with real law school exams. Test your knowledge of key concepts and rules with comprehensive essay and multiple-choice questions. Practice questions of various length prepare you for any exam. Experience actual exams! Get sound advice from the professors who wrote the exams. Find insight into what professors look for when grading.
Publication Date: 2009
Examples and Explanations for Civil Procedure, 8th ed. by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Publication Date: 2018
Glannon Guide to Civil Procedure, 4th ed. by
Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.
Publication Date: 2018
Mastering Civil Procedure, 3rd ed. by
This book combines different strategies to allow you to master civil procedure, from subject matter jurisdiction through final judgment and appeal. It uses short chapters focused on distinct topics, flow charts and other diagrams, and also discusses the cases that the major civil procedure case books rely upon to help you prepare for class. In addition, the author actually litigated federal cases for more than 20 years, and so the book emphasizes the practical impact of the rules and case law.
Publication Date: 2017
Civil Procedure in a Nutshell, 9th ed. by
Rules of civil procedure govern everything that happens outside of criminal proceedings. This Nutshell provides a road map to navigating civil procedure rules and helps build a foundation for understanding the overall picture. Topics discussed include: jurisdiction, venue, and other court-selection issues; pleading, discovery, summary judgment, and other pretrial matters; adjudication, judgments, and appeals; multi-party/multi-claim proceedings, including class actions and multidistrict litigation; plus standing, the Erie doctrine, arbitration, and other important procedural issues. The new edition covers all the subjects dealt with in today's civil procedure courses, whether four or five or six hours in length.
Publication Date: 2022
Black Letter Outline on Civil Procedure by
Softbound - New, softbound print book.
Publication Date: 2014
Federal Practice and Procedure (Wright & Miller)
Wright & Miller's Federal Practice & Procedure provides comprehensive and authoritative coverage on all procedural aspects of the practice of law before federal courts.
Moore's Federal Practice: Civil
Comprehensive and authoritative, Moore's is written by the judges, lawyers, and professors who write and amend the federal rules. Moore's Federal Practice is LexisNexis Matthew Bender's flagship treatise on federal civil, criminal, appellate, and admiralty procedure. This source -- Moore's Federal Practice - Civil (MOORES) -- contains the volumes covering Civil Practice: Volumes 1-23, 29, 30 and 31.
- Nichols Cyclopedia of Federal Procedure Cyclopedia of Federal Procedure is a treatise on civil and criminal procedure in federal courts, organized chronologically by topic, in the order in which subjects would arise in the course of litigation, including jurisdiction, trial court practice, appeal and review.
CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) has published over 1,000 computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. See a reference librarian for your free CALI activation code!
Baird
- Fall 2010 Exam - Memo
- Fall 2008 Exam - Memo
- Fall 2003 Exam - Memo
- Fall 2002 Exam - Memo
- Fall 2001 Exam - Memo
- Fall 2000 Exam - Memo
Buss
- Fall 2022 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Fall 2021 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2020 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1
- Fall 2019 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2018 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
Outlines: 2020 (Attack) / 2020 / 2014 / 2014 (attack) / 2014 (timing rules) / Undated / Undated / Undated / Undated
Casey
- Spring 2018 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2018 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2017 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2015 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2015 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2013 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2012 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
Civ. Pro I Outlines: 2015 / 2017 / 2017
Civ. Pro II Outlines: 2012 / Undated / Undated / Undated
Cox
- Spring 2011 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2010 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2009 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2007 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2006 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
Epstein
- Spring 2011 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2004 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3 - Student Answer 4
- Spring 2003 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
Filip
- Spring 2007 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2006 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2005 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2004 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
Hubbard
- Fall 2022 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2021 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2020 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Fall 2019 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2018 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2017 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2016 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2016 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2014 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2013 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2013 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2012 Exam - Memo
- Fall 2012 Exam - Memo
Civ. Pro I Outlines: 2012 / 2013 / Undated / Undated / Undated (checklist) / Undated (FRCP Chart)
II Hubbard
- Spring 2020 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Spring 2019 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
Civ. Pro II Outlines: 2013 / 2018 / 2018
LaCroix
- Spring 2017 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2016 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2014 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
II LaCroix
- Spring 2020 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Spring 2019 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
Civ. Pro II Outlines: 2014 / Undated / Undated / Undated / Undated / Undated (flowchart)
Strauss
Wood
- Fall 2022 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2021 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Fall 2020 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2015 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2014 Exam - Memo
- Spring 2010 Exam - Memo
- Spring 2009 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3 - Student Answer 4
- Spring 2008 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2001 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Spring 2000 Exam - Memo
Civ. Pro I Outlines: 2022 / 2020 (Attack) / 2020
Civ. Pro II Outlines: 2014 / Undated / Undated / Undated (attack) / Undated (attack)
Questions?
D'Angelo Comment Box
