Criminal Law Secondary Sources
Below, you will find a curated selection of the leading Criminal Law study supplements. To view the full range of supplements available through D'Angelo Law Library subscriptions, see below:
West Study Aids (Criminal Law) | Lexis Digital Library (Criminal Law) | Aspen Learning Library
Black Letter Outline on Criminal Law by
Black Letter Outlines are designed to help a law student recognize and understand the basic principles and issues of law covered in a law school course. Black Letter Outlines can be used both as a study aid when preparing for classes and as a review of the subject matter when studying for an examination. Each Black Letter Outline is written by experienced law school professors who are recognized national authorities in their subject area. This Outline covers the basic components of all crimes, as well as defenses to crimes. The offenses of criminal homicide, sexual assault, and the theft crimes are covered in detail. The Outline covers common law doctrine, modern statutory trends, and the Model Penal Code.
Publication Date: 2023
Understanding Criminal Law, 9th ed. by
This comprehensive and clearly written Understanding treatise is frequently cited by scholars and courts in their analysis of substantive criminal law, and has been a popular source of assistance to criminal law students for the past quarter century. Understanding Criminal Law is designed to be taught in conjunction with any casebook. The topics covered are those most often raised in criminal law casebooks, and coverage of these subjects is meant to complement professors' classroom discussions. The text focuses on the basic elements of, and defenses to, all crimes; provides in-depth coverage of such crimes as homicide, rape, and theft; and covers other important topics covered in the Criminal Law course, such as accomplice and inchoate liability. Understanding Criminal Law also covers theories of punishment, sources of the criminal law, and overarching principles such as legality and proportionality. The common law is emphasized with extensive comparisons to the Model Penal Code and modern statutes. This edition offers the most significant updating ever, including coverage of quickly-changing legal areas, such as sexual assault and self-defense law. Recent and ongoing revisions to the Model Penal Code are also covered.
Publication Date: 2022
Criminal Law, 5th ed. (CrunchTime Series) by
Emanuel CrunchTime provides the right information, in the right format, at the right time to prepare for exams. Based on the trusted Emanuel Law Outlines developed by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime skillfully employs flow charts so you can walk step-by-step through the major principles and topics in the course in a pattern that can be used to analyze any exam question. Abundant tips and ample review features help you approach the final with confidence. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts, and you can test your knowledge by working through the many Short-Answer Q&A s. CrunchTime lets you practice your essay exam skills as well. Exams Tips based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested. CrunchTime study aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams. Developed for students by a Harvard law student (while he was in law school), Emanuel CrunchTime titles provide the trusted guidance of Emanuel Law Outlines in a tighter, briefer format for quick review at exam time. Flow Charts walk you through a series of yes/no questions that can be used to analyze any question on the exam. The Capsule Summary allows you to quickly review key concepts. You can test your knowledge by working through the ample Short-Answer Q&A s, which are organized by topic. Exams Tips often based on hundreds of past law school and bar exam questions recap the legal issues commonly tested on exams for you. They explore fact patterns typically used to test those issues. CrunchTime allows you to practice your essay exam skills by answering questions asked on past exams. Flowcharts help you craft compelling essays, and you can compare your answers to the samples provided. CrunchTime aids structure the maximum amount of information you can learn in the last week before exams. Uniform in writing style and approach, you can be confident that any title in the series is of consistent quality. Every title is frequently updated and reviewed against new developments and recent cases covered in the leading casebooks.
Publication Date: 2015
Friedman's Criminal Law, 2nd ed. by
Practice makes perfect! Friedman's Practice Series helps you develop the skills for spotting issues and preparing A+ answers for your next exam. Real laws school exams test your knowledge of the key concepts and rules with a collection of essay and multiple-choice questions. Set up to mirror actual exams, the series features long essay questions as well as some that are relatively short and medium-length, giving you great practice in the length and variation of questions on the final. Friedman's is one of the only series to fully emulate complete essay examinations - they are as close to actual exam-questions that you can find. And as Friedman's texts are compiled by professors who wrote the exams, you get sound advice as well as keen insight on what instructors look for in grading your answers. Friedman's Practice Series titles test your knowledge with real law school exams. Test your knowledge of key concepts and rules with comprehensive essay and multiple-choice questions. Practice questions of various length prepare you for any exam. Experience actual exams! Get sound advice from the professors who wrote the exams. Find insight into what professors look for when grading.
Publication Date: 2009
Principles of Criminal Law, 3rd ed. (Concise Hornbook Series) by
Expertly written to provide comprehensive coverage of the most crucial issues in a course, the Concise Hornbook Series features concise analyses by prominent scholars of basic areas of the law. The Series focuses on core principles and concepts fundamental to understanding the subject matter. LaFave's Principles of Criminal Law provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes and accomplice liability. The book also gives attention to subjects such as causation, insanity and conspiracy.
Publication Date: 2017
Criminal Law by
LaFave and Ohlin's Criminal Law, 7th Edition is designed to function as the ideal Hornbook resource for the student studying Criminal Law. The book includes comprehensive treatment of all doctrines covered in the basic first-year Criminal Law course, regardless of which textbook the instructor uses. The materials are flexible and not keyed to a specific casebook. Doctrines are carefully explained and are thus ideal for out-of-class study to supplement more discussion-oriented casebook materials. Core topics of the Hornbook include: The underlying goals and purposes of the criminal law, including tensions between crime control and due process. Principles of statutory interpretation relevant to penal statutes. The competing rationales for criminal punishment, constitutional constraints related to sentencing, especially as regards to capital punishment and sentencing guidelines, and mental competency to stand trial. A comprehensive treatment of substantive crimes, not just "core crimes" such as all forms of homicide and sexual assault, but also all substantive offenses tested on the bar exam, including assault, battery, theft, robbery, burglary, kidnapping, and arson, and any other offense that might be included on a Criminal Law syllabus, including disorderly conduct, trespassing, and harassment. Modes of liability, including not just accomplice and conspiracy liability, but also solicitation and felony murder. The materials explore recent changes to the law in this area, including California's repeal of the felony murder rule. Inchoate offenses, including not just attempts, but also solicitation and conspiracy as inchoate substantive offenses. Doctrinal coverage of every justification and excuse, including self-defense, defensive force by police officers, necessity, duress, and insanity--including the competing doctrines for evaluating insanity arguments, and partial defenses such as diminished capacity. LaFave and Ohlin's treatment of the Criminal Law is so comprehensive that students are urged to keep the textbook for bar exam study and for initial practice as a criminal lawyer, since the Hornbook is useful as an easy-to-consult, one-volume, practice-ready reference work.
Publication Date: 2023
Glannon Guide to Criminal Law by
Law school classroom lectures can leave you with a lot of questions. Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. The Glannon Guide is your proven partner throughout the semester when you need a supplement to (or substitute for) classroom lecture. Here's why you need to use Glannon Guides to help you better understand what is being taught in the classroom: It mirrors the classroom experience by teaching through explanation, interspersed with hypotheticals to illustrate application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.
Publication Date: 2024
Criminal Law, 3rd ed. (Black Letter Series) by
Written by an experienced law school professor recognized as a national authority in criminal law, Low's Black Letter Outline on Criminal Law summarizes the black letter rules, allowing students to appreciate how different parts of course material fit together. This volume can be used to prepare both for classes and examinations.
Publication Date: 2007
Criminal Law in a Nutshell by
This guide helps you gain an overview of and develop perspective on the area of criminal law. It is organized into eight sections for quick reference. Expert discussion explores punishment, specific crimes, and the ingredients of a crime such as mens rea and actus reus. Other topics covered include special defenses, the burden of proof, and inchoate and group criminality. It also reflects on the limitations of criminal law.
ISBN: 9781685610654Publication Date: 2024
Mastering Criminal Law, 2nd ed. by
Mastering Criminal Law explores the basic principles useful in the study of criminal law, offering real world examples to understand these concepts. It provides a clear and concise consideration of the fundamental structure of a crime including statutory interpretation and sentencing. It has chapters on the typical crimes covered in most criminal law casebooks, namely, homicide, rape, assault and battery, and theft. Additionally, it covers accomplice liability, solicitation, attempt and conspiracy. It also covers defenses, including the right to present a defense. It distinguishes different approaches such as the Common Law and Model Penal Code and provides examples of different state statutes.
This book is part of the Carolina Academic Press Mastering Series edited by Russell L. Weaver, University of Louisville School of Law.
Publication Date: 2015
Examples and Explanations for Criminal Law by
Employing the unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations pedagogy, Examples & Explanations for Criminal Law combines textual material with well-written and comprehensive examples, explanations, and questions to test students' comprehension of the materials and to provide practice in applying information to fact patterns. The questions, which often raise a variety of issues in one fact situation, are similar to those on a law school or bar examination. New to the Eighth Edition: Discussion of self-defense and police use of force issues Impact of #MeToo movement on rape law Interesting hypothetical situations based on real cases in the last few years Professors and students will benefit from: Updated materials--utilizes well-known cases that have not made the appellate courts or even gone to litigation to make the material current and easily applicable Explanations include analysis of both prosecution and defense--this pedagogical approach provides valuable exam-writing skills for students Readable and accessible--often incorporates popular culture and humor to spark interest in students Highly recommended--by Atticus Falcon, author of Planet Law School, an orientation guide for students about to begin law school Straightforward presentation--clear, introductory text enables students to understand and apply principles Visual aids--tables and charts demonstrate legal standards and concepts
Publication Date: 2024
Emanuel Law Outlines for Criminal Law by
Any law school graduate will tell you that when picking your outline tool you need to pick the best because your outlines are the most important study tool you will use throughout your law school career. Developed by legendary study aid author Steve Emanuel, Emanuel® Law Outlines (ELOs) are the #1 outline choice among law students. An ELO ensures that you understand the concepts as you learn them in class and helps you study for exams throughout the semester. Here's why you need an ELO from your first day of class right through your final exam: ELOs help you focus on the concepts and issues you need to master to succeed on exams. They are easy to understand: Each ELO contains comprehensive coverage of the topics, cases, and black letter law found in your specific casebook, but is explained in a way that is understandable. The Quiz Yourself and Essay Q&A features help you test your knowledge throughout the semester. Exam Tips alert you to the issues and fact patterns that commonly pop up on exams. The Capsule Summary provides a quick review of the key concepts covered in the full Outline--perfect for exam review!
Publication Date: 2022
Burkoff's Acing Criminal Law, a Checklist Approach to Criminal Law, 5th by
This study aid features an innovative method of content organization. It uses a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Other study aids provide sample problems, but none offer the systematic approach to problem solving found in this book.
Publication Date: 2023
- Criminal Law Cold Call Companion BARBRI & West Academic’s Cold Call Companion provides you with resources to critically analyze and brief a case, distill the main points of law, prepare for the kinds of questions professors may ask in class, and so much more. Included in each Cold Call Companion are: Animated case brief videos that bring the facts to life; A written case brief; Advice for prepping for class discussion; Contextual materials to offer additional color and background; Test Yourself questions; and Carefully curated sets of additional study materials to expand your knowledge of important concepts. Confidently prepare for and engage in classroom discussion, and easily navigate to the best and more relevant study aids – right when you need them! Cold Call Companion is your essential prep for class.
Substantive Criminal Law, 2nd ed. by A respected set, Substantive Criminal Law analyzes the law in terms of caselaw and statutory law via the Model Penal Code. The text focuses on the ways specific crimes and general principles of criminal law are defined by state statutes and interpreted by the courts.
Wharton's Criminal Law by
Wharton's Criminal Law thoroughly examines and analyzes the phases of substantive criminal law in state and federal jurisdictions.
Criminal Law Deskbook by
Criminal Law Deskbook offers concise discussion of the basic principles of criminal procedure, substantive criminal law, and criminal trial strategy and tactics. * Logically organized according to the chronology of a criminal case * Thorough coverage of everything from arraignment and bail to sentencing * Numerous checklists provide a time-saving framework for analyzing all aspects of a case First published in 1984.
CALI (Computer Assisted Legal Instruction) has published over 1,000 computer-based, interactive tutorials that cover narrow topics of law. See a reference librarian for your free CALI activation code!
Epstein and Harcourt
Etienne and Masur
- Winter 2008 Exam - Memo Masur - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3 - Student Answer 4
Ferzan and McAdams
Outlines: 2013 (attack) / 2014 (attack) / 2014 / Undated (attack) / Undated
Harcourt and McAdams
- Winter 2013 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3 - Student Answer 4 - Student Answer 5 - Student Answer 6 - Student Answer 7
Lakier
- Winter 2021 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2017 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
Outlines: 2021 (attack) / 2021 / Undated (attack)
Lakier and McAdams
- Winter 2020 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2018 Exam - Memo - Memo 2 - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3 - Student Answer 4
Lakier and Rappaport
Masur
- Winter 2024 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2022 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2021 Exam - Memo
Outlines: 2020 (Attack) / 2020 / 2014 / 2017 / Undated / Undated (homicide chart) / Undated / Undated
Masur and Harcourt
Masur and Lakier
- Winter 2019 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2016 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
Masur and Miles
- Spring 2015 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2014 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2013 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2012 Exam - Student Answer 1
- Winter 2011 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
Masur and Rappaport
- Winter 2020 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2018 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3 - Student Answer 4 - Student Answer 5 - Student Answer 6
- Winter 2017 Exam - Rappaport Student Answer 1 - Rappaport Student Answer 2
McAdams
- Winter 2024 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2023 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Winter 2017 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2015 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2 - Student Answer 3
- Spring 2012 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
Miles
Outlines: Undated
Rappaport
- Winter 2023 Exam
- Winter 2022 Exam - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
- Winter 2021 Exam - Memo - Student Answer 1 - Student Answer 2
Outlines: 2018 / Undated (attack)
Starr
Starr and Rappaport
Questions?
D'Angelo Comment Box
