Select Bibliographies for Medieval Studies
- Online Medieval Sources Bibliography | Fordham UniversityAnnotated Bibliography of Printed and Online Primary Sources for the Middle Ages, Center for Medieval Studies, Fordham University.
- Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern BibliographiesRecords from the International Medieval Bibliography, Bibliographie de civilisation médiévale and International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance are accessible in one search providing access to 14 centuries of European history from 300 to 1700.
- HyperBibliography | University of MichiganIncludes all the Middle English materials which are cited in the Middle English Dictionary. Although this is not an exhaustive bibliography of Middle English writing, it offers the most comprehensive single list of ME materials at present available in electronic form, and is searchable in multiple ways.
- Medieval Studies | Oxford BibliographiesBibliographies by Oxford listed by subject.
- A catalogue of the pre-1500 western manuscript books at the Newberry LibraryBibliography of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts in the collection of the Newberry Library. Includes articles and books.
- TLAVI | Tesoro dei Lessici degli Antichi Volgari ItalianiDigital annotated bibliography containing information about glossaries for medieval Italian manuscripts and dialects.
Introduction
This page directs users to a selection of the main catalogs published for researching manuscripts in libraries and museums. Catalogs are organized based on location, either in North America or in Europe. Many of the catalogs listed on this page are reproduced in Print Catalogs and Digitized Collections. In the left column there are some Tips for Accessing Collections and a Bibliography for conducting research with medieval manuscripts.
Des cleres et nobles femmes, Ms. fr. 12410, folio 18v. French author after Boccaccio's De mulierbus claris. Middle French, c. 1402. Collection of the Duke of Burgundy. Bibliothèque Nationale de France. LUNA: https://tinyurl.com/y88tplrl (UChicago login required.)
Libraries and Museums | North America
Listed Alphabetically
- Charles Carroll Marden Collection of Spanish Documents, Princeton
- Spanish documents dating from 1347-1887)
- Ernest Cushing Richardson Collection of Medieval and Renaissance Documents, Princeton
- Medieval and Renaissance Italian manuscripts from 1380-1851.
- John Hinsdale Scheide Collection, Princeton
- French, English, and Italian manuscripts, mostly from 1200-1650.
