Digital Dictionaries
Latin
French
English
Italian
Spanish and Catalan
Portuguese
German
Related Library Guides
-
English Literature
by Meredith Gozo Updated Nov 19, 2024 1274 views this year
- RDIN 20100: Afrofuturism(s)
Dictionaries & Abbreviations
Introduction
This page connects users with a selection of dictionaries specific to working with medieval sources. Print Dictionaries are listed in the center column, and when possible, followed by abbreviation guides. Digital Dictionaries are listed in the left column. All sources on this page are grouped by language beginning with Latin, and followed by English, French, Italian, Spanish, Catalan, and Portuguese, and German.
MS 550, Li romanz de Dieu, folio 44 (detail). Herman de Valenciennes, c. 1405-1420. Besançon, Bibliothèque Municipale. LUNA: https://tinyurl.com/y77zc3ry (UChicago login required.)
Latin
Print Dictionaries
Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus by Call Number: PA2890.N54 2002 c.1ISBN: 9004112790Publication Date: 2002- A Medieval Latin-English Dictionary byCall Number: PA2365.E4 T74 2005ISBN: 0773460675Publication Date: 2005
- Revised Medieval Latin Word-List from British and Irish Sources byCall Number: PA2891.L35Publication Date: 1965
- Mediae Latinitatis lexicon minus : Lexique latin médiéval--frana̧is/anglais. A medieval Latin--French/English dictionary byCall Number: PA2893.F8N7 c.3Publication Date: 1954-1976
- Lexicon Latinitatis Medii Aevi Regni Legionis (S. VIII-1230) Imperfectum; Latin-Spanish Lexicon byCall Number: PA2893.S7 P47 2010ISBN: 9782503534473Publication Date: 2010
- Glossarium Latino-Germanicum mediae et infimae aetatis byCall Number: PA2893.G3D46 1997Publication Date: 1997 (Reprint, originally published 1857)
- Lexicon musicum Latinum medii aevi; Dictionary of Medieval Latin Music Terminology to the End of the 15th Century byCall Number: ML108.L494 1992 c.1Publication Date: 1992*Also includes text in German.
Abbreviation Guides
- The Elements of Abbreviation in Medieval Latin Paleography byCall Number: Z111.C264Publication Date: 1982
- Lexicon abbreviaturarum : Dizionario di abbreviature latine ed italiane, usate nelle carte e codici specialmente del medio-evo, riprodotte con oltre 14000 segni incisi, con l'aggiunta di uno studio sulla brachigrafia medioevale, un prontuario di Sigle Epi byCall Number: Z111.C26 1973Publication Date: 1973
French
Print Dictionaries
Dictionnaire du Francais Medieval by Call Number: PC2620 .M38 2015ISBN: 9782251445540Publication Date: 2015
Old French-English Dictionary by Call Number: PC2891 .H56 2006ISBN: 9780521027045Publication Date: 2006- Vocabulaire historique du Moyen Âge : Occident, Byzance, Islam byCall Number: CB351 .V55 2007ISBN: 9782910828424Publication Date: 2007
Dictionnaire de Paleographie Francaise by Call Number: Z115.F7B83 2016ISBN: 9782251693019Publication Date: 2016- Lexicon Latinitatis Medii Aevi = Dictionnaire latin-français des auteurs du moyen-âge : praesertim ad res ecclesiasticas investigandas pertinens byCall Number: PA2308.F8B62Publication Date: 1975
Occitan and Provençal
Dictionnaire de l'occitan médiéval : DOM by Call Number: PC3376.D538 1996 c.1ISBN: 3484505117Publication Date: 1997- Dictionnaire français-occitan provençal byCall Number: PC3376.R68 1999ISBN: 2844066232Publication Date: 1999
Abbreviation Guides
- Dictionnaire des abréviations latines et françaises usitées : dans les inscriptions lapidaires et métalliques, les manuscrits et les chartes du moyen âge byCall Number: Z111.C485Publication Date: 1884
English
Print Dictionaries
- A Middle-English dictionary : Containing Words used by English Writers from the Twelfth to Fifteenth Century byCall Number: PE679.S89Publication Date: 1891
A Dictionary of Medieval Terms and Phrases by Call Number: DA129 .C67 2004ISBN: 1843840235Publication Date: 2005
A Guide to Editing Middle English by Call Number: PR275.T45 G85 1998ISBN: 047210604XPublication Date: 1998- L'anglais médiéval : introduction, textes commentés et traduits byCall Number: PE123.C37 1996ISBN: 9782503503127Publication Date: 1996
Abbreviation Guides
Italian
Print Dictionaries
- Vocabolario degli accademici della Crusca byCall Number: f PC1625.A32 c.1Publication Date: 1863-1923Full text online: PC1625.A32
- Glossario degli antichi volgari italiani byCall Number: PC1715.C64 1983 c.1ISBN: 9519941819Publication Date: 1983
Sintassi dell'italiano antico : la prosa del Duecento e del Trecento by Call Number: PC1077 .S55 2012ISBN: 9788843065943Publication Date: 2012
Metrica e retorica del Medioevo by Call Number: PC1511 .I54 2011ISBN: 9788843057900Publication Date: 2011
Il Trecento toscano : la lingua di Dante, Petrarca e Boccaccio by Call Number: PC1077 .M36 2003ISBN: 8815088997Publication Date: 2003- Les langues de l'Italie médiévale : textes d'histoire et de littérature Xe-XIVe siècle byCall Number: PC1715 .L35 2002ISBN: 9782503511009Publication Date: 2002
Abbreviation Guides
- Lexicon abbreviaturarum : Dizionario di abbreviature latine ed italiane, usate nelle carte e codici specialmente del medio-evo, riprodotte con oltre 14000 segni incisi, con l'aggiunta di uno studio sulla brachigrafia medioevale, un prontuario di Sigle Epi byCall Number: Z111.C26 1973Publication Date: 1973
Spanish, Catalan, and Portuguese
Spanish Print Dictionaries
- Diccionario Del Español Medieval byCall Number: f PC4715.Z5M8 1987 c.1ISBN: 3533038793Publication Date: 1987
- Diccionario medieval español : desde las Glosas emilianenses y silenses (s.X) hasta el siglo XV byCall Number: PC4715.Z5A450 1986 c.1Publication Date: 1986
- A Medieval Spanish Word-List : A Preliminary Dated Vocabulary of First Appearances up to Berceo byCall Number: PC4715.Z5O3Publication Date: 1940
- A Manual of Manuscript Transcription for the Dictionary of the Old Spanish Language byCall Number: Z115.S7M18 1984ISBN: 0942260368Publication Date: 1984
Catalan Print Dictionaries
Lengua romance en textos latinos de la Edad Media : sobre los orígenes del castellano escrito by Call Number: PC4715.L45 2003ISBN: 8495211815Publication Date: 2003
Portuguese Print Dictionaries
- Dicionário da língua portuguesa medieval byCall Number: PC5327 .S56 2007ISBN: 8572164723Publication Date: 2007
- Dicionário da língua portuguesa; especialmente dos períodos medieval a clássico byCall Number: PC5327.D5 c.1Publication Date: 1950
Abbreviation Guides
- Diccionario de abreviaturas hispanas de los siglos XIII al XVIII : con un apéndice de expresiones y fórmulas jurídico-diplomáticas de uso corriente byCall Number: Z115.S7R530 1983ISBN: 8430090908Publication Date: 1983
German
Dictionaries of Medieval German Languages by ISBN: 2503506011Publication Date: 1997
Kleines mittelhochdeutsches Wörterbuch by Call Number: PF4327.H460 1993ISBN: 3484106964Publication Date: 1993- Wörterbuch der Mittelhochdeutschen Urkundensprache byCall Number: PF4327.W67 1986 c.1ISBN: 9783503022472Publication Date: 1986
- Mittelhochdeutsches Wörterbuch : mit Benutzung des Nachlasses von Georg Friedrich Benecke byCall Number: PF4327.M83 1990 c.1ISBN: 3777604666Publication Date: 1990 (Reprint, originally published 1854-66)
- Neuhochdeutscher Index zum mittelhochdeutschen Wortschatz byCall Number: PF4327.K64 1990ISBN: 3777604224Publication Date: 1990
- Mittellateinisch-hochdeutsch-böhmisches Wörterbuch, nach einer Handschrift vom Jahre 1470 byCall Number: PA2927.D56Publication Date: 1965
- Lexikon des Mittelalters byCall Number: D114.L42 2000ISBN: 3476018199Publication Date: 2000*Online resource
*Also available as a CD-ROM from Mansueto Library: CDRom D114.L42 2000
