Medieval Digital Humanities Collectives and Consortiums
- The Medici Archive ProjectDigital archival project seeking to innovate new strategies for digital humanities research through the Medici archive collections.
- The Digital MedievalistAn international web-based community for medievalists working with digital media.
- Associazione per l'informatica umanistica e la cultura digitaleItalian Early Modern digital humanities organization that hosts an annual DH conference.
- Codices Digital StudioA digital studio for the optical, chemical, and computational
analysis of manuscripts, texts, and early printed books based at the University of Missouri. - The Medieval Manuscript in the 21st Century, Rare Book SchoolCourse designed to introduce students of both the digital humanities and manuscript studies to the concepts and realities of working with medieval manuscripts in the twenty-first century. See website for current availability.
Related Library Guides
Digital Humanities and the Middle Ages
Introduction
Recent digital humanities projects grounded in medieval themes and scholarship range from projects based in Text and Manuscripts, to Mapping, and beyond. The Digital Middle Ages page is a starting point for exploring digital humanities projects currently being undertaken that have a medieval or early modern focus.
The Print and Digital Resources page provides links to Print Resources, Journals, and digital User Guides on digital humanities scholarship that can be applied to any field or historical period. Medieval and Early Modern specific sources are listed at the top of each box, followed by broader resources. This page also contains links to tutorials for developing digital humanities skills grouped into three main types of objectives: Digitization and Digital Analysis Tools for Text, Digitally Archiving Content, and Visualizing Maps and Charts.
Multiple academic institutions and consortiums of digital humanists host workshops, courses, and conferences aiming to connect students and scholars with resources for training in digital humanities tools. A select list including institutions based Nationally and Internationally is listed on the Digital Humanities Centers page. There is also a list of Digital Humanities Support at the University of Chicago, and a select list of academic digital humanities Consortiums with a Medieval and Early Modern focus. By exploring these websites, users can also find links to further training and ongoing digital humanities projects.
Manuscript-Based Digital Humanities Projects
- Digital Rolls and Fragments, Yale UniversityThis website unites the work of several medieval digital humanities research projects associated with the Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library.
- Petrarchive Project, Indiana UniversityA rich text interactive edition of Petrarch's Songbook.
- Dante SourcesDanteSources is a Digital Library, which allows users to retrieving information about Dante primary sources, such as the works of other authors that Dante cites in his texts through digital visualization in the form of tables and charts. Winner of the 2015 DH Awards Best DH Tool or Suite of Tools. In Italian and English.
- Mapping Manuscript MigrationsLinks disparate datasets from Europe and North America to provide an international view of the history and provenance of medieval and Renaissance manuscripts. Researchers can analyze and visualize the aggregated data at scales ranging from individual manuscripts to thousands of manuscripts.
- The Making and Knowing Project, Columbia UniversityDigital research and pedagogical initiative in the Center for Science and Society at Columbia University that explores the intersections between artistic making and scientific knowing. From 2014 through 2019, the Project’s focus is the creation of a digital critical edition of an intriguing anonymous sixteenth-century French artisanal and technical manuscript, BnF Ms. Fr. 640. Through the Project’s transcription, English translation, and encoding of the text, the edition presentz the text of Fr. 640 in a searchable digital format in both French and English translation for the first time.
Select Medieval Mapping and Digital Scholarship Projects
- Mapping Gothic FranceDatabase including images, charts, and texts showing the parallel development of Gothic Architecture and the formation of France in the 12-13th centuries, considered in 3D.
- Visualizing VeniceDigital humanities initiative between scholars, students, and architects researching methods of digitally visualizing Venice through documents, maps, and images.
- Florentia IllustrataDigital mapping and archiving project at UChicago focusing on visualization of Florence through maps.
- Historia y Memoria Digital, Universidad de MadridThis project researches opportunities for knowledge of the past on the Internet, how historical knowledge is represented and generated, and by whom, and how socializing takes place in the digital media.
- Database of Dedications to Saints in Medieval ScotlandOnline database allowing users to search medieval saints by name, dedication, and mapped data. Platform can also be downloaded.
- Corpus Vitrearum Medii Aevi DeutschlandInternational digital research project registering and editing medieval glass paintings in Germany, developed at workplaces in Freiburg and Potsdam (Germany).
- Controversia et ConfessioOnline research and editing project documenting theological disputes following the Augsburg Interim from 1548 and the Leipzig Interim. Over 2000 records.
- Cultures of Knowledge | Networking the Republic of Letters 1550-1750Database based at the University of Oxford, using a variety of digital research methods to reassemble and understand early modern correspondence networks.
- PoLet500 | Polemiche Letterarie del CinquecentoDatabase of literary controversies in the Italian Cinquecento. The PoLet500 archive links data by quality of intertextual components: reference to the same topic or the same character, sharing of bibliographic entries, and reference history.
Picturing Technology in the Middle Ages
"Building of the Tower of Babel". Unknown artist, French, c. 1244-54. Pierpont Morgan Library, New York, MS M.638. The Crusader Bible, folio 3r. LUNA: https://luna.lib.uchicago.edu/luna/servlet/s/3n1d4t (UChicago login required.)
Additional images from this collection in LUNA: (https://luna.lib.uchicago.edu/luna/servlet/s/m09164) or request the book below.
For more information about working with illuminated images see this guide's page on images, containing resources for archiving images pre- and post- research, a list of databases with digitized image collections, and tips for using images in research, publication, and teaching.
Guide Author
Ask a Librarian
Contact:
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Business, Help Guides, Humanities, Physical Sciences, Social Sciences