Library Guides: Public Policy: News

Text Mining Newspapers

Text mining of newspapers is now available through ProQuest's TDM Studio online service. This offers access to almost all sources in Global Newsstream, ProQuest Historical Newspapers and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses. Our other news sources either don't allow text mining or have conditions on access.

Learn more about TDM Studio on our guide.

ProQuest TDM Studio
by Ask a Librarian Updated Jul 2, 2024 390 views this year

Newspaper Databases

Use these resources to search for newspaper articles on a particular topic.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Academic
A full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, news wires, news transcripts, business, and legal information. Dates of coverage vary by title.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Content is available in many different languages, including Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Stock data and indices are available for 5 years.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic citations and full-text articles appearing in numerous U.S. ethnic minority newspapers, consumer magazines, and some journals. The database focus is on African American, American Indian, Asian American, and U.S. Latino publications, though many other minority groups are also included.

Chicago Foreign Press Survey
& more less...
The Chicago Foreign Language Press Survey was published in 1942 by the Chicago Public Library Omnibus Project of the Work Projects Administration of Illinois. Its purpose was to translate into English and classify selected news articles appearing in the Chicago area foreign language press from 1861 to 1938.

Eureka.cc This link opens in a new window
Canadian news database with extensive coverage of newspapers with from around the world in French, English, Spanish, German, etc. Especially strong in content from Canada, the U.S., and Europe. Includes pdf versions of many newspapers. Excellent local and regional content.

Google News Archive Search
& more less...
Browse historical digitized newspapers from the US and Canada. A search feature is also available.

ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from recent years from over 2500 news sources worldwide. Includes the Chicago Tribune 1985- present, Washington Post 1987 -, the Times (London) 1992- and the New York Times 1980- present
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The distinctive collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
U.S. and some selected international newspapers. This resource is funded by the Illinois State Library.

Today’s Newspapers via News Databases

You can access U.S. newspapers without a subscription via our many news databases. Select the title below to read today's paper.

Additional News Resources

Chicago Public Policy

The Daily Whale
Provides "detailed coverage of public meetings; original reporting; aggregation of government, business and political news; and a database of the latest public bid opportunities and government contracts in Chicago, Cook County and the State of Illinois."

TV & Radio

Museum of Broadcast Communications (Chicago)
& more less...
Online archive and museum of television and radio history, with a focus on local Chicago programming.
National Public Radio
& more less...
The NPR website provides archives of many of their broadcasts.
EUScreen
& more less...
EUScreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives.

C-SPAN Video Library This link opens in a new window
The complete video archive of the C-SPAN cable network. Congressional debates, hearing, presidential speeches, and more.

TV News: Search and Borrow
From the Internet Archive, a freely-available collection of news segments from US news outlets, 2009-present.
& more less...
From the Internet Archive, a freely-available collection of news segments from US news outlets, 2009-present.

Television and Radio Transcripts

The following databases provide transcripts of broadcasts, primarily news or talk programs.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Select "TV and Radio Broadcast Transcripts" in the quick search box. Go to "Sources" to select individual news programs.
A full-text news and information service that provides access to newspapers, magazines, news wires, news transcripts, business, and legal information. Dates of coverage vary by title.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Select "Sources" and under Source Category, select "Publications by Type" and highlight "Transcripts" as a category or a specific show.
Provides access to global news and business information, including local newspapers, same-day newswires, company reports, and media programs. Content is available in many different languages, including Chinese, French, German, Japanese and Russian. Stock data and indices are available for 5 years.