This is the "Home" page of the "How do I find newspapers?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

How do I find newspapers?   Tags: chicago, news, newspapers  

A guide to locating newspapers for your research.
Last update: Nov 7, 2011 URL: http://guides.lib.uchicago.edu/newspapers  Print Guide   RSS Updates ShareThis

HomePrint Page
  Search: 
 
 

New York Times Online

The Library does not have a subscription to the New York Times website.  However, we do have access to the Times (and other papers that require subscription access) through our newspaper databases.  We recommend:

  • Factiva  
      
    Best for Browsing Select the "News Pages" tab at the top of the screen to browse by date (past two weeks) or section.
  • ProQuest Newspapers  
      
    Best for Searching Go to "More Options" and type in publication title.
 

Finding Newspapers at the University of Chicago Library

Online

To locate specific newspapers by title, use our e-journals database.  Or, if you are looking for articles on a topic, search one of our news databases.

In Print

The Library receives only a few newspapers in print.  Most are located in the Current Periodicals reading area on the 2nd Floor of Regenstein Library.  Newspapers from East Asia, South Asia, and the Middle East are shelved on the 5th Floor of Regenstein. Some historical newspapers may be found in the bookstacks. Check the Library Catalog or Lens for specific titles.

On Microfilm

Newspapers on microfilm can be found in the Microforms Collection on the 3rd Floor of Regenstein Library. Search the Library Catalog or Lens for specific titles.

Core Newspaper Databases

Search for articles from newspapers around the world using these databases.

Finding Newspapers at Other Libraries

Below are some suggested resources for finding newspapers at other libraries. While some libraries will loan newspapers on microfilm via Interlibrary Loan service, many libraries will require a specific article citation. 

  • WorldCat
    Search the WorldCat database to locate newspapers held by other libraries. For best results, use "Advanced Search", limiting your search to "Serial".
  • Center for Research Libraries
    CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. It has an extremely strong newspaper collection (foreign, domestic, and specialized), and liberal borrowing policies.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Ask a Librarian
Contact Info:
Phone: 773-702-4685
Email
Visit Us
Chat:
 

© The University of Chicago Library
1100 East 57th Street Chicago Illinois 60637

Description

Loading  Loading content... please wait