SAGE Research Methods
- SAGE Research Methods Core This link opens in a new windowReference guides to conducting social science research
Books on Research Methods
Analyzing Public Policy by
Solving complex policy issues requires an analyst to balance constituents′ needs with the political and economic realities of governance. In Gupta′s foundational text, each concept - whether it′s research design, forecasting, or cost-benefit analysis - is illustrated with recent cases such as the 2008 banking crisis and a GAO report on poverty, allowing students to master a skill and understand its real world application. Expanded coverage of the issues of measurement that arise in economic analyses helps to emphasize the subjective considerations within the decision-making process. New chapters include coverage of the social goals of public policy and how to reconcile divergent views of analysts and policymakers. Students benefit from tables, figures, key terms, and exercises, and instructor′s resources include these graphics in electronic format and a solutions manual.
ISBN: 9781604265705Publication Date: 2010-02-02
Basic Research Methods by
This book offers a comprehensive and well-rounded view of research as a tool for problem-solving in the wide range of the social sciences. It is built on the foundation of philosophical pragmatism, postulating that the value of knowledge and research methodologies lie in their usefulness in engaging with the real world. The book synthesizes both positivist and non-positivist methodologies. It is meant for students who are undertaking their first research course or project. The techniques, while basic in nature, are used in many masters and doctoral research studies. The book uses engaging language, real-life examples from various subject areas and follows an inductive approach. With the help of this book, from an experiential base, students should be able to build a more advanced conceptual and theoretical understanding of research through further reading and practice. This book discusses a policy-applied-pure-action model of research covering both quantitative and qualitative methods for case study, survey and experimental designs. It pays considerable attention to measurement principles and to data analysis techniques that make practical use of Microsoft Excel for analysis of both words and numbers. It includes a building block approach to writing, as well as the author's thoughts on application of research in the real world.
ISBN: 9788132105961
Dictionary of Statistics and Methodology by
In this newly updated Fourth Edition, new terms are defined, new synonyms are included, and both are illustrated with new graphics. Growth in the fields of statistics and methodology has mandated these inclusions. The number of definitions and illustrations has grown from about 2,400 in the third edition to about 2,800 in this one, an increase of around 16 percent. While some entries have been shortened and obsolete ones have been deleted, which helped make room for the new entries, comparatively few terms from the earlier editions have been deleted. The importance of classic terms persists even as new techniques and the terms describing them are invented. Finally, the suggestions for further reading have been updated and a new section on Useful Websites on Statistics and Methodology has been added.
ISBN: 9781412971096Publication Date: 2011-03-08
Encyclopedia of Research Design by
Research design can be daunting for all types of researchers. At its heart it might be described as a formalized approach toward problem solving, thinking, and acquiring knowledge--the success of which depends upon clearly defined objectives and appropriate choice of statistical tools, tests, and analysis to meet a project's objectives.Comprising more than 500 entries, the Encyclopedia of Research Design elucidates how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results. Two additional features carry this encyclopedia far above other works in the field: bibliographic entries devoted to significant articles in the history of research design and reviews of contemporary tools, such as software and statistical procedures, used to analyze results.The Encyclopedia of Research Design is the perfect instrument for new learners as well as experienced researchers to explore both the original and newest branches of the field.
ISBN: 1412961270Publication Date: 2010-06-22
Intelligent Research Design by
This book offers advice to doctoral researchers and graduate and advanced undergraduate students on how to embark on their research. Based on a decade of teaching early-stage researchers in the social sciences at the LSE and other universities, and written with the central problems of beginning researchers in mind, Bob Hancké guides them through the process of thinking about the links between theory, cases and data, and to do so in a way that helps to turn theirinitial plausible ideas into convincing arguments. This lively book, deliberately jargon-free and with a hands-on, pragmatic approach to research design, addresses the problems that research students face - or ignore, often at their peril - in the course of their first few years. Its central message isthat research is a complex and iterative process in which researchers construct every relevant part of their project with one goal in mind: make a persuasive point. They define the question they ask and the debate they engage, construct their cases and data to answer that question, and write it up as an argument that brings out the strengths of their research design. It addresses such key issues as statistical versus configurational approaches, time in social science research, different typesof case studies and comparative research, and a critical approach to data. The Appendix gives tips on presenting and discussing papers, and on crafting research proposals.
ISBN: 9780191570995
Methods for Community Public Health Research by
This book presents a new approach to conducting, evaluating, and presenting community and public health research... This is a] valuable book for learning alternative ways of conducting and disseminating research."--Doody's Medical Reviews The Burke & Albert text is a "must-have" for all community researchers in public health. It contains innovative, community-engaged research methods that are described in an easily understandable manner. Challenging the notion of the quantitative-qualitative dichotomy, the contributors include integrated research methods including spatial analysis, concept mapping, network approaches, system dynamics, visual voice, and news media analysis. This is the first text to advance beyond traditional research methods for promoting community health by presenting a new paradigm that integrates qualitative and quantitative research methods. Written for graduate students of public health and practicing researchers, the book highlights new technologies and methodologies that are particularly suited to addressing complex health issues, translating research into action, and engaging the community and relevant stakeholders. Eschewing the rigid distinction between qualitative and quantitative methods, this new paradigm facilitates a more fluid use of integrated methods and interdisciplinary expertise. With a focus on inferring meaning, the book stresses the conjoint effects of place, time, voice, organization, and scale on health outcomes. Use of these new research methods will provide greater insight into how and why contextual and community factors impact health and aid in developing more effective intervention programs. The text focuses on new methods for inferring meaning from both the quantitative information that characterizes communities and the words community members use to describe their lives. It pays particular attention to data collection and analysis and clearly demonstrates the intricacies of using spatial, systems, and modeling analysis for community health. The first section on inferring meaning from numbers includes spatial analysis, agent-based models, community network analysis, and realist reviews. The second section, about inferring meaning from words, addresses system dynamics, concept mapping, visual voices, and media analysis. Chapters describe, step by step, how to apply new methodologies to pressing health issues and provide Web links to interactive mapping and videos of agent-based models. Additionally, the authors provide examples from their research to support methodological points. Key features: Introduces a new paradigm for community public health research that integrates qualitative and quantitative methods Provides in-depth guidance about applying these new methodologies to pressing community health issues Details applications of new methods such as agent-based simulations, visual voice methods, geospatial analysis, and concept mapping Bridges the disciplines of community health and epidemiology Written for and by multidisciplinary public health scholars
ISBN: 9780826198778Publication Date: 2014-03-01
Practicing Oral History to Improve Public Policies and Programs by
The use of contemporary oral history to improve public policies and programs is a growing, transdisciplinary practice. Indispensable for students and practitioners, Practicing Oral History to Improve Public Policies and Programs is the first book to define the practice, explain how policy-makers use it, show how it relates to other types of oral history, and provide guidance on the ethics and legalities involved. Packed with case studies from disciplines as diverse as medicine, agriculture, and race relations, as well as many examples from the author's own work, this book provides an essential overview of the current state of the field within oral history for public policy and a complete methodology for the process of designing and implementing an oral history project. The comprehensive How Tosection demonstrates how to use the practice to advance the reader's career, their chosen discipline and the public interest, whether their field is in oral history or in public policy. This book is an important resource for oral historians, fledgling or experienced, who are keen to find new applications and funding for their work, as well as for professionals in the public and not-for-profit sectors who want to learn to use oral history to improve their own policies and programs.
ISBN: 9781629584850Publication Date: 2017-09-14
Research Methods in Indigenous Contexts by
This forward-looking resource offers readers a modern contextual framework for conducting social science research with indigenous peoples. Foundational chapters summarize current UN-based standards for indigenous rights and autonomy, with their implications for research practice. Coverage goes on to detail minimally-invasive data-gathering methods, survey current training and competency issues, and consider the scientist's role in research, particularly as a product of his/her own cultural background. From these guidelines and findings, students and professionals have a robust base for carrying out indigenous research that is valid and reliable as well as respectful and ethical. Among the topics covered: · Cultural theories and cultural dominance. · The legal framework of research in indigenous contexts. · The role of language within indigenous peoples' cultural rights. · Methodology: how to optimally collect data in the field. · Researchers' influence and philosophy of science. · Learning how to prepare research in indigenous contexts. Research Methods in Indigenous Contexts is an important reference benefitting a wide audience, including students and researchers in the social sciences, humanities, and psychology; decision-makers of NGOs and GOs that act with regard to humanitarian aid, for tourism projects, or any other contingency with indigenous contexts; and policymakers interested in the aspects of human activity upon which indigenous cultural concerns are based.
ISBN: 9783319727745Publication Date: 2018-02-12
Research Methods in the Social Sciences by
`This book provides an excellent balance between theory and practical application in social research. The book works well to develop students′ understanding of particular methods of inquiry, embedding them within "real world" settings. I enviSAGE that it will help students to understand the nuances of particular approaches, the complimentarity of certain methods, and the areas of conflict/contention within social research in a way that overcomes the sometimes abstract nature of these discussions′ - Dr Jon Tan, School of Education and Professional Training, Leeds Metropolitan University `This book unlocks all of the important areas of social science research in an easily digestible and stimulating style. Both students and supervisors in a range of disciplines will find this an excellent resource′ - Fazal Rizvi, Professor in Educational Policy Studies at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Rather than being written by one or two `generalists′, this innovative book is written by a large number of active researchers about their specialisms in methods/methodologies. The book introduces all the key qualitative and quantitative research methodologies and methods and seeks to draw readers into a community of researchers engaged in reflection on the research process. Included are narrative accounts of carrying out a research study that explore the way in which the research design and methods are shaped by the methodology, discussing problematic issues, and reflecting on the way in which knowledge and understanding develop. Aimed at researchers and postgraduate students, it will also be invaluable for students at masters level. Click on the companion website logo above to access additional resources and links to accompany each chapter in the book. `Research Methods in the Social Sciences is a valuable pedagogical tool. It is organized as a dialogue between theory and key concepts, and practice - stories from the field allowing novices and scholars alike to see how critical interpretive research is actually conducted′ - Norman K Denzin, University of Illinois
ISBN: 076194401XPublication Date: 2004-12-08
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods by
The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods offers a step-by-step guide to overcoming the challenges inherent in research projects that deal with "big and broad data," from the formulation of research questions through to the interpretation of findings. This handbook includes chapters on specific social media platforms such as Twitter, Sina Weibo, and Instagram, as well as a series of critical chapters. The holistic approach is organized into the following sections: Conceptualizing & Designing Social Media Research Collection & Storage Qualitative Approaches to Social Media Data Quantitative Approaches to Social Media Data Diverse Approaches to Social Media Data Analytical Tools Social Media Platforms The SAGE Handbook of Social Media Research Methods is the single most comprehensive resource for any scholar or graduate student embarking on a social media project.
ISBN: 1473916321Publication Date: 2017-02-27
Studying Educational and Social Policy by
The overall purpose of this text is to introduce beginning researchers to the study of educational and social policy, how it has been examined from a scholarly perspective, and the salient issues to consider in conceptualizing and conducting policy research. The emphasis is on "introduce," as the various policy fields within the public sector (for example, education, energy, health, labor) are much too diverse to include in depth in a single volume on theoretical concepts and research methods. The focus is not so much on the substance of policymaking as on understanding the interplay between how policy is made and implemented and the various conceptual approaches and methods researchers can use to frame and conduct policy studies. The underlying assumption is that a critique of the substantive, theoretical, and methodological issues involved in studying policy can help researchers conduct policy studies that are more informative in guiding policy development and more effective in assessing the impact of policy reforms. *Part I acquaints readers with substantive issues and challenges related to the study of the policy process, and includes chapters on federalism and policymaking, and on studying policy development, implementation, and impact. *Part II examines different conceptual frameworks and theories for the study of policy, with chapters on political culture and policymaking, the punctuated-equilibrium theory and the advocacy coalition framework, economic and organizational perspectives, and new approaches (e.g., feminism, critical theory, postmodernism). *Part III focuses research methods for studying policy, covering research design, qualitative methods, multilevel methods for policy research, and growth modeling methods for examining policy change. *Part IV compares the diversity of approaches used by policy scholars with respect to their strengths and weaknesses, and presents a number of issues for further consideration in conducting policy research. This introduction to theories and methods of conducting policy research is intended to give prospective researchers an appreciation of the relationship among policy problems, empirical methods, and practice, and to contribute to building their skills in conceptualizing and conducting policy research that answers important questions. The text includes examples of studies to illustrate the diversity of methodological techniques, and discusses issues related to the design and conduct of original educational policy studies. Studying Educational and Social Policy: Theoretical Concepts and Research Methods is designed primarily for graduate courses in educational policy and educational research and is appropriate as well for research methodology courses in other disciplines, including statistics and research methodology in the social sciences, organizational studies, public policy, and political science
ISBN: 1410610438Publication Date: 2004-07-19
Using Statistics in Social Research by
This book covers applied statistics for the social sciences with upper-level undergraduate students in mind. The chapters are based on lecture notes from an introductory statistics course the author has taught for a number of years. The book integrates statistics into the research process, with early chapters covering basic philosophical issues underpinning the process of scientific research. These include the concepts of deductive reasoning and the falsifiability of hypotheses, the development of a research question and hypotheses, and the process of data collection and measurement. Probability theory is then covered extensively with a focus on its role in laying the foundation for statistical reasoning and inference. After illustrating the Central Limit Theorem, later chapters address the key, basic statistical methods used in social science research, including various z and t tests and confidence intervals, nonparametric chi square tests, one-way analysis of variance, correlation, simple regression, and multiple regression, with a discussion of the key issues involved in thinking about causal processes. Concepts and topics are illustrated using both real and simulated data. The penultimate chapter presents rules and suggestions for the successful presentation of statistics in tabular and graphic formats, and the final chapter offers suggestions for subsequent reading and study.
ISBN: 9781461485735Publication Date: 2013-09-07
