Southern Asia

Reference sources, books, images, maps, and more. The Digital South Asia Library is a project of the Center for Research Libraries and the University of Chicago.

Image database covering architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as many other forms of visual culture. Select "Search and Browse for Images" to begin using the database.

Hindi Cinema features full interview rushes and actuality footage with leading personalities from the Hindi film industry, sourced from the private collection of Nasreen Munni Kabir and originally produced by Hyphen Films Ltd between 1986 and 2011 for inclusion in various Channel 4 UK television series. Hindi Cinema also includes selected interviews from the documentary Bollywood Dancing produced for BBC 2 in 2001. The film footage are supplemented by photographs by Peter Chappell and movie posters from the collection at the British Film Institute. The resource focuses on Hindi cinema, the industry producing Hindi/Urdu language films in Mumbai, India (formerly known as Bombay), and now popularly known as ‘Bollywood’.

Asian Film Online: Volume I offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection curated by film scholars and critics, viewers can explore the impact of globalization and urbanization on peoples everyday lives throughout the greater Asian region. Faculty and students engaged in area studies, anthropology, film studies, philosophy, geography, education, religion, gender studies, world literature, urban development, cross-cultural communication, journalism, social sciences, and humanities will benefit from exploring this rare collection of films that make silent voices heard.
From their website

Docuseek2 provides exclusive educational streaming access to documentary and social issue films from Bullfrog Films, Collective Eye Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, Scorpion TV, Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and Villon Films

Part of Alexander Street Press's "Anthropology," which brings together a wide range of ethnographic documentaries, indigenous media, field notes, study guides and raw footage, covering human behavior the world over.