Many old and rare books related to South Asia, such as travelers' accounts, are found in the Special Collections Department. Its archives include papers of prominent South Asia scholars. Search for archival materials and finding aids in the Library Catalog.
East India Company offers access to a unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947. Our library has access to the following modules: Module 1: Trade, Governance and Empire, 1600-1947; Module II: Factory Records for South Asia and Southeast Asia, 1595-1830; Module 3: Factory Records for China, Japan and the Middle East; and Module 4: Correspondence: Early Voyages, Formation and Conflict.
This resource comprises 6 diverse primary source collections which detail the political, economic, and spiritual realities of British colonial rule in India. The featured collections include records from the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, from the establishment of the East India Company and the India Act to the emergence of Gandhi and the independence movement. Drawn from a diverse range of sources, the materials show the Raj through the eyes of commercial, military, and bureaucratic elites, as well as missionaries, labourers, and Indians themselves.
The site offers bibliographic information and digital facsimiles for selected collections of manuscripts held by the University of Pennsylvania. There are 2880 Indic manuscripts (mainly in Sanskrit) in the collection.
Search here to view details of the British Library's archive and manuscript collections.
Not all records for these collections are online, so be sure to consult the BL's other archive and manuscripts catalogues.
Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.