Southern Asia

The Library houses one of the world's most extensive collections of government documents related to colonial South Asia and Burma.

The South Asia Union Catalogue is an historical bibliography describing books and periodicals published in Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, colonial Burma, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka from 1556 through the present and a union catalogue of holdings.

The Urdu Research Library Consortium has made accessible the private Urdu collection of Mr. Abdus Samad Khan. Mr. Samad Khan's library is widely considered one of the world's finest for early Urdu periodicals and printed books. Holdings are well rounded across all areas of Urdu publishing. Most imprints date from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries and are unavailable at any U.S. library. There are over 26,000 monograph titles in the URLC collection.

The Roja Muttiah Research Library (in Chennai, India) is one of the most comprehensive Tamil collections in the world. Library's notable strengths are its holdings in classical and modern literature, literary criticism, medicine, cinema and the related culture of printed works (such as song books), folklore, material by and about women, religion and philosophy, and numerous publications of historical value. The collection is comprised of more than 100,000 volumes of books, journals, and newspapers. In addition there are rich holdings of oleolithographs from Ravi Varma's workshop, nearly 30,000 journal abstracts and indexes, an enormous collection of clippings, drama notices, wedding invitations, business and family correspondence, and palm leaf manuscripts. Most of the publications date from the later half of the nineteenth century and the first half of the twentieth century.

Reference sources, books, images, maps, and more. The Digital South Asia Library is a project of the Center for Research Libraries and the University of Chicago.

Find items in all campus libraries, including books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, DVDs and more.

UChicago faculty, students and staff can now borrow books and other circulating materials from the libraries of Ivy League universities and MIT.

WorldCat is a database that allows researchers to search the combined catalogs of hundreds of libraries around the world. It contains more than 52 million records for books, journals, audiovisual materials and more. This source can help researchers find items, verify citations, and identify which libraries hold a particular title.

CRL is a consortium of North American academic and independent research libraries. Its shared collections include newspapers (foreign, domestic, and specialized), foreign doctoral dissertations, and other traditional materials. Use Interlibrary Loan to request materials from CRL. CRL is located on the south side of the U of C campus.

The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA), a subset of the South Asia Materials Project (SAMP), creates and maintains a collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia. This major collaborative initiative is aimed at addressing the current scarcity of digital resources pertinent to South Asia studies and at making collections more widely accessible both to North American scholars and to researchers worldwide.

Contains unique primary and secondary content reflecting the varied range of knowledge production in colonial and early post-colonial India and the wider sub-continent. Material is sourced from collectors and archivists by the South Asia Research Foundation.

University users have full text access to Collections 1-4 and 8-10. Indexing is available for other collections on this website.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700. Over 200 libraries worldwide have contributed to EEBO. From the first book printed in English through to the ages of Spenser, Shakespeare and of the English Civil War, EEBO's content draws on authoritative and respected short-title catalogues of the period and features a substantial number of text transcriptions specially created for the product.

ECCO is a fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects printed between 1701 and 1800. It is is a digitization of the eighteenth-century section of the works catalogued in the English Short-title Catalogue (ESTC). The ESTC project has been recording all works published or printed in Britain, Ireland, territories under British colonial rule, and the United States. It also catalogues material printed elsewhere which contains significant text in English, Welsh, Irish..

Covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century. Part I: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Collection, 1450-1850, Part II: 1851-1914, Part III: 1890–1945, Part IV: 1800-1890.

Collection includes regulations, session laws, journals, codes and commentaries of northern, central, and eastern European jurisdictions (Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Great Britain, France, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland) with 50% of the collection in English. Sourced from the collections of the Yale, Harvard, and George Washington University Law Libraries. Collection also includes historical legal codes and similar statutory materials, as well as commentaries on codes, drawn from Spain, Portugal, Italy, Latin America, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Africa, and Asia. Analogous materials from canon law and Roman law are also included. Features important historical sources of world civil law and jurisprudence, as well as basic materials from a number of common-law jurisdictions.

MoML VI: FCIL is a legal history digital product containing treatises on international law, comparative law, civil and European law, and the history of law since Roman times. These legal treatises were published from 1600-1926 and are in English, French, German, Spanish, and other Western European languages. MoML VI contains classic works on international law by Gentili, Grotius, Vattel and others. It covers Ancient Law, Roman Law, Jewish Law, and Islamic Law. It also includes monographs covering the law of Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Canada, China, Egypt, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Mexico, the Netherlands, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, and other foreign jurisdictions

HathiTrust is a shared digital repository created by major research libraries. It offers searching of the full text of books and full access to works in the public domain
UChicago users may login to download high quality PDF versions where available.

A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications.

Multilingual and interdisciplinary index to book reviews, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences.