Southern Asia

Web-portal to access the National Archives of India's reference media and its digitized collections.

CrossAsia is a virtual Library for Asian studies; it merged with Savifa in 2015.

The South Asian American Digital Archive (SAADA) was founded in 2008 in order to document and provide access to the diverse and relatively unknown stories of South Asian Americans.

The Digital Colonial Documents Project (India) is intended to promote study of the rare seminal documents which were influential in the formation of the notions of nation, state and culture during the colonial period. The project makes available rare colonial documents as searchable internet documents.

Since 2004, the Programme has digitised over eight million images and 25,000 sound tracks. Archive types digitised so far include rare printed sources, manuscripts, visual materials, audio recordings. This continually expanding online collection is available freely through local archival partners, this website and it is discoverable via the British Library catalogue, for research, inspiration and enjoyment.

The Tibetan and Himalayan Library (THL) is a publisher of websites, information services, and networking facilities relating to the Tibetan plateau and southern Himalayan regions.

The Digital Himalaya project aims to archive and make available valuable ethnographic materials from the Himalayan region.

MCADD consists of a collection of books, journals and maps related broadly to the Himalayas and its outlying attached ranges including the Hindu Kush, the Karakorams, the Pamirs, the Tian Shan and the Kuen Lun as well as the Tibetan highlands and the Tarim basin. These materials are housed in this site, and are freely available for personal non-commercial use and downloading.

The Digital Library of India proposes to create a Digital Library with a free-to-read, searchable collection of one million books, predominantly in Indian languages.

The Afghanistan Digital Library will retrieve and restore works published in Afghanistan between 1870 and 1930; the long-term objective is to collect, catalogue, digitize and provide access to as many of this period's publications as possible.

Balochistan Archives is an executive agency of the Government of Balochistan which serves as the main repository for official records and documents of historical significance. Search this site for Finding Aids as well as full-text access to a growing body of digitized material.

A large collection of Tamil books, periodicals and manuscripts, digitized by the Tamil Virtual Academy.

A collection of over 300,000 books, datasets and journal articles from Indonesia, funded by the National Library of Indonesia.